Chevron Left
Вернуться к Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Creative Writing: The Craft of Style от партнера Уэслианский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 694
Рецензии: 185

О курсе

Your style is as unique and distinctive as your face, your voice, except that you can choose it, you can can work on it, enhance it. In this course we will introduce aspiring writers to the art of putting pressure on written language. We will study the use of metaphor and imagery, and demonstrate how clarity, grace, and inventiveness in word choice are imperative to a story’s success. Writers will emerge with the revision skills essential to all writers of good stories and good prose....

Лучшие рецензии

MS

Apr 19, 2016

Great class for the content I needed. I audited this class and benefited from the theory discussion and practical exercises. The class guided me to improve my writing style which was my ultimate goal.

LR

Dec 18, 2018

Lessons were well done, good mix of teaching and illuminating discussion between accomplished writers. Exercises are creative and well thought out. Feedback from classmates is generally helpful.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 180 отзывов о курсе Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

автор: Alfred K

Nov 27, 2018

I did not know what this meant when I started. I thought you just right once you get the flow. now I can write and review my work checking my style of writing and learnt a lot form the interviews from visiting professors.

teacher is cool and sometime I loved your way of teaching.

автор: Phoenix S P

Sep 04, 2018

The Craft of Style is an amazing course. Professor Salvatore is an engaging lecturer who gives comprehensive explanations and shows how the techniques he is teaching have been used by award winning authors. The assignments are clearly explained, engaging, and challenging.

автор: Miza K

Apr 05, 2020

I like the way this course has taught me how to edit and how to accentuate when writing and to be creative and thoughtful with the words to use to bring about the right message. Including the way of talking about a subject without actually naming what I'm writing about.

автор: Jane D

Aug 27, 2019

I enjoyed the course immensely, the lecturer is very skilled and to the point. I really understood the importance of staying clear in my narration and painting vivid pictures the readers could appreciate and relate to, as well as meet me in the middle of my storytelling.

автор: Catherine B

Aug 31, 2016

I thought this class was incredibly useful. It has a lot of good information, as well as good ideas on further reading a student can do to further their own knowledge after the course is completed. I found this to be one of the more useful classes in this specialization.

автор: Shalini . S

Nov 14, 2018

This was a particularly difficult course among the others. Expectations were higher, assignments were tougher, but it helped me immensely in writing better. Polishing my writing and editing. My writing has become crisp, and specific. I am more confident as a writer now.

автор: Joe M

Mar 14, 2019

Course 4 of 5 for me in this specialization.

All of these have been fantastic and this one was another example of how great and informative these courses are. Once again I was made to think very critically of my own writing and start thinking about how I want to write.

автор: Ole D J

Mar 20, 2018

Awesome course.

Can feel the missing pieces slowly fall together in my writing for every assignment.

So happy this and other related courses were made available on Coursera.

Will mention the author as well as this course in my first book if I manage to get it published.

автор: Egill P

Dec 27, 2019

I find all the writing courses in this specialization to be very rewarding, especially for people who want to further themselves on any level of writing. Be it a better email, essay or short-story the teachers here a really great a big thumbs up to them.

автор: Jennifer L C

Jul 04, 2017

The Craft of Style and the course on plot are the two strongest offerings in this specialization. I really enjoyed the exercises, and I stretched my creative muscles, all with assignments that were clear and well explained. This is an excellent course.

автор: Liliane M

Mar 09, 2018

I cannot the learning of this specialisation enough. So far it has been an amazing journey, which I could never had taken on my own. It has opened my eyes to an entire new universe. I have had my convictions turned upside down. Thank you all.

автор: Emily F

Jun 21, 2016

This was a great class. I really learned a lot ... this is the type of class that will change someone as a writer. The quotes, the diagrams, the instruction, the assignments, the book recommendations ... everything was great. Thank you!! =)

автор: Yasmine A M

Feb 15, 2018

A great course, I learned a lot about style and how to keep the balance between showing and telling. I learned the power of the words, and I am trying to work on enhancing my verbal expressions to choose the right word for the right spot.

автор: Carol S

Jan 07, 2019

This course demonstrated more clearly than I had ever seen before the difference between "show" and "tell" when evoking a character's thoughts and feelings. It was highly valuable for me both as a writer and a professional editor.

автор: Warren P

Sep 28, 2017

I think Salvatore did a great job of showing us how to think about style, both our own and that of other great writers. It was an enjoyable process for me and I am grateful for the opportunity to learn these new skills.

автор: Angela K S

Mar 08, 2016

Salvatore is outstanding! I would happily pay for more courses like this. Thank you for sharing your knowledge with us! It's been a fantastic experience and I can't wait to put what I've learned to use. Thank you again!

автор: Juanita J

Jan 27, 2018

well organized and challenging. I was able to create 4 pieces to developed into more detailed and longer pieces. I enjoyed the flow of the class and the feedback from my fellow classmates was extremely helpful.

автор: Patricia G

Dec 05, 2018

Excellent course I appreciate the conversations with visiting writers. Prof. Scibona is an engaging teacher and clearly presents useful information. The list of words to avoid was worth the entire course.

автор: Federico B S

May 30, 2018

This is the best course of the series. His exercises are challenging and really push you to grow as a writer. Also, the materials on the forum really help you get a better sense of what he wants. I loved it.

автор: Sarah S

Apr 17, 2017

This course gave me courage to slice into my words fearlessly and cut the deadweight out. I feel like I am a better writer having completed the course and am feeling very confident about my writing future.

автор: James D R

May 06, 2018

I have been absolutely delighted with the content provided in this course. The ideas suggested by the lecturer and his guests have been very beneficial to me.

The course has far exceeded my expectations.

автор: Annette B

Mar 15, 2016

Priceless instruction - as with all related courses in this specialization. If you're auditing the course assignment completion isn't permitted, so essentially, course "completion" isn't a possibility.

автор: Leo J R

Dec 18, 2018

Lessons were well done, good mix of teaching and illuminating discussion between accomplished writers. Exercises are creative and well thought out. Feedback from classmates is generally helpful.

автор: Hiobi H

Oct 11, 2017

Merci à toute l'équipe de Coursera pour ce cours! Je le recommande vivement à tous ceux et celles qui aimeraient avoir des connaissances sur la rédaction d'une oeuvre littéraire ou fiction.

автор: Nicole B

Oct 25, 2016

This has been a great opportunity for me to force the work and get something done. I haven't been that happy with some of what I've written, but I like the challenge of meeting a deadline.