Chevron Left
Вернуться к Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot от партнера Уэслианский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 4,080
Рецензии: 1,366

О курсе

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Лучшие рецензии

LB
15 нояб. 2018 г.

Great information about plot and scene structure. The information about revision was entirely new to me - thank you! The exercises were good and difficult in a good way that helped me hone my writing.

DA
30 нояб. 2016 г.

Great course to take as the first step in the sequence of the "Creative Writing" certification. Exercises are fun, professor provides useful methodology, load is manageable for someone with a day job.

Фильтр по:

126–150 из 1,358 отзывов о курсе Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

автор: Nicolas S D

28 мая 2020 г.

Realmente un curso muy interesante y dinámico. El tutor desarrolla muy bien los temas y el contenido es realmente provechoso. Las tareas son acorde al desarrollo de las lecciones y van generando un acumulado que permite reconocer el avance del estudiante en su escritura. Es un curso muy bien estructurado y el tutor está a la altura del mismo. Muy agradecido, saludos.

автор: Muhammad Z

14 мая 2020 г.

It was an amazing course. I was almost zero in creative writing when I started this course, and, now, I got the last assignment reviewed by my colleagues, and they were surprised and loved it.

Sir Brando Skyhorse made things look so easy.

Another surprising fact, I joined this course by mistake, but, now, I am thinking of taking the next courses in this specialization.

автор: Mikey T

18 февр. 2021 г.

I've taken numerous Creative Writing courses over the years- in Community College, in a university. I can honestly say that Wesleyan University's Creative Writing Specialization benefitted me more than any other. Brando Skyhorse is a rock-solid novelist, prolific editor, and a great teacher of all the most important parts of Plot. This course is highly recommended.

автор: Akanshya A

8 сент. 2020 г.

The Course taught me things that I feel like I wouldn't have to know if not for the course. It taught me the right way of doing things that I love. It helped me understand the concept of the plot in a story better and how I can make mine interesting. I recommend it to everyone who is confused about how to start. This course is all the guidance you need. Thank You.

автор: Federico B S

30 мая 2018 г.

I liked this course a lot. It helped me get a better sense of the formal structure of narrative and what each part of a story is supposed to achieve. The exercises are great. The constraints the instructor set for them make them useful tools for grasping the concepts he explained during each module. Make sure you stick to the instructions and just try to have fun.

автор: Karsen

29 окт. 2019 г.

Lots of practical advice to consider for beginning writers. I did not value the editing parts as much as the other parts, especially since this is the first course in the specialization, but the analysis of plot construction was useful. I liked how Brando used Harry Potter as an example of structure because I know that series well (and probably most people do).

автор: Elizabeth K

20 июня 2016 г.

I audited this course so I was locked out of submitting assignments; however, I would recommend this course to any creative writing beginner (like myself). The course was well organized and concise and the concepts were clear. It was easy to apply the concept to the assignments and I was surprised at what I was able to write as a result of auditing this course.

автор: David F

8 сент. 2018 г.

Very informative and helpful introduction to scene construction. I now enjoy watching TV and reading stories which involve the ABDCE structure and I ask myself questions based on the 21-point revision process. It adds a whole new dimension for enjoying stories which makes this course worthwhile even if you have no intention of ever writing anything yourself.

автор: Rain v S

29 авг. 2020 г.

This course was really well put together! I'm a content editing intern at a small indie publisher, so I wasn't sure how much I'd really learn- turns out a lot! Taking this course has already improved my editing and my ability to communicate with authors, as well as giving me more opportunities to flex my reviewing skills for my peers. Wonderful, thank you!

автор: Rachel N

7 сент. 2020 г.

This course taught me the basics of crafting, and I learned that my story needs more revision than I wanted to admit before. The instructor is awesome, and I look forward to hearing more from him. His lessons were structured and based on his journey to be an author, which improved the positive vibe of the whole course, making it easier and more enjoyable.

автор: Mihaela G

7 мая 2020 г.

As a beginner to creative writing, the structure and the interviews the Professor used in this course helped me a lot with understanding. I could see myself improving my writing from one assignment to another. Also I became very aware of the writing structure when I am reading books written by well-known authors, which is a great way to learn further.

автор: Farzeen R

4 февр. 2021 г.

Loved this course! Prof Skyhorse explains everything so vividly. Learned many things regarding plot. Structure of story, what a scene should have in a story etc. I would want my peers to leave more detailed reviews on the assignments though. Writing 'well written' only does not help the writer. Try giving an advice or praise their work in someway.

автор: Rayyan F

19 мая 2021 г.

The videos are short and to the point. I especially appreciate the "example" videos. The assignments were challenging and enjoyable. I did not face any problems with reviews, so I don't know what happens to the schedule if you fail an assignment, so I have no feedback regarding the whole online experience. Thank you for the opportunity to learn.

автор: Rida K

19 апр. 2020 г.

This creative writing course got me out of my comfort zone and made me realise that your weaknesses in writing can become strengthens if you work hard enough. The people who graded my assignments were very helpful and always left comments on not only how to improve but also what they liked about the stories, this was a great confidence booster.

автор: Maria-Isabel C

11 февр. 2021 г.

This was the first subject of the Creative Writing Course I took and I recommend it to anyone who is starting to write. After completing The Craft of Plot I was encouraged enough to continue with the other subjects of the specialization. Prof. Brando Skyhorse is clear and his teachings easy to follow and to understand. I really enjoyed it.

автор: robin b

6 июля 2020 г.

I had a hard time with this one.

I understood the rules, but sometimes writing about something you yourself find interesting doesn't necessarily fit easily into the required format.

Also, on one of assignments, half my summary got cut.

Plot is hard. I appreciate all the learning modules, found them quite inspiring.

I myself have a long way to go.

автор: Cecilia F

27 авг. 2017 г.

Highly inspiring, comprehensive and interesting course. I learned a lot from the interesting lectures and talks, and was challenged to develop as a writer. The level of the assignments worked well for the timeframe, and the peer reviewing added a lot of new insights. I would really recommend this course and am looking forward to next module.

автор: Ma. C D

8 мая 2018 г.

This course was really helpful. It helped get my creative juices flowing again and give me direction. I love literature and I know the basics, but application is different. The assignments helped me implement not just the basics but the advanced knowledge I gained about writing literary pieces in just the first course of the specialisation.

автор: Stephanie F

13 мая 2020 г.

Content was presented clearly and with great details and examples to refer to as well. The professor was easy to follow and his ideas were helpful. I really enjoyed the conversations with other authors in the videos. They all provided great insight and were able to teach, but still inspire since they are active writers'/authors themselves.

автор: Leni R

14 янв. 2021 г.

I enjoyed this course more than any writing class that I have taken. The assignments were spot on in helping me apply the information that had just been covered. I loved the format. Brando Skyhorse was terrific showing the student how to practically apply the learning. I feel like my writing has improved and that was my goal. Thank you!

автор: Robson S

19 окт. 2021 г.

Really good course. Learnt a lot from it. Very useful. My only feedback would be, the course seems a bit short. Maybe just left me with a taste of wanting to learn more, which is a good thing. But I understand due to the virtual learning, the content would be more restricted and more in deep talked about in the next specialisation.

автор: Sasha M

2 авг. 2016 г.

Putting aside the use of the Coursera apps on Ipad and Iphone (which are beyond awful and made the experience of taking this course utterly frustrating), this course was outstanding. The student will be given sold information on how to organize, structure, and edit a story. All of the material was approachable and extremely useful.

автор: Najwat R

12 апр. 2018 г.

Great course for aspiring writers. I had never written even a few sentences of fiction and I felt this course very effectively introduced me to all the basic elements needed to put a story together. The assignments were especially thoughtful. Thanks Brando and fellow learners who shared their valuable feedback and their own work.

автор: Shawn S

23 февр. 2021 г.

This course was exactly what I was looking for. Where many creative writing courses teach key principles and assign loosely relevant exercises, this one provided very concrete tools. I now feel equipped to build a map or blueprint for what I want to write, which is essential for those times when the writing just flow on its own.

автор: Shellie K

25 сент. 2018 г.

I enjoyed the assignments and felt the instructor, Brando Skyhorse, was clear in his explanations and assignments. This course helped me organize and pace my stories in a meaningful way. It also reminded me of the power of revision. If you have to pick 1 course out of the entire series, this one is probably the one to pick.