Chevron Left
Вернуться к Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Introduction to the Biology of Cancer от партнера Университет Джонса Хопкинса

4.7
Оценки: 1,876
Рецензии: 406

О курсе

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Лучшие рецензии

AH

Mar 18, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

SS

Apr 12, 2019

Thanks a lot, Dr. Kenneth; the course has been very informative and mind-opening--it has also whetted my appetite to learn more about the topic.\n\nThanks and best of regards in your endeavours!

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 412 отзывов о курсе Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

автор: Dan

Dec 26, 2018

Informative but not very engaging. Videos were mainly slide after slide of text with the occasional graphic. Presenters sounded bored and read the slides almost verbatim, often going too fast. End-of-week quizzes were just compilations of the in-video quizzes. Also frequent errors and typos in quizzes.

'Honors' liver cancer course was essentially identical to the liver cancer section in the main course.

автор: Fabíola S A

Jul 17, 2019

Great !!! I learned so much!

автор: Kripitch

Jul 16, 2019

Easy to understand and interesting topics

автор: Bruce Y

Jul 11, 2019

Cleared up many things and put them in context

автор: MUHAMMAD T

Jul 04, 2019

It is very helpfull course i learn alot of thing from it

автор: Jan M B

Jul 03, 2019

Very interesting course. Important information to understand the development of cancer and its treatments and to be able to follow the medical developments of cancer in the future.

автор: Vibhoraggarwal

Jul 03, 2019

Good course help me a lot in my study

автор: Ryo L

Jul 02, 2019

Highly informative

автор: Akshay S S

Jun 28, 2019

It is very useful. And thank you for sharing information with me

автор: Dr. D S

Jun 25, 2019

Really helpful in getting ahead with cancer research.

автор: Humera S

Jun 23, 2019

It was very interesting. but the recent critiques of cancer Hallmarks and theories related to cancer heterogeneity should be included

автор: Suthasina C

Jun 19, 2019

Even though I have some difficulty studying this course especially around jargons and language (English is not my primary language and my professional background does not close to medical/ healthcare fields.), I found this course offer at appropriate length, both for course length and time required per week. It is manageable for those who is working, so do not hesitate to join.

I suggest the course to notify that the content is not that easy to understand for the one who does not have medical/ healthcare background just like me. Thank you for the course !

автор: Sampreet R

Jun 18, 2019

Excellent Introduction to Cancer Biology. The language and teaching style is so easy to follow. Excellent material.

автор: Mudasir K

Jun 16, 2019

very Knowledgble

автор: Soumyadeep P

Jun 15, 2019

It is very much informtaive and wonderful course for research

автор: Aya E S

Jun 13, 2019

Great course

автор: Houda

Jun 09, 2019

Le cancer n'a plus de secret pour moi après cette chouette enquête . Merci énormément

автор: purvank

Jun 09, 2019

the course was easy and super helpful.

автор: Elene M

Jun 07, 2019

amazing review of Cancer as it is .

автор: Wilma G

Jun 07, 2019

awesome course with clear explanations.

автор: Mariia K

Jun 06, 2019

Sehr interessanter Kurs, alle Grundlagen der Biologie der Tumoren sind sehr ausführlich erklärt. Die Statistik bezieht sich auf die Vereinigten Staaten und ist ein bisschen veraltet, veranschaulicht trotzdem die Aktualität des Themas sehr gut. Ich fand es faszinierend :)

автор: Rahima B

Jun 03, 2019

Very informative

автор: KHUSHMAN T

May 28, 2019

This course is very informative and covers majority of required and interesting information about cancer and its treatment. Anyone interested to have a knowledge about cancer basics would surely benefit by attending this course.

автор: Wilson C

May 21, 2019

Nice course!! Really helpful!!!!

автор: Vignesh R

May 21, 2019

Thank you very much, Dr. Kenneth Pienta, for providing such an engaging course throughout 6 weeks, and I enjoyed every content of this course that is well structured especially Ten hallmarks of cancer, TNM staging, cancer imaging, and various types of cancer treatments. Overall, it is a comprehensive cancer biology course. Looking forward to having an intermediate level of this course.