Chevron Left
Вернуться к Basic Statistics

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Basic Statistics от партнера Амстердамский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 3,811
Рецензии: 969

О курсе

Understanding statistics is essential to understand research in the social and behavioral sciences. In this course you will learn the basics of statistics; not just how to calculate them, but also how to evaluate them. This course will also prepare you for the next course in the specialization - the course Inferential Statistics. In the first part of the course we will discuss methods of descriptive statistics. You will learn what cases and variables are and how you can compute measures of central tendency (mean, median and mode) and dispersion (standard deviation and variance). Next, we discuss how to assess relationships between variables, and we introduce the concepts correlation and regression. The second part of the course is concerned with the basics of probability: calculating probabilities, probability distributions and sampling distributions. You need to know about these things in order to understand how inferential statistics work. The third part of the course consists of an introduction to methods of inferential statistics - methods that help us decide whether the patterns we see in our data are strong enough to draw conclusions about the underlying population we are interested in. We will discuss confidence intervals and significance tests. You will not only learn about all these statistical concepts, you will also be trained to calculate and generate these statistics yourself using freely available statistical software....

Лучшие рецензии

PG
20 апр. 2016 г.

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.\n\nPlease allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

DA
28 янв. 2021 г.

great course with good videos and examples. Very good course for learning the basic statistics. Unfortunately the week 3 is the most misunderstanding module, nevertheless very good and understanding

Фильтр по:

751–775 из 948 отзывов о курсе Basic Statistics

автор: Diego A M R

28 мая 2016 г.

I really liked the course, it was relatively easy to understand and enjoyable, and specially the lessons taught by Matthijs, he was just amazing at making it all very understandable and enjoyable. And overall, I just really feel some exercises along the way for each topic would have been of great help.

автор: Cathy H

2 апр. 2019 г.

This course is mostly great! The vast majority of the materials were at a very high quality and very useful. The quality dropped in a couple of the weeks. It would be great if there was more of a moderator/course designer presence in the forums. It feels like learner questions often went unanswered.

автор: Connie H

25 апр. 2020 г.

Week 3 was particularly badly explained. The pace was too fast, examples were not lively, formulas were read with little inference or explanation. Apart from Week 3 the rest range from comfortable to nicely challenging. Enjoyed the illustrations particularly, thanks for making statistics enjoyable.

автор: AKSHAY M

13 июня 2020 г.

This was my first online course.Most of the basic statistics topics are covered in this course.I gain lot of knowledge from this course. The instructor were quite friendly. Finally I gain certificate after 8 weeks.

So those who to start statistics course this is the best for beginner.

автор: Frank P

10 мар. 2016 г.

Despite some error in the quizzes I learned quite a lot by taking this online course. Apparently the course organisers are overwhelmed by its success, since they react (too) slowly to comments made by students in the discussion fora. At least, errors should be tackled immediately.

автор: Dr. S N

10 авг. 2020 г.

Content and presentation is okay, the course is accompanied with lots of illustrations that is also good. But the problem is being a statistics, the course should have been taught using STYLUS (for eg: Machine Learning by Prof. Andrew) to reach the audience in more effective way.

автор: Peter Z

31 дек. 2020 г.

Overall well done. The clarity of some exam questions could be better. There are lots of typos in the lab-exams. On the formula sheet the formula for computing the regression intercept is a = ybar - b(xbar) making b appear to be a function. The parentheses should be removed.

автор: James R

18 июля 2018 г.

Great course to learn or review the basics of stats; it won't satisfy you if you're looking for mathematical proofs and derivations. That said, it does a surprisingly good job of teaching the statistical method without the proofs, and that may be just what many people want.

автор: Shilpa H

9 мар. 2020 г.

This is a fantastic course for beginners. The course has covered all basic concepts in levels that are easily understandable. I felt that they could have touched upon chi square test as well. Also, I wouldn'd mind 1-2 extra videos per week to go in depth of some concepts.

автор: Sree N

9 окт. 2019 г.

The majority of the course is super helpful in understanding Basic Stats. The only critique is that the advice/hints given in R-Lab are extremely unhelpful most of the time. Aside from this I recommend this course to anyone wanting a basic understanding of statistics .

автор: Suzanne D

22 авг. 2019 г.

I did not want to learn R as part of this course. It added work that was not necessary as I am proficient with a different program already. I was just interested in the information on the stats themselves and the R did not add value. It should be optional for all labs.

автор: Swapnil J

19 мар. 2016 г.

I really enjoyed attending this course and recommended it to my colleagues and friends who want to learn basic statistics. They have tried their best to make it more intuitive with some interesting examples and make the learning somewhat fun. kudos to the entire team!

автор: Analytics M

17 окт. 2016 г.

Though it was mentioned that this course is for beginners without too much of statistics background, I still feel, some decent background is required to take up this course, particularly the Inference part.

Otherwise, the course is pretty good and commendable.

автор: Philip A E L

26 июня 2020 г.

Loved this class and it's very close to 5-star.

Some of the quiz questions were a little wonky and it's hard to get that information to you. I wish the little flag button reported to you instead of Coursera who doesn't want to pass on information to you.

автор: Chutian Z

4 апр. 2020 г.

i'm in favor of courses that are taught in a more serious (rather than funny). In addition, the instructor goes too fast at the confidence interval and hypothesis testing parts, which coincidentally are the most difficult sections of the whole course.

автор: Hannah D

1 февр. 2021 г.

Thank you for the great content!

Some feedbacks I have are - detailed explanations on the questions after passing the test would have been helpful. And having an online IDE to practice R on quiz or tests would have been fun - projects even better!

автор: R

2 нояб. 2017 г.

I loved this course i.e. the delivery and the content! However, using R was a bit complex but I was glad to be introduced to this software. More importantly, I actually understand the concepts of basic statistics now.

Thanks very much guys:-)

автор: John P M

10 дек. 2020 г.

The course is great. The videos lectures are educative. However, I did not expect to do statistics and coding at the same time. I was a bit shocked and it seriously drained me (because I am not good at coding) but it was a fun experience.

автор: Eric W

27 мар. 2020 г.

Good course. The instructors are strong and easy to listen to during the lectures/videos. I think sometimes in the R lab exercises, the syntax is challenging and distracts from the concept being covered. Overall - a very good course.

автор: Ronel A

1 окт. 2018 г.

The course content and videos were very good (and entertaining!), but the forum questions should have been answered more frequently. I also highly recommend using a Statistics textbook in collaboration with this course.

автор: David S

14 июня 2018 г.

I'd give this a 3.5/5, but I guess I'll round up. Professor Rooduijn did a good job. Professor van Loon was much harder to follow. While most of the teaching was fun and helpful, I wasn't a huge fan of the R lab.

автор: MBWE M A H

9 нояб. 2020 г.

I could have note 4 stars but no one is perfect except mothernature. More seriously I highly recommend this course for those who need a strong basis in stat. This course is just perfect, thanks to the professors

автор: Xiong W

25 мая 2018 г.

Pretty good overall arrangement of the topics and materials. But there are some problems with the content details. Overall it's a good course for somebody who is new to the subject or wants to refresh it.

автор: Zaid I P

11 июня 2019 г.

Taking up this course helped me get a crystal clear understanding of the statistics concepts. I would recommend this course to anyone who is trying to learn the basic concepts of statistics. Cheers!

автор: Sam H

18 авг. 2019 г.

Videos were good, quizzes were good at assessing knowledge. Didn't like the tool for answering question in R. Would much rather they just had you install R and RStudio and complete questions there.