Chevron Left
Вернуться к Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles от партнера Альбертский университет

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 862
Рецензии: 250

О курсе

Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles is a four-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the evolutionary changes that occur when air-breathing terrestrial animals return to water. This course examines the diversity, adaptations, convergence, and phylogenetic relationships of extinct marine reptiles. Students will explore three major groups of marine reptiles: ichthyosaurs, plesiosaurs, and mosasaurs. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-marine-reptiles...

Лучшие рецензии

JC

Apr 02, 2016

An excellent introduction to the sometimes overlooked marine predators that lived alongside the dinosaurs! A lot of detail is presented here, so be prepared to act like a sponge and soak it all up.

DB

Apr 23, 2020

I really enjoyed the course & finding out about the creatures that have fascinated me for years. The course was very well structured in logical sections that enabled me to study when I wanted.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 244 отзывов о курсе Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles

автор: Janiel F

May 30, 2020

This course is very good. the presentations were very well done, the drawn images were very unique and stylish, and the information was very interesting. Very well done, definitetly recomend.

автор: David B

Apr 23, 2020

I really enjoyed the course & finding out about the creatures that have fascinated me for years. The course was very well structured in logical sections that enabled me to study when I wanted.

автор: ELAINE M B

Aug 04, 2020

Once again, another fantastic course, giving an overview of the Marine Reptiles. However, this ciourse is a little heavier on the unfamiliar names, unavoidably, so is less suitable for younger or less committed students. I took this course after Dino101 and the other, shorter courses, and I feel that this would be appropriate for most people without a prior grounding in palaeontology. That said, I found this course wonderfully interesting, so much so that I completed it in a week, and I would, personally, not have missed it for the world!. I would have liked a longer course, with even more details, and more rigorous testing, but appreciate that I am possibly Not the typical student!! While the Marine Reptiles are NOT dinosaurs, no investigation into the Reign of the Dinosaurs can be complete without it, and they are a fascinating group of creatures in themselves.

автор: Neha

Jun 29, 2020

this course was very valuable to me . i did this course as it is my passion. even without knowing any basis related to this subject i was able to learn and understand well. the instructor has explained everything very clearly in simple words and with great compassion that made me so interested to continue learning further. i was capable of discovering a new world of marine reptiles through this course .thank you for giving my such an amazing experience of learning.

автор: Viv B

Sep 17, 2020

Brilliant Course. Incredible creatures. A lot of very technical names to try and remember and the quizes at the end of each module are challenging. Luckily you get more than one attempt ! So grateful to the University of Alberta for making this course available. Enjoyed Dino 101 too. Will begin the Theropods to birds course after my holiday. ! Check out the Extinctionss Then and Now course on the Futurelearn webssite too as that course led me to these two

автор: MARK M

Jul 15, 2020

First of all, thanks to Scott, Angela and Gavin for your efforts on this one. A very well-constructed course and a fun and stimulating learning experience. Comprehensive, but not overwhelming, reading material and really good videos packed with excellent visuals of fossils and the creatures under study. This was my second "Paleo" course through University of Alberta and it won't be my last. Highly recommended.

автор: Vidya S

Sep 19, 2020

Excellent course, as a biology student I learned a lot of new information that is not provided at my university, and at the same time it is comprehensible for every person, very well illustrated and explained!

The notes are detailed, yet easy to understand.

The diagrams assist in understanding, with information depicting the structures being discussed.

автор: Marcos G M

Jun 28, 2020

Está genial este curso, sí que es verdad que algunas palabras son muy técnicas y yo algunas no las supe, pero en general se entiende y la traducción está perfecto. Me encanta este curso, está muy bien elaborado y para todo aquél "friki" de los dinosaurios, este curso es idóneo para aprender a conocerlos y estudiarlos. Muchas gracias. Un saludo.

автор: Afreen P S

Sep 20, 2020

It was a really good course which provided me with new knowledge about marine life and i'm sure it helped me to understand more on the topic of my interest that is marine biology and provided interesting and knowledgeable points on marine reptiles and other factswhich animals share when living in a marine ecosystem.

автор: Rodrigo D M

Jul 06, 2020

Asombro del como te ingresan al mundo mesozoico marino y del desarrollo, para amateurs y para conocedores. Recomendable a versados e interesados al tema. Merece difusión para aquellos que ignoran la impartición del curso, incluso hacia para las personas que no despertaron al mundo paleontológico aún.

автор: Gabriel R

Jul 16, 2020

Excellent course of your interested in learning more about the ways animals adapt and the way these marine reptiles used to rule the oceans in the time of the dinosaurs. I throughly enjoyed the detailed format and instruction given and learned a lot on the topic in the process. Highly recommend!

автор: S. A V

Jul 05, 2020

What an amazing course this was! If you are interested in prehistoric marine reptiles or just Palaeontology in general, this is the course for you. The instructor's passion for the subject is contagious. Loved the maps, diagrams, interactive resources and questions asked in each video.

автор: Upasana U

Feb 22, 2020

Totally informative course!!! Get yourself set to take in loads and loads of information which is going to help in all aspects. The course has been explained with variety of teaching materials which encourages students to understand the course terminologies and its explanations.

автор: Francesco N

Mar 01, 2018

I really liked how this course explained how paleontologists work, how they have to reason on different morphologies, even if they don't always have complete organisms. The acquatic problem is a fascinating issue and I think it has been well described in this course.

автор: Salim v s

Aug 30, 2020

Good to learn lot of new things which we don't have in our country,I appreciate the knowledge courage of all the host , professor, professional who made this sucessful course easy to understand any body thanks a lot all those who contributed for making this syllabus

автор: Victoria Z

Jan 13, 2019

Really enjoyed the course. It's not hard to keep up with, but does take you beyond a nature documentary level of detail. Excellent instructor too, very clear and enthusiastic. I really wish they would offer a course like this on pterosauria too.

автор: Stephanie S

Mar 24, 2020

I've done several paleo courses from the Alberta University and this is my favorite so far. The summary at the end of the last video was really appreciated, and I really enjoyed seeing the artistic recreations and fossils in the course.

автор: José Á T C

Jul 24, 2020

This is an awesome course, the teacher gave really comprehensive and easy to understand explanations on the topics seen, and most of the lessons sparked my curiosity on biology and my interest in animals, both living and prehistoric

автор: Muhammad S M A

Aug 23, 2020

a very delightful course which provides many insights on these Marine Reptiles who once dominated the ocean and how they adapted and evolved to solve the aquatic problems whom they faced upon re-acquiring the marine life

автор: Yve

Jul 06, 2020

Highly recommended! A nice and interesting course! Was having lots of fun during the lessons. Will keep following the Paleontology courses from University of Alberta. Thank you Dr. W. Scott Persons! Thank you Coursera!

автор: Monica d l P

Jun 12, 2016

Wonderful... just love how much there's to learn. Love the exposition the data, how it was developed. The perfect timing of the sound and english subtitles.

Excellent professor.

I will enrol to more Paleontology courses

автор: Andrew E

Oct 04, 2016

This is a fascinating journey into the evolution of ancient marine reptiles. if you're a fan of paleontology and ancient animal life like I am, this course is for you. It's really well done and you won't regret it.

автор: Himanshu M H

Aug 22, 2020

It was very informative and has enkindled interest about this subject. It has given a lot of insight of how the world was, what the habitats were, how incredibly diverse the marine reptiles may have been. Thank you.

автор: Thomas H j

May 16, 2020

It was fun, consistent and did a good job of explaining itself. Whenever I got something wrong the people explain how it's wrong in a way that can help you understand without directly giving the answers to you. A+.

автор: Gary

Jun 28, 2020

Great presentation and a very enthusiastic instructor. I learned so much more than I can retain but the information is now available for future reference now that I have a better understanding of the subject area.