Chevron Left
Вернуться к Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 6,269
Рецензии: 1,282

О курсе

In this course, you will learn best practices for how to use data analytics to make any company more competitive and more profitable. You will be able to recognize the most critical business metrics and distinguish them from mere data. You’ll get a clear picture of the vital but different roles business analysts, business data analysts, and data scientists each play in various types of companies. And you’ll know exactly what skills are required to be hired for, and succeed at, these high-demand jobs. Finally, you will be able to use a checklist provided in the course to score any company on how effectively it is embracing big data culture. Digital companies like Amazon, Uber and Airbnb are transforming entire industries through their creative use of big data. You’ll understand why these companies are so disruptive and how they use data-analytics techniques to out-compete traditional companies....

Лучшие рецензии

AC

Nov 03, 2018

really good bases for business metric if you already have a background you are going to enjoy and refresh you memory and if you don't have previous experiences is really easy to understand the concept

AR

Apr 20, 2020

It's a great course because even it's based on theory not practical(Which cover in next courses in specialization) but still, at final assignment submission, you feel great that you tackle a problem.

Фильтр по:

1126–1150 из 1,250 отзывов о курсе Business Metrics for Data-Driven Companies

автор: Nick D

Jun 15, 2017

great job!

автор: Max D

Oct 11, 2015

Muy bueno.

автор: Aditi J

May 14, 2020

worth it

автор: Renato G

Jan 07, 2020

Good!

автор: Renukanandan A

Oct 26, 2016

Good

автор: Doris W

May 21, 2016

Gen

автор: Jiarong Y

Jan 08, 2016

很好恩

автор: David H

Apr 19, 2020

Good concepts covered in the course (except for one week involving Financial services metrics), but I wish the examples and quizzes allowed for more hands on quantitative exercises where student have to calculate specific metrics and strategically think about ways to increase business performance. Teaching style is a bit more fundamental/conceptual than hands-on.

Also the week with Financial Services Metrics all of a sudden gets super detailed and way too advanced with all sorts of formulas and concepts we haven't even touched at all. That week is better to be left off the course.

автор: Vatsal G

Jul 07, 2018

A good course for those looking to get an introduction to the world of Business Analytics. However, many concepts, specially in the Financial Metrics section were poorly explained or completely skipped under the assumption that the student would be familiar with them. Explaining them or providing reference material for them could have saved invaluable time of the student which was spent on trying to scour through the discussion forums, then reading about them online, and then trying to relate and match what they read with what was being spoken about in the videos.

автор: celina o

May 17, 2016

The lectures are good and clear, with many concrete examples and exercices to train. The topic itself is a little limited, mostly to finance, whereas there would be so much more equally interesting diversity in data to analyse. I just don't dream of money all the time.

The course limitations for free attendance get in the way of efficient learning though, using cheap tricks to manipulate you into buying, though I haven't seen these features used this way in other curses, I bet they're using what they teach to increase conversion using any way available.

автор: Alison T

Nov 20, 2015

The class is a pretty nice overview of metrics in general. it is more broad than it is deep, and sometimes the videos and explanations were not the most easily digested. While the content was helpful, this class could have been greatly improved if slides were provided instead of just a transcript. Finally, some of the explanations and definitions, though interesting, weren't often well tied together. The final assignment case study was definitely useful in thinking about several of the metrics covered over the four weeks.

автор: Ritwick S

Jun 27, 2017

this course is good for people with pure technical background who has little or no idea about business. For those who have been involved in business, there isn't much new. However the best part of the course was the clear definition of various job profiles and skill sets required for each profile. Thats the best takeaway. If you have good idea about business KPIs, then you can give this course a miss. Next courses are more techinical and will help people with business background

автор: David G J

Aug 14, 2017

This course is beneficial to help learn and understand the basics of business metrics. It also helps gain an understanding of the types of roles that utilize and manage data within an organization (though the it roles and responsibilities within my own organization); it helps the learner get an idea of what role they would like to work towards for their career. The final assignment (case study) seemed simple when compared to everything that was discussed throughout the cour

автор: Christopher A

Oct 15, 2015

I found the lectures marginally useful. The instructor may know what he is talking about but takes a rather unstructured approach to articulating it. Having come from a business background and going into BI full-time, I was seeking novel ways to evaluate business performance. The glossary cheatsheets delivered on this best - but the videos I found to have simple, tired repeated perspective. It could be more useful if you have no business background whatsoever.

автор: Timiah B

Sep 16, 2016

This was a very basic foundation course on data careers and business metrics. Gives a lot of examples of companies and their varying levels of need for data employees. There is a short segment in here on Financial services which i found to be a bit misplaced, and I would have liked more detail on the business metrics side as well as on the financial services side (if it is indeed well placed and I just didn't catch the correlation).

автор: Ray R

Feb 20, 2016

I would have liked the course to have been more hands on. I would have also liked to have seen other platforms utilized.

Ex:

Hypothetical situations to apply course content to.

Group assignments with real time chat.

Better formatted supplemental readings to compliment the lecture videos.

Also, I feel like the instructors failed to explain some of the business jargon used, which wasn't remedied by referencing the dictionary.

автор: Anastasia B

Jan 10, 2019

The course structure and content is not exactly logically organised. At some moment, you get a question in your head, like, why all of a sudden they are talking about this or that? why would I need this information, if I don't plan to work in that area? Overall, seems like a collection of modules cut from the full run academic studies and tossed together in one pot.

автор: Deleted A

Oct 05, 2018

It's great in general. It tries to give the student a general rapid knowledge which is great but hard to grasp sometimes and confusing another times especially for those like me with no previous background getting exposed to equations, definitions and business terminology. the routine lecture way and low visual or interactive learning added to the problem..

автор: Roxana A

Jul 29, 2016

I thought that they could have gone more in depth in terms of metrics, how to calculate them, and use them in real life situations. The course seemed to focus too much on the type of companies that use data, as well as what type of jobs there are in this field. I didn't find it too relevant or helpful in terms of making me more productive at work.

автор: Kyle M

May 18, 2020

Student Feedback was subpar. They offered little to no feedback on the work. Week 3's content was too mathematical, in that the explanations were too quick. There were not enough supplementary resources to understand what the instructor was getting at. You will likely need a course in business math to understand the math concepts here.

автор: LeRoux T

Feb 10, 2018

A good solid introduction to metrics that I believe will form the basis of the following courses in the specialization. The content jumps around a little bit in week 3 with some technical info that seemed out of place (hedging, stock calcs etc) but otherwise the content was useful and appropriate for the level intended.

автор: Devansh S

Apr 11, 2020

The videos change very abruptly. There is very little flow and continuity between the videos. It feels like a collection of short videos, as compared to being a course/module. Especially Week 4, very random and not detailed.

However, full marks for Prof Egger. (Biased opinion as I have seen other videos/courses as well)

автор: Andrew S

Nov 02, 2015

It's OK, I think there's a few areas that could use some more depth of explanation. As with a few coursera courses there seems to be an assumption that students know the material being discussed and so it isn't explained. Most of the time in this unit that isn't the case but it does occur a bit.

автор: Bernie M

Jan 04, 2016

Good course for those with limited exposure to business metrics. Would be more valuable to include 5 or 6 standard Key Performance Indicators (KPI's) by function (marketing, sales, operations, finance), etc. that will be typically encountered in an advanced undergraduate or MBA program.

автор: Mauritz S

Jun 14, 2017

The first weeks were a nice introduction to some of the basics of what data analysis is and how it is used. Unfortunately the last week displayed none of that as the professor just dropped you in the deep end, talking about financial analysis without explaining what anything really is.