Chevron Left
Вернуться к ADHD: Everyday Strategies for Elementary Students

Отзывы учащихся о курсе ADHD: Everyday Strategies for Elementary Students от партнера Университет штата Нью-Йорк в Баффало

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 1,803
Рецензии: 550

О курсе

This course will provide an overview of ADHD diagnosis and treatment. Course participants can expect to learn about ADHD as a developmental disorder that begins early in childhood, and participants will also learn about evidence-based approaches for diagnosing ADHD. Following that, two evidence-based treatment approaches (the Daily Report Card and Parenting Strategies) will be introduced. (Note these course activities are informational and are not intended to replace working with a licensed/trained professional). Learning Objectives: Students will be able to identify the behaviors characteristic of ADHD, the components of a diagnosis, and evidence-based treatment procedures that can be used in the school or home. 1. Identify the key areas of functional impairment, symptom presentation, and diagnostic decision-making for youth with ADHD. 2. Develop a behavioral intervention suitable for treating ADHD in the school setting. 3. Apply effective parenting and teaching strategies for supporting youth with ADHD in the home, classroom, and neighborhood....

Лучшие рецензии

AB

19 окт. 2020 г.

Very easy to follow and informative course. Learned some things that I didn't know even though I have two children with ADHD. Would definitely recommend to parents who are wondering what they can do.

MS

23 февр. 2020 г.

Thank you for your helpful and professional efforts. The information you shared so kindly will be extremely useful to me as both a parent to an extremely bright and kind ADHD child and as a teacher.

Фильтр по:

451–475 из 555 отзывов о курсе ADHD: Everyday Strategies for Elementary Students

автор: Lena M

6 сент. 2021 г.

This class is a great introduction to the basics of ADHD and the relevant treatment strategies. It seems mostly aimed at parents who are new to these concepts and educators who may be teaching a child with ADHD but are generally unfamiliar with special education practices. I took off one star for the way the information was presented; I have worked with children with behavioral problems and various disabilities with more severe symptoms, so I am familiar with a lot of these terms and concepts. A lot of major concepts are introduced in the middle of information-dense PDF writeups and never really gone over in lecture. I would imagine a lot of people unfamiliar with some of these important terms and concepts would still not recognize them after the course because they are never defined directly. Much of this course uses Applied Behavioral Analysis principles but they are described and discussed using mostly layman's terms.

автор: Sam S

8 февр. 2020 г.

In the traditional public school system the resources are simply not available to help children with ADHD have a positive outlook on learning nor have a positive academic learning experience.

I appreciate the course, we tried the DRC to 0% success due to the impulisiveness of my child's actions. Your facts are sound but teachers have to teach 20 students, not just 1. Your course is a valuable resourse for teachers who will have to cope with a rise in this problem in the future. In the meantime, if parents have the resources themselves, I recommend homeschooling until the school system is redesigned to be more copacetic to the children of the future.

ADHD is a superpower, not a disability. Trying to force a square peg into a round hole never works. Embrace your child who does not fit into the conventional mold and is destined for great things.

I love my son with all my heart.

автор: Johan K

20 апр. 2020 г.

I found the course very interesting for several reasons. Having worked with children for many years I got the "science" behind techniques that I've applied instinctively as well as learned from others, and I also got a lot of new insights. The biggest reward though was gaining more understanding of myself as well as actual strategies to use in my everyday life and lessen the negative effects of my own ADHD, strategies that I never learned as a child since I wasn't diagnosed until last year.

автор: Lesley D

18 нояб. 2020 г.

Wonderful course with great strategies. The instruction is clear, and many examples are provided. A couple of the links to resources do not work. My only wish was that a brief section on how siblings of kids/classmates with ADHD can be affected by the attention or extra praise put on to the child with ADHD and how to effectively handle questions or feelings of unfairness for those not receiving those extras or losing time especially with parental attention.

автор: Mark M

8 нояб. 2017 г.

Great suggestions and insight. At times, I felt a little out of my league because I am not yet a parent, and therefore the modules speaking of the parent-child intervention plans was foreign to me; unfortunately many parents of my students are not active in the student's life, thus I hope to take these strategies and implement them into the classroom. Nice work with the Modules and thank you for the resources.

Mark McCullough

автор: Sarah J

26 окт. 2017 г.

A good range of strategies were given for supporting students with ADHD in the classroom, and parents supporting their children in the home. The professor explained his points well and was very engaging.

The quizzes and reflections were perhaps too easy, so it takes little effort to pass this course. Perhaps the introduction of a peer assessed assignment would make the certificate a more valuable achievement.

автор: Shaoli K

6 окт. 2017 г.

The course offers a broad overview on assessing and implementing corrective measures for an ADHD child. It is good for teachers or parents who are looking for quick information and guidance on this topic. The resources that are made available within the course are very good and offer extended information, sample forms and formats and many tips to handle an ADHD child in home or school environment.

автор: Daranee J

4 июня 2020 г.

Thanks for the knowledge about ADHD and DRC. But I want to leave some ideas about the sound of the VDO clip, especially A scenario of DRC. I think we can increase the sound quality by using an external microphone. If it's possible, it would be good to understand what they're talking about and keep us concentrate with the very useful VDO clips you made. Thanks again for the valuable course.

автор: Naomi R

3 мая 2018 г.

I thought this course was very well done. I liked that we got to decide when we completed this course. It did not take up too much of my time. If you have a student or child who has ADHD, I would recommend this course. I took this course because I am a high school student who wants to be a teacher and it was helpful for me to see strategies I can use if I ever teach an ADHD student.

автор: Yvette

18 дек. 2021 г.

This course has taught me most of what I need to know about ADHD. it is very easy to understand with the many videos accompany with the video notes and powerpoint presentation.. I have learned so much that would be able to assist me in looking for signs of ADHD within my students without diagnosing them. Thank you Dr. Fabiano.

автор: Melissa

9 янв. 2017 г.

Very easy course and the set up was very predictable, although I do wish that the course switched up some things so that it wasn't the same every week. Nice overview of ADHD. I liked how the power points were included so that I could go back and look at them and all of the extra reading materials are very helpful.

автор: Francisco I R M

7 мар. 2018 г.

Un curso básico, para que todas las personas puedan conocer un poco más sobre el TDAH y para adquirir algunas herramientas que podrían servir en sus niños y niñas. Lo único malo del curso, es que el precio es demasiado elevado en relación a la calidad y capacidad adquiridas a partir de este.

автор: BHAKTI M

28 апр. 2018 г.

Thank you for the helpful course. Would love to apply on a day to day activity. But my question was not answered on time. I hope you can work on that.

Kindly let me know when can I get my certificate. What are the things that I need to submit. Will wait for your reply.

Thank You.

автор: SKANAVI E

10 июля 2017 г.

It was a very well structured MOOC with everyday strategies for ADHD students both in class and home. I would like more role plays or examples and not only lecture for Mr.Fabiano. Also, a few more resources or articles will be great. Overall it was an interesting course! Thanks!

автор: Garima P

3 нояб. 2016 г.

The course is very helpful. It has cleared many misconceptions I had. I am sure the Daily Report Card and Behaviour contract will prove to be very helpful. I just wish some more classroom behaviour management strategies could be shared.Thanks!

автор: Swati A

20 июля 2020 г.

Readily useful material for any adult who is in interaction with a child who ADHD or similar problems. Very simple things that can be done to see quite a lot of improvement with relatively small efforts and almost no monetary expense.

автор: DOMINIQUE M M

25 июня 2020 г.

Abarca varias áreas de interés y tiene hartas páginas que ofrecen recursos muy interesantes. Queda un poco el deseo de profundizar más en cada uno de los temas, pero de todas formas ofrece herramientas y contenido muy útil.

автор: olga g

4 мар. 2019 г.

Me hubiese gustado encontrar mas estrategias concretas y explicadas con detenimiento por el profesor.

Nos dejo un buen numero de sitios web para aprender e investigar.

Gracias!!lo disfrute y me dejo buenas ideas!!!

автор: Sharon C

14 окт. 2020 г.

Very informative and eye opener on how to adapt to my child's world. I now have to learn to be more patient and change the way I react to his behaviour and apply appropriate punishment and rewards for actions

автор: denise m

28 мая 2020 г.

The content is great, but I suggest that Prof. Greg Fabiano speaks slowly and he adds something else besides the power point presentations to be more dynamic. In my opinion, role play would be a good idea.

автор: Shikha B

16 сент. 2017 г.

The course was very interesting. It helped me a lot to know more about kids showing attention deficiency both at home and in school, and how to tackle them. This is very helpful for me as a parent too.

автор: BRITTANY F

20 июля 2020 г.

Overall very helpful and effective with easy to understand language. Many of the links that were provided unfortunately were dead and thus whatever information that they provided went unlearned.

автор: Sarah P

28 июля 2017 г.

I found this short course very informative. It was a very practical way to update myself on the latest thinking about ADHD, and what children need teachers to do to help them. Recommended.

автор: yukiyo G

15 июня 2020 г.

The course contains many useful, practical and clear informations. As a parents of children with ADHD, I knew most of the topic which covered, but gave me more confident for what I know.

автор: Liz G

16 сент. 2017 г.

es una excelente opcion para aquellos que comienzan en este arduo camino como es el tdah, pienso que podrian agregarse innovaciones dentro del aula, asi como nuevas estrategias en el hogar