Chevron Left
Вернуться к Wonders of Ancient Egypt

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Wonders of Ancient Egypt от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.8
Оценки: 323
Рецензии: 95

О курсе

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture. This course focused on five key areas in the study of Ancient Egypt: 1) Principles of Egyptian Art, 2) The Basics of the Language of Ancient Egypt: Hieroglyphs, 3) Egyptian Magic, 4) Akhenaten, Tutankhamun, and the Religion of the Aten, and 5) The Burial of Tutankhamun and the Search for his Tomb. This course is intended to accompany, and ideally to follow, Introduction to Ancient Egypt (also available on Coursera)....

Лучшие рецензии

GH

Nov 23, 2017

Very interesting course with great on-line and book references, will be a great help and inspiration for one to visit museums containing Ancient Egyptian art and artifacts

SS

Apr 16, 2018

Very impressing, well-prepared, detailed course. I have learnt a lot and I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to gain insight about Ancient Egyption culture!

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 95 отзывов о курсе Wonders of Ancient Egypt

автор: Ilanka

Jan 21, 2018

Great cours

автор: Christopher a

Feb 22, 2018

Great enjoyable course

автор: AMANDA M H

Nov 29, 2017

Excelent! I love It Very muchas And i ' ok but This course.

I like Very much study about Egypt Civilization, their religion, society, culture, ritual. I' mais From Brasil, but This is The Second course by teacher David P. Silverman. See you Soon gere!

автор: Mary P

Apr 14, 2018

Very Interesting course about Ancient Egyptian life. Lectures were easy to follow and it isn't too time consuming. Thoroughly enjoyable!

автор: Fatima F

May 24, 2018

I really enjoyed the course. This was the second from Penn University I attended to. High quality, meaningful course.

автор: Домрачев Е В

Dec 22, 2017

meow

автор: JOHN Q

Oct 31, 2017

excellent course.....fun and interesting.

автор: Guilherme I D

Jan 10, 2018

A really nice course! I was very happy to learn more about ancient egypt.

автор: Jiayang T

Apr 08, 2018

This course focuses more on architect, art and language of Egypt, which are all rarely mentioned in other Egypt introducing class. Egypt culture and history is really fascinating!

автор: Angela C

Jul 06, 2018

10 stars if I could. I loved this course. I learned so many new facts. I think Mr. Silverman was a great teacher. He explain so many things perfectly to help understand. I would love to meet him if ever in Philadelphia. I have so many questions about what he experienced throughout his career. Thanks so much Mr. Silverman.

автор: Muhammad R R

May 02, 2019

The all course lectures are very amazing and informative.

автор: Abadir S

May 05, 2019

egypt great civilization

автор: Peta A

Apr 12, 2019

Enjoyable and the presenter is A1

автор: Claudette D

May 15, 2019

A

автор: Diana M U R

Jun 09, 2019

Amaizing course i love it

автор: Khalukhaev S

Jun 17, 2019

Good and interesting course containing a great deal of useful information. For example I've learned 6 Gardiner's lessons of Ancient Egyptian and haven't received any information about "Interrogative sentences" yet. While Mr. Silverman gave a simple interrogative word that is used by egyptians like "Question mark" in english or interrogative word "Hal" in arabic.

автор: Mansi W

Jun 30, 2019

One of the best courses for intermediate level Egyptology!

автор: Michelle O A C

Jul 10, 2019

super complete and interesting course!

автор: GLADIS E S

Aug 13, 2019

Excellent Course!!!

Prof. Gladis E. Simonian Minassian

автор: Thuy P

May 22, 2019

I can learn more exciting knowledge about Ancient Egypt. I Love this course

автор: Vojtěch K

Jun 12, 2019

Very good course about Ancient Egypt and a nice follow-up on the Introduction course with Mr. Silverman!

автор: Therese M M

Aug 16, 2019

I want more courses of ancient Egypt and other ancient civilizations!!!! Please!!!

автор: Simran S

Sep 20, 2019

Wonderful course

автор: A S

Sep 20, 2019

Excellent course, very interesting topic and very well-presented. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in Egyptian history, art, and archaeology.

автор: Emelyne R

Sep 02, 2019

I took this class because I was in a period of my life where I hadn't any job but I didn't have the will to actually do anything teaching or law related. I always loved Egypt and its history, this class actually taught me a lot about it. It's easy to stay on tracks and if you like history and Egypt this is a good course to do during summer and holidays time !