Chevron Left
Вернуться к Wonders of Ancient Egypt

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Wonders of Ancient Egypt от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 657
Рецензии: 210

О курсе

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture. This course focused on five key areas in the study of Ancient Egypt: 1) Principles of Egyptian Art, 2) The Basics of the Language of Ancient Egypt: Hieroglyphs, 3) Egyptian Magic, 4) Akhenaten, Tutankhamun, and the Religion of the Aten, and 5) The Burial of Tutankhamun and the Search for his Tomb. This course is intended to accompany, and ideally to follow, Introduction to Ancient Egypt (also available on Coursera)....

Лучшие рецензии

VE
10 июля 2020 г.

This was an incredibly detailed course that provided an in-depth and interesting view of ancient Egypt. I would highly recommend this as an essential course for those interested in Egypt's history.

MM
25 сент. 2020 г.

I really enjoyed the history of Ancient Egypt. I have viewed the treasures of Tutankhamun twice. This class gave me a more in depth view of the culture and the art of Ancient Egypt. Thank you.

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 210 отзывов о курсе Wonders of Ancient Egypt

автор: Joyce G A

15 июля 2020 г.

excellent course, its my first time learning online and I learned a lot. Ancient Egypt is truly amazing!

автор: Vojtěch K

12 июня 2019 г.

Very good course about Ancient Egypt and a nice follow-up on the Introduction course with Mr. Silverman!

автор: Atoosa

18 дек. 2019 г.

Great course.

Did not disappoint!

Loved the numerous museum pictures with detailed explanation.

Thank you

автор: Andrea M

11 окт. 2020 г.

Eu achei o curso muito interessante e superou minhas expectativas, muito obrigado pela oportunidade.

автор: Ellie

11 нояб. 2019 г.

It was a fun course to experience and it showed me a different view on the ancient egyptian culture

автор: elodie r

14 окт. 2020 г.

So interesting I loved it, I did the course in 2 days. I love Egypt culture and I learnt so much

автор: Manal K

1 янв. 2020 г.

Clear , concise and loaded with information yet not dull at all.

Thank you , enjoyed every minute.

автор: Sven S

29 дек. 2017 г.

This is really a great course. Very interesting topics and beautiful materials. I learned a lot.

автор: Dararat K

3 дек. 2017 г.

Thank you so much for this wonderful course. I'm looking forward to next chapter of Egyptology.

автор: Carrie L M

28 янв. 2018 г.

Great course! So informative and I love the presentation of the material. Thank you so much!!!

автор: Aaman L

2 нояб. 2018 г.

A masterful exposition of art, culture, writing, magic and the complexity of the 18th dynasty

автор: Daisy N

18 мая 2020 г.

A really interesting course, well presented and informative. I recommend taking this course.

автор: Kiara M M R

19 янв. 2019 г.

Me encanta. Estoy aprendiendo mucho sobre la escritura en el Antiguo Egipto. Lo recomiendo.

автор: PhantomDuck1980

7 нояб. 2017 г.

An exellent learnig experiece. I definately recomment it to everyone who adores Egyptology!

автор: Nelly M C C

18 мар. 2018 г.

A fascinating course. It was a fine sequel to the previous course. I highly recommend it.

автор: STELLA M F B

3 нояб. 2018 г.

es un curso exelente pues a pesar de ser en ingles me fue facil comprender y aprender

автор: Bruna F P

29 мая 2020 г.

Great course! It was truly great to be able to join in it! Thanks to all involved!

автор: Therese M M

16 авг. 2019 г.

I want more courses of ancient Egypt and other ancient civilizations!!!! Please!!!

автор: Monica G

20 мар. 2020 г.

I absolutely loved this course. Well explained and really easy to understand!!!

автор: Lora H

3 апр. 2020 г.

Learned something new about Egypt and that's good enough for 5 stars for me.

автор: Sam R

18 апр. 2020 г.

a wonderful class, lad by an inspiring and captivating teacher and scholar.

автор: Thùy P

21 мая 2019 г.

I can learn more exciting knowledge about Ancient Egypt. I Love this course

автор: Guilherme I D

10 янв. 2018 г.

A really nice course! I was very happy to learn more about ancient egypt.