Chevron Left
Вернуться к Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 2,557
Рецензии: 692

О курсе

In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable you to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, you will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument by adding suppressed premises. By the end of this course, you will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that you and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Лучшие рецензии

SM
10 июня 2020 г.

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

FY
5 июля 2018 г.

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 682 отзывов о курсе Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

автор: Amir R M F

27 сент. 2020 г.

The lectures were very well done and the information provided was essential. Therefore, every student should take this course.

This is a valid argument with assuring terms and positive evaluative terms and several suppressed premises. I know this because I took the course.

автор: Sagar L

25 мая 2020 г.

The course takes a very structural approach to breaking down arguments into their most granular components and all the tools and tips to form and evaluate good arguments.The course material is very well structured and the lectures and discussion forums are pretty engaging!

автор: nandana s

13 июля 2020 г.

The professors were simply amazing and they explained everything really well. I am really glad I decided to take this course as now I can put it on my Personal Statement for University, Professor Sinnott was also really funny throughout the duration of the course.

автор: Madeline K

12 июля 2020 г.

The lectures were very well done and compelling, making learning interesting and fun. The intermittent exercises really helped with solidifying the lessons and the discussions were an additional fun exercise. Overall, this was an engaging and informative course.

автор: Dana S

5 мая 2020 г.

It's impossible to describe how valuable this course is. It will help you develop your arguments, think about how you think and make your arguments better. It will help you understand the reasoning of others and find both their strong and weak points. Excellent!

автор: Jennifer E

8 нояб. 2018 г.

The instructor is entertaining while informative, he speaks clearly and confidently, the captions are accurate and usually don't pass too quickly, there were charts and lists clearly displayed, therefore I was able to adequately learn the material presented.

автор: Anastasiya L

30 сент. 2020 г.

I took the course for the purpose of personal development, I can say with great confidence that I learned from the course and enjoyed it a lot. I believe I will also take the next course in the series.

Thank you very much Dr. Walter Sinnott-Armstrong!

автор: Miguel Á H

1 авг. 2017 г.

Hello everybody! This is a very useful course. It teachs you how to understand arguments and agree with them or refute them when are bad or poorly constructed. But it is not easy. You have to dedicate it enough time an effort for make the most of it.

автор: Noelle p

15 янв. 2017 г.

Brilliant course! I learned so much about how to evaluate arguments and pick them apart to understand the reasoning process behind them. I have been looking for a course just like this for ages and I am so glad I finally found it! Highly recommended.

автор: Regina C

12 мар. 2018 г.

Mi nivel de inglés es bueno, sin embargo, en algunos casos hubo palabras que debí buscar su significado antes de responder. El curso es bueno para encontrar las premisas ocultas tan importantes para definir los mensajes.

PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE.

автор: Ben W

17 сент. 2017 г.

Fantastic! Thank you so much for putting this course together. I had a lot of fun going through the lectures and doing the discussions and quizzes. I feel very inspired to further my to continue developing my reasoning and critical thinking skills.

автор: Mostafa E

28 авг. 2017 г.

this is a very important course to take first to understand others argument so you have understanding of the people which get you closer to others as well as formulating your own argument for the different reasons you might have to give an argument

автор: swastik m

19 февр. 2019 г.

this is an exceptional course with a lot to learn.the professor makes it so easily understandable that it makes class more fun. the discussion questions increased the level of communication which in turn helps understanding all the perspectives.

автор: Tara V

16 сент. 2017 г.

The worse part was the final. It took me 10 times to pass the final but it was well worth it and well earned. I enjoyed the content but wished the instructor had slowed down a little on some of the concepts. Its hard to listen and take notes.

автор: Nizar K

19 сент. 2017 г.

Excellent course, learnt how to understand ARguments, using language and analyzing the language of ARgument. WAs very skeptical at first but at the end of the course was completely converted. Enjoyed the way the class was presented. Many thanks

автор: Kathleen R

18 мар. 2019 г.

The course was well-structured and taught in an engaging manner. Lectures were well done. Quizzes were helpful. Excellent insights and I just wish I took this course years ago -- would have helped me use argument in a more effective manner.

автор: Nenad P

6 мая 2020 г.

Absolutely brilliant course. What I expected to be a course focused on actual arguments and presenting them this course took me on a journey of philosophical linguistics that absolutely dazzled my mind and thinking. Recommended for sure!!!!!

автор: Gustavo A V T

2 нояб. 2020 г.

This course is very interesting. If you have the opportunity to read the textbook they suggest do it, because it will increase your understanding about the theme. You will need some effort to be able to complete the test and get approved.

автор: Sophie

28 нояб. 2016 г.

Although it's a bit hard for me to deeply understand the lectures, it's very helpful for me. I shall review it one more time. I like the way professor Walter Sinnott-Armstrong presents his lectures. He is a humorous and admirable teacher.

автор: Humberto P

26 окт. 2017 г.

Very good material and lectures, really helped me a lot, i enjoyed the dynamic way in which the professor explained all the concepts, and even though it was a video previously recorded it was really easy to understand and follow through

автор: Daniel B L d S

24 дек. 2017 г.

This is course is very good in fact. It goes smoothly from the very basic principles up to the intermediary mechanisms of argumentation. The only thing I can suggest that may make it even better is to reduce the length of some classes.

автор: Vishnu K M

13 мая 2020 г.

Excellent course. Learnt a lot and started applying in real world. Thankyou Dr Walter and his team for making an efficient MOOC. I also express my gratitude to The Duke University and coursera for providing this course to us.

Regards

автор: Doaa S

12 июля 2020 г.

This course has genuinely opened my eyes to arguments and how to understand them. Especially in this day and age where there are plenty of arguments upon very important matters, it is very interesting to understand them. Thank you!

автор: Pedro C

5 сент. 2016 г.

Excellent course. Opened my mind to this fascinating subject!

I have an Electrical Engineering graduation so the logics part wasn't so hard as I studied it in Computer linguistic. Happy to apply that in everyday texts and speeches.

автор: Vitalii D

5 нояб. 2017 г.

Had a lot of fun. Very useful course to make sense out of what others are saying. The biggest value for me (guarding terms :) is that It helps recognize the when others are trying to trick us into believing something unjustified.