Chevron Left
Вернуться к Systems Thinking In Public Health

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Systems Thinking In Public Health от партнера Университет Джонса Хопкинса

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 841

О курсе

This course provides an introduction to systems thinking and systems models in public health. Problems in public health and health policy tend to be complex with many actors, institutions and risk factors involved. If an outcome depends on many interacting and adaptive parts and actors the outcome cannot be analyzed or predicted with traditional statistical methods. Systems thinking is a core skill in public health and helps health policymakers build programs and policies that are aware of and prepared for unintended consequences. An important part of systems thinking is the practice to integrate multiple perspectives and synthesize them into a framework or model that can describe and predict the various ways in which a system might react to policy change. Systems thinking and systems models devise strategies to account for real world complexities. This work was coordinated by the Alliance for Health Policy and Systems Research, the World Health Organization, with the aid of a grant from the International Development Research Centre, Ottawa, Canada. Additional support was provided by the Department for International Development (DFID) through a grant (PO5467) to Future Health Systems research consortium. © World Health Organization 2014 All rights reserved. The designations employed and the presentation of the material in this publication do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of the World Health Organization concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries. Dotted and dashed lines on maps represent approximate border lines for which there may not yet be full agreement. The mention of specific companies or of certain manufacturers’ products does not imply that they are endorsed or recommended by the World Health Organization in preference to others of a similar nature that are not mentioned. Errors and omissions excepted, the names of proprietary products are distinguished by initial capital letters. All reasonable precautions have been taken by the World Health Organization to verify the information contained in this publication. However, the published material is being distributed without warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied. The responsibility for the interpretation and use of the material lies with the reader. In no event shall the World Health Organization be liable for damages arising from its use. Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health has a non-exclusive license to use and reproduce the material....

Лучшие рецензии

NM

7 июня 2019 г.

This is an excellent-excellent course and provides a good primer even to somebody (like me) who has only a very limited exposure to public health and none to the concepts of systems thinking.

VS

11 мар. 2018 г.

The course is one of the best that I've attended on Coursera. This will be highly useful in my current course "Healthcare Operations Management" that I am offering for MBA students in India.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 191 отзывов о курсе Systems Thinking In Public Health

автор: Dr. J B

14 мая 2019 г.

Great place to start or refresh on systems thinking, design, causal loop diagrams (CDL) and SF (Stock & Flow), both with VENSIM, as well as the public health context. Thanks to both instructors and the University.

автор: Steve S

5 июня 2016 г.

I thought this course was top notch - the lectures were very well designed and course production quality was first rate. An excellent introduction to an important subject area.

автор: Vishnu G P

7 апр. 2020 г.

This is a good course to pick up knowledge and skills on causal loop diagrams, stock and flow diagrams, agent based modelling and the relevant software needed to develop these.

автор: Rus H

12 янв. 2023 г.

Great use-case examples of systems thinking. I found the causal loop diagrams to be very useful for understanding complex systems.

автор: Nicholas B

19 авг. 2020 г.

This was an excellent course and I will be integrated it into the systems thinking aspect of our MPH curriculum.

автор: Rashad J T M

18 янв. 2019 г.

Great course definitely learned a lot and feel that they can be applied in many areas within my career

автор: Nwaiwu c

25 авг. 2018 г.

Very detailed and practical but too technical.

автор: Deepa. P

21 июля 2017 г.

excellent".I gained a lot for my PhD.

автор: Ivan I

3 мар. 2020 г.

Excelente!!! con todas las letras!!

автор: 米睿

15 июня 2018 г.

Fantastic Course with high quality

автор: Khulud A

20 мая 2020 г.

Great course, I learned a lot

автор: Leila M M

7 мар. 2016 г.

Excellent course. Thank you!

автор: Jorge G

15 июля 2019 г.

Excelente course!!!!

автор: Amon Y

11 янв. 2018 г.

Very useful course.

автор: Celio N

27 нояб. 2017 г.

awesome course

автор: Rebecca V

1 мая 2018 г.

GREAT

автор: Linda A

4 февр. 2019 г.

I really enjoyed the course, its structure and the way of explaining the concepts. I particularly liked the lectures held by Prof. Ligia Paina: she explained Vensim step by step and I appreciated it. I would have gone a little bit more in detail with stock and flows diagrams, I would have expected in general more examples and practical exercises. Overall, great course to start building a system thinking mindset. Thank you all.

автор: Shivanand S

1 мая 2020 г.

I liked the content of the course and simplistic way of explanation. My suggestion to improve would be to give some exercises to create cause and loop diagram and stock and flow diagram, so that, public health experts become familiar with these concepts in a better way.

Thank you so much

автор: Krista M

21 авг. 2018 г.

The quiz structures and answers could be reviewed in content. The fourth quiz had strange answer selection in the multi-select sections (e.g., suggest rethinking the idea elements of the Q 5,6, 7 answers then build out the answer selections in enhanced clarity).

автор: Alton W P

10 авг. 2020 г.

The material is very good. several of the links were broken or went to resources that no longer existed, which was more than a little frustrating. Based on the quizzes, more time should have been put on simulation and implementation.

автор: Rachel A B

24 окт. 2016 г.

There was a lot I liked about this course, especially the weeks focusing on background and theory. However, about half the course focused too much on the software that could be used for systems analyses in public health. I would have preferred more of an overview of systems thinking and less diving into the nitty gritty of technology. The other systems course (Systems Science and Obesity) seemed to balance these aspects much better - and moved the technical aspects to labs.

автор: Quinto E

15 авг. 2022 г.

I have been ex[osed to Systems Thinking before, but it has never been as clear as it has been put in this course. I knew only property of systems to be the emergent property and i also got some properties from the book Systems Thinking for Health Systems Strengthening. But in this course the descruption of the properties of Complex Adaptive Systems are so presice and clear. The Causal Loop Diagrams was the missing link in my journey to understanding systems thinking.. I was suddenlly awakened, And when the Stock and Floor diagrams came in it was even much better. Perhaps the most important piece of advise if for us not to present ourselves as very sophisticated people who can decipher any Complex Adaptive System for Policy Makers, but to find a way to illuminate choices for the political decision maker and work inclusively with the Public Health Triumvirate.

автор: Peninah T

29 янв. 2021 г.

An excellent introductory course for intuitive system thinkers in Public Health. The course covers the broad scope concisely; introducing the concept, the process, the tools to model and as well as model interpretation.

In those short 4 weeks, I have learnt the language to articulate, and acquired the tools apply to, my intuitive system thinking approach to public health. It lays the foundation for me to become a seasoned Systems Thinker. I am deeply indebted. Thank you.

автор: Lauren W

1 сент. 2022 г.

Very informational course that provided knowledge and skills not learned or practiced in my undergraduate degree. Would recommend for anyone wanting higher education public health courses or in preparation for graduate school where they would likely expand on the topics discussed in this course.

автор: Ellen v d S

3 февр. 2021 г.

I'm already working in a field where I have to apply systems thinking on a daily basis, but I'm pretty new to it, therefore I decided to follow the course.

This course is very interesting and covers all the basic principles. Can definitely recommend it for policy makers.