Chevron Left
Вернуться к Russian History: from Lenin to Putin

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Russian History: from Lenin to Putin от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Санта-Крузе

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 378
Рецензии: 141

О курсе

In this course, Peter Kenez, Professor Emeritus at UC Santa Cruz, explains the events of modern Russian history and introduces its most significant actors—from Vladimir Lenin to Vladimir Putin....

Лучшие рецензии

MM

Apr 14, 2020

I recommend anyone interested in this period of Russian history to take the course. Professor Kenez is an authority on the period and delivers an excellent overview of the time.

JM

Aug 29, 2019

My first ever online course, and what a great start. The Professor leading it was very good at explaining the fasicating and recent history of Russia with a personal touch. 5/5

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 142 отзывов о курсе Russian History: from Lenin to Putin

автор: Alena R

Nov 01, 2018

Thank you for the course! As a russian I had a great opportunity to look at the history of my country form another point of view. Brilliant!

автор: Stephen T

Dec 22, 2017

A very interesting and well-presented course which dovetails nicely with Stalin and Stalinism. It is simply designed and easy to follow.

автор: JOHN Q

Oct 22, 2017

Nice review of Russian History over the past century. I really enjoyed the course. Thanks so much!

автор: Chris

Feb 04, 2020

The topic was very interesting, and I was very fond of Professor Kenez and his presentation style.

автор: Olga S

Mar 09, 2019

Thank you, professor, for your deep understanding of Russian history and Russian soul.

автор: Armando B M

Jan 29, 2019

Great course!!!! Thank you very much prof. Peter kenez. I've learned a lot!!!!!!

автор: Daniel D

Apr 11, 2018

Está increíble. Gran profesor, gran clase. Thank you very much for this.

автор: Ricardo M A

Apr 07, 2019

I had the feeling of great impartiality in this course.

автор: Elisandra S

May 31, 2018

Wonderful course. Very well structured and dynamic!

автор: Shaleen P

Jun 14, 2018

Very clear and in-depth discussion of events.

автор: Yasiru R

Aug 15, 2018

Good course to learn the Russian History. <3

автор: Drue C

Dec 05, 2017

Very interesting information, unfortunately had to drop it while attempting to balance high school material. The professor had some instances where it was extremely difficult to understand him, and the transcript at times was incomprehensible (which, I assume, is a result of poor transcription). 100% would complete this course if I had the time to.

автор: Joy S

Jan 01, 2018

As an American, I learned that there has been misunderstanding about the Russians in my country. They have a different way of thinking than we do and some of the things they said have been misconstrued. They have had difficult times and are not the monsters we have been taught they were.

автор: Stella M

Dec 23, 2017

A great introduction to Russian history.

автор: Shaun L T G

Jun 23, 2020

Appreciate the wealth of information Prof Kenez has and the attempts to tell the history of Russia, capturing the period of the last hundred years in three weeks. However, I found certain parts difficult to understand and some of the points brought in do not fit the lecture. In "Molotov-Ribbentrop Pact", Prof Kenez brought in the Finnish-Russian War where the Russian losses were 6x that of Finnish ones though the link to the actual pact is quite unclear. In "German Invasion of the Soviet Union", the telling is quite unclear and I had to read the transcript a few times to make sense of the military history behind Germany's invasion of Russia. Around 11:06, he says that even if the Nazis captured Moscow, they would have lost the war but doesn't explain why. This will then make you think that the Russians somehow managed to halt the Nazis but around 11:49, he says that Stalin attempted a counterattack which wasn't quite successful. While I appreciate the effort to take us through the twists and turns, I often had to read the transcript a few times to gain greater clarity of the topic.

автор: Tetiana D

Nov 20, 2017

up to the last lecture it was more or less ok. But the last lecture is outrageous. Almost all of its statements took directly from russian propaganda. If i were more paranoid I would think that it is paid by russia propaganda, but maybe professor watched to much russia today channel. I don't recommend to take this course it, especially last part. It is misleading and full of inaccuracy with facts. If you want more detailed analysis see my post in discussion forum week3

автор: Annie M

Apr 12, 2019

The professor may well know his subject but he cannot lecture. His speech is so slow and the sentences complex, therefore making it difficult to follow. I'll just read the text I bought. Coursera, you failed again.

автор: Vivienne M

Apr 14, 2020

I have learned many new things and I really liked the subject.

To follow this course you need some background information, such as what Stalinism is or who Marx is or Bolsjeviks are. I had some information learned at high school in the Netherlands, so i could follow it.

I advise to give a bit more attention to the cold war.I've learned other perspectives now, but for me I couldn't follow the origin and the development of it. It looked now if it only ended because of the major financial investments in military, but there were also other negotations I guess?

But I really liked the course and I'm curious to learn more about this country. I even bought a book:

frank westerman - engineers of the soul . You would like it (about the role of authors in the 20th century)

автор: pierre v

Feb 11, 2018

What a gem of a course! I loved everything about it. When I was a boy in the 1970s, my interest in history was kick started by an ITV series called 'The World at War', with Laurence Olivier as the narrator. It was fascinating to me. The thrill of listening to this series of lectures, reconnected me with the excitement and sense of wonder which I experienced back then. Peter Kenez has so much knowledge on this subject, and his presentation and treatment of the information was fascinating. I gained so much insight into the history of Russia and the events which shaped modern day Russia. Thank you for enriching my life and allowing me to see the world in new ways.

автор: Carol L S

Jan 28, 2020

The material was presented in a very clear and coherent way. I knew a little about Russian history from my study of theatre. This course filled in many gaps and gave me a better understanding of the Russian people--more compassion for them than I already had. The lectures were excellent and the quizzes helped to re-enforce material covered in the lectures. The only thing I found disappointing was that there was no interaction in the discussion forums. The professor interacting with us or TAs interacting with us would have encouraged more students to get involved. In some classes I've learned almost as much in the discussion forums as from the lectures.

автор: Maksim H

Dec 20, 2017

I cannot recommend this course more than giving it five stars. Actually a one-star review have sparked my interest to go through the history of my motherland from the perspective of the foreign professor. Reviewer claimed that professor is biased towards Putin and watches Russia Today all the time. It cannot be further from the truth! After listening week three I am convinced that this "reviewer" is actually a Kremlin-paid-troll whose only aim to discredit this material.

The story is filled with empathy to russian people and I am genuinely grateful to professor Kenez for sharing these lectures and his efforts to shed light on troubled russian history.

автор: Leo P

Aug 13, 2019

I came across this course as a second thought. I don't know anything about Russian History aside from the very basics and what one can catch from watching the news. However, to listen to Peter Kenez speak is a blessing. He is informative without being pedantic and does something that is often taken for granted, he passes on his passion for the subject to the students. I am now incredibly interested in Russian history, even as far as implementing it into my work. Thank you Coursera!

автор: jose l r

May 20, 2020

Interesante y llevadero. Dan ganas de seguir cada vez que uno termina uno de los videos. Muy bien el Prof. Kenez.

Sugiero tan solo que se recomienden lecturas al final de cada Semana; si puede haber alguna explicación de las fotos mas significativas que aparecen sería de buena ayuda para la comprensión de cada clase .

Y agregar un curso sobre la cultura rusa en los siglos 19 y 20.

Muchas gracias por la posibilidad de aprender en forma gratuita. Felicitaciones.

автор: alejandro

Nov 25, 2017

Great lectures with outstanding photo-illustrations. I highly recommend this course because it is delivered without bias, as it is all too easy to view events from your own cultural perspective.

This is the first time the Molotov–Ribbentrop Pact was placed in context of the Allies "tacit approval" of the Nazi invasion of Czechoslovakia and the Nazi assistance to Franco's destruction of Republic Spain.

автор: Karolina Y

Jun 01, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. Professor Kenez, the lector, presents all information in an engaging way, staying impartial.

The final essay was an exciting challenge, through which I discovered that academic writing in English is exciting.

I also loved questions to discuss at the end of each bloc, where one can exchange opinions about major historical events with their peers.