Chevron Left
Вернуться к Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python) от партнера Мичиганский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 82,265
Рецензии: 20,168

О курсе

This course aims to teach everyone the basics of programming computers using Python. We cover the basics of how one constructs a program from a series of simple instructions in Python. The course has no pre-requisites and avoids all but the simplest mathematics. Anyone with moderate computer experience should be able to master the materials in this course. This course will cover Chapters 1-5 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. Once a student completes this course, they will be ready to take more advanced programming courses. This course covers Python 3....
Основные моменты
High quality instructor
(рецензий: 1484)
Introductory course
(рецензий: 4203)

Лучшие рецензии

AW

Nov 20, 2015

Easy to follow and not boring. The instructor breaks things down in simple form. The Coursera platform is sometimes a bit quirky but otherwise the content in this course I thought was quite excellent.

FG

Jan 08, 2018

Tan solo auditar este curso me ayudó bastante en el aprendizaje de este lenguage de programación. A penas ahorre el dinero compraré el resto de cursos para seguir adelante. Gracias Charles Severance!!

Фильтр по:

201–225 из 10,000 отзывов о курсе Programming for Everybody (Getting Started with Python)

автор: Arslan A

Feb 01, 2019

Although the course 1 is just a beginner's start to the python programming language, but the way it is created will definitely inspire many students to start python programming language seriously and professionally. The worldwide office hours, meetings with other tech person and new technologies introduction etc all are created in a way that nobody can feel alone while taking this course and Its just the start, the other 4 courses in python specialization are must to enroll for professional start. Thank you Coursera, University of Michigan, HEC and Sir Charles Severance for such a amazing course.

автор: Khanh P T

Feb 26, 2016

Having struggled with Python for more than a year and tried different learning materials, I am so happy with the newbie-friendly teaching approach presented in this course. The first few lectures are very helpful as they demystify the conceptual challenges surrounding Python, programming and computers in general--effectively breaking down the psychological barrier common in many students new to programming. I like the textbook and the bonus videos very much, as they offer contextual information about Python and how people are using programming in the real world. I am a big fan of the professor!

автор: Jeffrey A

Jan 24, 2017

This was my first course to do with any type of computer programming I took. I had been interested in the past to learn python, learned some basic stuff but nothing like this. I know how a base understanding of what Python can do. The professor, Dr. Chuck was humorous which made the class fun, his lectures were on point and didn't give you too much information. The only negative, is I found myself getting stuck at assignments and having to look for help elsewhere to complete my programs. I hope with the more I continue to learn, I will be able to finish the assignments with my own knowledge.

автор: Berkeley B

Jan 07, 2016

I really enjoyed my time with this online experience. Though I managed to get thru most of the course without having to post a question, I did realize in the end how easy and responsive the course TA's are in follow up. And there is also the community of other students whom I was able to learn from in seeing their questions and answer sessions. You have no idea how important it was for me to be able to review the material in snippets in my day and then review it again and again so that I could comprehend the nuances of the lessons. Amazing, I wish I had this when I was in my undergrad days.

автор: Kumar A

Mar 17, 2020

The course was awesome, well-furnishing and compatible even for those who are are not aware of programming techniques though. In my opinion, if someone is going to start a journey over python then I'll recommend him/her to kindly pursue this course at least as a start, and I know they will love the respected instructor and his course content and his unique way of imparting knowledge as well.

The only thing I missed here was, they should add a bit more content, adding up some more concepts to the course so as to match-up with the necessities of a well-contented beginner level course on python.

автор: Fuze

Feb 20, 2020

Although this is not the first online course that i have ever taken, this must be the most interesting and the most progressive online course for me. I will move on to the subsequent courses. After taking this course, you will absolutely master how to install Python3, how to write .py files and how to run them. Furthermore, you will learn the mechanism of conditional statements, while loops, for loops, functions, etc. It may be a little confusing when you first started this course, but after countinuous learning, you will be interested and immerse yourself in it. This course is worth taking.

автор: Konstantinos N

Dec 24, 2016

Took the course as a first step in dealing with big data science.

The structure of the course is at all times comprehensible and it has a rather smooth narrative.

The course book is easy to understand, though at times it feels like it skips some steps.

The strongest point of the course is the instructor himself. Having thorough knowledge of the subject at hand, teaches in a funny and at the same time really productive manner. In short he teaches as an educator should teach.

To sum up, really good MOOC programme, gets you ahead in a few weeks time. Will definitely enroll for the second one.

автор: Tianran Y

Sep 03, 2016

Very well done course. It's very slow, so if you're looking for something akin to a full time college course, I would take this at either double or triple the pace the course recommends. It's geared towards people who have never developed or really looked at code at all, so if you have, you'll be ahead of the pack. Overall, I enjoyed the course a lot. It definitely covered things from many angles and went through things slow enough for me me to process everything. That said, I was also able to increase the speed of the videos and complete a few weeks in one when I had the time. Fun class

автор: Jeel P

Mar 07, 2020

The best thing about this course is the Instructor and the video quality, its easy pace, its content which goes from the following path ---> very very easy - very easy - little easy - easy - little intermediate, and it goes on... I mean that the instructor is very much student-friendly, not that kind of instructor that just come to the lecture-gets the beginner and intermediate topics mixed up, starts mugging up what he has to teach and just fades away with a piece of paper without any value in our hands(course certificate). Don't just read reviews get your a** off and start working.

автор: Scott F

Jul 10, 2016

This is a great class for someone who has no experience with Python at all. Dr. Chuck does an excellent job helping you understand the core concepts in a manner that is easy to learn. The lectures are interesting, easy to follow, and full of great material. The quizzes are simple enough but you do have to pay attention in order to get them correct. The assignments were a lot of fun and made you think of how best to incorporate everything you learned. This was a better experience than I have had in other courses I have been through. I am definitely taking the next class from Dr. Chuck!

автор: Shalender Y

Jul 16, 2017

The course is very good. when i started this course i am thinking it's going to be difficult , but relaxed when completed first week of the course. The main attraction of the course is it's arrangement in a sequence step by step form which makes understanding concepts easy.

Each video in the course doesn't tell only how to do program, but also clears the concept of the programs and why we are doing that program.

Really any person can learn python through these course even he has a programming background or not.

Overall course is so good and helps me in enhancing my programming skills.

автор: Chandrama S

Jan 31, 2016

I am a research student and working with Matlab Programming currently. Previously I did Masters in Geography and I had a very little experience in programming language as my entire course study was based on theory, statistical applications in geography.

Dr. Chuck's lectures really helped my out to learn coding from scratch and at the top of it I am now able to find out my loopholes while I do coding on Matlab background. Definitely I will take more courses from Coursera in future and when I have saved much, I will upgrade my course to get my completion certificates.

Cheers

Chandrama

автор: sreeram s

Jan 13, 2020

I really enjoyed learning this course. Though I am a beginner in programming, I was able to follow, comprehend and apply the contents taught in the course. The instructor stayed true to his vision in making it easy for everyone to learn programming through this course. Additionally taking it on coursera online platform helped me do it at my own pace, pause, take notes and really grasp the content. The assignments were appropriate and interesting.

I strongly recommend this course to newbies willing to take the plunge into programming. Python seemed lot more easy to learn and apply.

автор: Charles S

Sep 28, 2017

Dr. Severance kept everything very clear. I really appreciate that he has mastered the pace required to make sure you don't miss something, even when you think he could go faster. He has also mastered how to explain the translation from human thinking to computer code really well. I have found that other teachers have gone "native" with computer thinking and cannot explain it clearly. Clearly, this course makes you confident to continue on with the rest of the specialization. Note, if you have even a little coding experience, you can do this first course in a week quite easily.

автор: Quanxiong Z

Apr 18, 2016

I've tried the Python course of Rice university, and some part of the Codecademy Python course! This is much more basic and offer a fundamental view about all programming language not only just python. Compared to the Rice University course, this one is more for a new beginner who hasn't done any coding before. The Rice course doesn't really need any coding exp, but with the projects get more complicated in the end, it would be much easier if you have somewhat coding exp before, at least in my opinion.

Anyway, I can't wait for all this specialization of University of Michigan!

автор: Nattawat B

Dec 26, 2018

Professor did really great job in trying to make every newcomer love programming. Professor have done a really great job explaining all the stuff in only a short period of time.

As a person who have already studied Python before, this course is really helpful and is a quick review for most material studied before. The assignment and quiz is quite easy.

My recommendation for improving this course is to teach python by using the python instead of powerpoint in slides. It will make everything much clearer and people who haven't learn python before can understand things easier.

автор: Carlos A

Feb 26, 2017

IMHO, Excellent introductory course. Well planned, enabling students to interact and take baby steps into this really powerful language. Smart, casual and yet precise lessons will help you to go through the initial necessary steps in the language, building a fundamental base where you will construct your python coding skills!. Loved it. Platform quizzes and assignments help you make progress and push you to review your notes and the book content, enabling you to feel comfortable with the speed of the lessons. Thanks to Chuck and the Teaching Staff of Python for Everybody!

автор: Syed A A

Jun 11, 2016

It is initially difficult to follow any course regularly on any online teaching website. I have tried studying various courses on coursera before but I usually ended up in leaving the course. This is the first course I completed and I am really happy. Professor has really put lot of effort in teaching the course and also tried to make it fun. Thumbs up to Professor Charles Severance! However this course is really meant for someone who was never exposed to programming. As I have had some exposure, I increased the playback speed to 1.5x (So thumbs up to Coursera as well ! )

автор: Xavier d

Feb 04, 2018

Very happy with this course, Charles' passion shows and I appreciated the "let's not rush things and step back a bit" approach which makes us think things through and therefore provides a deeper understanding of the concepts covered.

Charles' tuition is logical, easy, relaxed and actually fun to follow, I would definitely recommend this course to anyone wanting to start having a basic "coding culture", also I believe that being capable of instructing a computer to do something with the clearest, shortest and simplest instructions can be useful for any training exercise.

автор: Shawen U

Jan 12, 2018

I have seen and tried quite a few coursera courses and this one was especially engaging and helpful. The lecturer clearly has lots of experience and it's easy to stay focused. I never get bored from his videos. The assignment difficulty might have been a little more consistent. While the first ones barely took me a minute, the final one took me a few weeks and even today I don't understand why the tiny changes I've made have had such different results. I would like to know more about that.

I'm going for all the other courses in this specialization. Really enjoyed this.

автор: James M B

Sep 21, 2016

This is a great opportunity to learn some excellent skills in a language that is powerful yet easy enough to learn the basics. I enjoyed every moment of this class. I learned a lot about python and Charles Severance (Dr. Chuck) provides an excellent learning experience why presenting the material in a concise, structured and fun manner. I'm pursuing all 5 (even the capstone course) courses to earn the specialization in an up and coming language I feel we will see more apps being developed in the Python Language. Thanks Doctor Chuck and the University of Michigan!

автор: Rocio d C

Jan 29, 2016

An excellent course, very clear with the precise information that help me to understand the issue and learn beyond, thanks to the course material.

Chuck, the teacher, is an excellent transmitter of knowledge

I highly recommend it.

Rocio

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Un curso excelente, muy claro y con el material preciso para entender el tema y aprender más de la cuenta.

Chuck, el profesor es excelente transmisor del conocimiento

Lo recomiendo ampliamente.

Rocio

автор: Aitor J G

Jun 12, 2018

It's an awesome introductory course specially designed in a way that everybody can easily understand all the classes. I don't have a technological background and I'm pretty confident to say that the course can be easily undertaken in 1 week or two weeks if you have easy with absorbing new content and if you like it, so that you can move on to the next one and do other courses more advanced. Also this is easily a course that can be leveraged to other machine learning related courses in which python is the most common tool. With that said I wish you the best of luck !

автор: Deleted A

May 19, 2017

Dear Dr. Chuck! Thank you VERY MUCH for the most outstanding course I've had so far. Your sense of humor and your eagerness to teach are the most valuable things in this course. They transfer studying into a fun and interesting process.

This course is very good for the beginners with completely no knowledge about what programming is. I think that people who know one or more programming languages may wish to have more changeable tasks and learning.

Seven weeks for the course may seem too long but nobody restricts you from rushing forward.

See you in the next course!

автор: Jaffer G

Oct 23, 2016

This was an excellent beginner level course for Python. Though I had prior coding/programming experience with MATLAB, I learnt new and interesting things from the perspective of a computer science course. I also have to say this was the first course that I successfully completed on Coursera which is a reflection of the interesting course material and the enthusiasm shown by Dr. Charles Severance in his videos. I particularly enjoyed the last assignment. I will definitely try to complete the specialization from here. Thank you Coursera, UMichigan and Dr. Severance!