Chevron Left
Вернуться к Seeing Through Photographs

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Seeing Through Photographs от партнера Музей современного искусства

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 3,989
Рецензии: 1,056

О курсе

Taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us. Given our near-constant engagement with images this course will help you dig into the meaning of pictures and reconsider photography’s role in our visual culture. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at 100 photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art, going behind the scenes of the Museum and into artist studios through original films and audio interviews. You will hear a variety of perspectives on the ways photography has been used throughout its 180-year history: as a means of artistic expression, a tool for science and exploration, an instrument of documentation, a way to tell stories and record histories, and a mode of communication and critique. Short texts and readings from MoMA publications provide enhanced context for the works in the course. By enrolling in this course, you’ll join a community of international learners in discussion forums, receive invitations to live and virtual events from our lead instructor Sarah Meister, and gain exclusive access to MoMA resources. UPDATE: We’ve been listening to your feedback! In September 2020, we launched new content in Seeing Through Photographs, including audio interviews with additional contemporary artists from around the world, videos of Sarah introducing key ideas, and almost doubling the number of photographs from the collection. We’ve also added opportunities for you to share and receive feedback on your photographs in the discussion forums....

Лучшие рецензии

AQ
8 мар. 2016 г.

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

AD
25 дек. 2019 г.

This is a really great way to get a beginners academic insight into photography, really interesting video and written content. I learned a lot and enjoyed studying again, thank you MoMA and Coursera!

Фильтр по:

151–175 из 1,049 отзывов о курсе Seeing Through Photographs

автор: Julie H

19 авг. 2018 г.

I absolutely loved this course and have learnt so much from it. The resources, both videos and readings, were first class and very informative. It was challenging and really made me think more critically and deeply about photographs. Thank you MoMA for another great course.

автор: Luca R

27 мар. 2016 г.

Deep and well structured material, with a high level of interaction and diverse media (videos, extracts from books, links to websites). The final assignment is also very well thought, interactive and instructive. The community section is interesting and good for discussion.

автор: Donata L

22 апр. 2020 г.

I found the course very interesting and captivating, I discovered new modalities to look at photos and to understand them. I've learned new ways to be a photographer, looking at the process and above all looking at the society and at the meaning you want your work has.

автор: Ray W

16 мая 2020 г.

Useful techniques explained to understand what photographs are really showing, not just what you see on the surface. Plenty of good materials and additional materials if you're interested, I enjoyed this short course and recommend it to anybody interested in photography.

автор: Julie F

16 мая 2020 г.

It is always a joy to learn more about photography! I loved looking at the work of talented photographers who have made such contribution to this discipline. The course was super well structured, tailored and run. I could not fault it and would recommend it to anyone.

автор: Erika A A R

11 мая 2020 г.

I had a fun time perusing through the extensive reading material provided in the course. The videos and quizzes were a lot of help as well. I really appreciate that this course provided equal amounts of opportunity for fun, critical thinking, and contextual learning.

автор: Luz M L

24 апр. 2019 г.

Great video quality and storytelling which makes the whole course very engaging. It broadens my perspective about Photography through the lens of very unique photographers. I'm deeply thankful to live in this era and have the chance to access to this kind of content.

автор: Aleksandra K

3 мая 2017 г.

Thank you very much. The course was saturated and I enjoyed the process of studying a lot. I like the sequence of materials, and interview with the photographers. Special thanks for the books, they are really awesome! Wish you all the best. Sincerely yours Alexandra.

автор: Lisa I M

19 июля 2020 г.

There is a lot of material to review; however, well worth the time and effort.

This is one of those life-changing opportunities to see how the world reflects back to you and your response to it.

Will be drawing on the wisdom contained in these 6 weeks for some time.

автор: Joergen E A

28 апр. 2020 г.

I like "Seeing through Photographs". It gave me a lot of new inputs to topics and I liked the way we were learning about the old masters and there work. It was well organized between articles and videos with a very good explanation and overview of the photographers.

автор: Margarita I N

2 мар. 2020 г.

It's been a wonderful course. I've learned a lot and enjoyed it.

I'm a retired woman but I'm very eager to learn. I am not fluent in English but with a little effort and help from the translator I have managed to reach the end.

Thank you very much to the whole team.

автор: Roberto G

24 июля 2018 г.

I loved this course immensely. I learned to challenge the way I view photography and how to see "things in things". I will take the lessons I've learned here and use them to shape my photography work from here on out. Thank you MoMA for making this course available.

автор: Nathalie F

18 июня 2016 г.

Get a precious history culture with many reference about main photographers and evolution of technics , its limits and possibilities .

Learn to read and give sense of way to photograph the world . Critical view of world too .

Initiation of contemporary photography .

автор: Raquel O d

26 июня 2017 г.

I definitely loved this course! I`ve learned so many things about photography and was introduced to so great professionals. There are also so many ideas and concepts to work out and to keep in mind. It was an enjoyable trip. The course exceeded my expectations.

автор: Sindhu R

25 апр. 2016 г.

This is by and far the most beautiful, well-laid out and organized Course I've ever taken. The case studies used are insightful, thought-provoking and a treat for your eye - especially the thought processes of the photographer who clicked that particular photo.

автор: Keshav V

20 июня 2020 г.

The course is very helpful to explore the different ways of photography, the way to see photographs, making perspectives, knowing the photographers intention and how one type or category of photographs can be clicked in different ways and many more.

Thank You.

автор: Daniele A

4 нояб. 2019 г.

"Seeing Through Photogaphs" opened my mind to new artistic prospetcives and ideas on photography. I am very grateful to have had the chance to attend this course. I reccomend it to any person who is interested in photography and is willing to gain new skills.

автор: Alejandra V

24 июля 2016 г.

Such a great oportunity to travel through the fantastic history of photography, you will see grat artists and great topics to enlarge you knowledge, Thank you so much Sara, annd the MOMA for giving me the oportunity to learn and enjoy much mor the photo world

автор: Sofie D

11 сент. 2021 г.

Excellent course, I got so much out of it. Each lesson is achievable and well planned, lots of interesting examples, many I had not heard of before. A great course that I highly recommend for artists to expand their horizon and freshen up things a little.

автор: José M M C

25 июня 2017 г.

The course is excellent: very well structured, videos and slides very good, the opinions of fellow students are very interesting ...It is a course that makes you think. Very highly recommended. My sincere congratulations to the organizers of the course.

автор: Maria S

2 мая 2017 г.

I was excited to attend this course, every module introduces new degree of understanding what the photography is and how it circulates, how it affects our life and vice versa how our requirements, social issues, technical progress etc. affect photography.

автор: Nadezhda P

10 мая 2016 г.

Very interesting and useful course. With very well structured materials. Unordinary way to estimate the work of every student. The course assignments challenge the students to profound analysis and looking for original ideas. Warmly recommend this course.

автор: Laura L

4 февр. 2017 г.

This course is fantástic, the approach, the authors and their creations are very interesting. For me, the best important has been the reflexions, about how make the photography, the how, why and in order to that. One experience, that I recommend totally.

автор: sadegh s

14 июня 2020 г.

Seeing through Photography is a great course for me and I have gained a lot of new information about photography, history of photography, and its importance for the world. I admit "seeing through photography" was the first course that I could finish it.

автор: Joanna B

25 мая 2020 г.

I absolutely loved this course! In six weeks, I was able to learn a lot about one of my favourite art forms. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that MoMA will have another Photography-based course like "Seeing Through Photographs" in the future. Thank you!