Chevron Left
Вернуться к Seeing Through Photographs

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Seeing Through Photographs от партнера Музей современного искусства

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 3,281
Рецензии: 889

О курсе

Although taking, sharing, and viewing photographs has become second nature for many of us, our regular engagement with images does not necessarily make us visually literate. This course aims to address the gap between seeing and truly understanding photographs by introducing a diversity of ideas, approaches, and technologies that inform their making. In this course you will look closely at photographs from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art and hear a variety of perspectives on what a photograph is and the ways that photography has been used throughout its nearly 180 year history: as a means of artistic expression, as a tool for science and exploration; as an instrument of documentation; to tell stories and record histories; and as a mode of communication and critique in our ever increasingly visual culture. Learning Objectives • Develop skills to better examine and understand the differences between photographs and photographic images. • Discover how context influences the production, circulation, and reception of photographic images. • Learn about different modes of artistic and technological experimentation and innovation in photography. • Investigate photography’s role in our increasingly visual culture....

Лучшие рецензии

AQ

Mar 09, 2016

Seeing Through Photographs has given me a whole new way of looking at my own and other peoples' work. So many aspects, details and points of view, the world of photography now seems even more amazing.

EE

Jun 03, 2019

It was very insightful, and a good thing is they offered quizzes and other full content, which some other free courses do not, which really helps learning. Hope to go for other courses under them. :)

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 876 отзывов о курсе Seeing Through Photographs

автор: Mikhail E

Aug 20, 2018

It is a course about history of American photography. I really like the course structure and its content. Videos have subtitles in different languages. However, the biggest part of the course consists of multiple hard-to-read art criticism essays written in English, so international attendees could spend more time on this course than expected.

автор: Jessica B

May 15, 2020

I’m very happy to have taken this course in photography because it enriched my personal skills and knowledge. It is well structured, every week there is a different topic to talk about, with video lessons that explain in a detailed way the topic of that specific week. I suggest everyone to take this course because it is really fascinating.

автор: Rita H

Feb 10, 2018

For a commercial not so young photographer, this course was so interesting, refreshing and the lectures provided me a wonderful structure. The content was just perfect to understand in a short time the most important perspectives, (historical and contemporary) about photography. Thanks MOMA what would photographers would be without you!.

автор: Dafne B C

Jun 08, 2020

I really loved this course because I learned to analyze and critic some of the work we discuss each week. I truly believe in self-learning and through these weeks I appreciate the way I can acknowledge things and topics about photography and I also learned the big work of making an online course with professional teachers and examples.

автор: Maria I P

Sep 17, 2017

This is a seriously interesting course. It includes a wide range of perspectives and practices in photography with a manageable coursework, and at the same time gives a wealth of information to anyone interested to get to know more about a given module or artist. If MoMA decides to offer any other similar courses, please count me in!

автор: Matteo T

Apr 30, 2016

Great content and very useful material. Lessons are prepared in a very professional way. It probably misses some analysis of the preparation work the mentioned photographers did for their collections/books. It's more based on critics and MoMA history and connections with differents genres and movements within documentary photography.

автор: Olga M

Jun 20, 2020

The academic base is very well prepared and let me see the history facts and learned about photographers that made a huge impact into the industry. Changed my perspective view to the black and white and documentary photography by helping to discover the hidden sides and effects. Special thanks for the media content of the course!

автор: Nandita H

May 31, 2020

This course has helped me understand the complexities, or at least some of the complexities involved in documentation of events around us (the main area of my interest). It has deepened my understanding of the meaning of art (an old fashioned phrase!) and will help me (hopefully) make my writing more nuanced. Thank you.

автор: Monique W

Mar 20, 2017

This class was an excellent overview of photography. I also was able to learn about new photographers. I've taken a history of photography course before and other art courses where photography was reviewed so I was happy to see that the course still allowed me to learn something different. I highly recommend this course.

автор: Chronis P

Jun 01, 2020

This course gave me an excellent chance to study the history of photography through the works and lives of interesting photographers. I've learned a lot about 'reading' photographs and creating better and meaningfull photographs. These six weeks were fun, interesting and make me look my passion in a more artistic way

автор: Neil M

May 22, 2020

I really enjoyed this. It encompassed the history and art of photography and provided some succint and select examples of the artform. I emerge from it with a deeper appreciation, not so much from a technical perspective but a better understanding of emotions that are generated and also what is possible. Thank you.

автор: André C

Feb 12, 2017

Ce cours est très complet, les supports sont variés et intéressants sans être trop lourds. L'organisation est bien pensée, avec quelques heures par semaine il est possible de le suivre sans trop de problèmes. J'ai beaucoup appris sur les débuts de la photographie et également sur le travail de divers photographes.

автор: Rezky N

Jun 28, 2020

This class is good for anyone who has an interest in photography either as an audience or a photographer. You'll learn the history of photography through different eras and how it developed over time. It's not really about how to take a photograph but more about understanding messages in the realm of photography.

автор: Diogo F

Apr 25, 2020

It's an exceptional course. The content and topics covered are quite varied but they manage to establish an archival relationship between them. It is a tour with the curator Sarah through the MoMA archives that will hardly be repeated. For photographers or not photographers it is a course that I strongly advise.

автор: Savvas I

Mar 29, 2020

This course does not only provide insights into photography since the Daguerre era, but at the same time offers a drone-like introspection of human history, culture and civilization, during the same period. It is expertly presented following a multidimensional approach and it is worth every minute spent studying.

автор: Emilia

May 15, 2018

I've only done just 2 weeks of this course but I am totally falling in love with It.

I am not that photography master, it's just one random passion I have between many, but thanks to the pictures shown and the detailade but not hard to understand knowlege I am starting to be even more passionate about Photography.

автор: Alison E

Jul 01, 2020

This was a thorough and very well constructed course, I really enjoyed the variety of challenges, resources, range of photographers and approaches to seeing through photographs. I would recommend this to both those new to studying photography, and those like me, who have been studying photography for some while.

автор: Sabrina L B

May 15, 2020

It was such a great pleasure to follow this course. It was my first online Photography course I attended and I learned how to look at photographs in such a different way. Even if many photographs relate to the real world, it's incredible how each viewer has a different emotion of the same image.

Sabrina Biagini

автор: harald w

Jun 11, 2020

Thank you so much for everything - all the in-between information I received, especially the invitations for discussions, all the wonderful online readings (and the it was possible to copy out text for translation - as english is not my mother language, that was sometimes helpful

Great experience!

kinds Harald

автор: Jonathan H

May 04, 2020

A well structured course taking the pupil from the early days of photography through to the modern day, focusing on the many and varied subjects and methods used by the leaders in this medium. Both mandatory and optional reading materials mean you can do as little or as much as you want to complete the course.

автор: Maria X

Apr 03, 2020

Great course for reflections on photography and analysis of art. You will be provided with short interviews with artists and art professionals. You will discover photographers you didn't know and potential links among their photos. A really good option for anyone interested in photography, curating and art.

автор: Elizabeth C

Feb 06, 2017

I developed a deeper understanding of the role of photography from this course. From the first lesson I was hooked. It has ample examples of all different types of photography and how they have influence society. I found the interviews with the photographers to be enlightening. Highly recommend this course.

автор: Mridul K G

Feb 27, 2016

I learned a lot from the course on how to make develop your idea & sense as an Artist/ Humanitarian. I can see the world through a viewfinder for the love of light! This course is ever well structured. Guys , 'Seeing Through Photographs' is great photographic course for Activist/Visual Art lover.

Thank You.

автор: William E

May 31, 2020

As a gallery owner (GALLERY5X7) and photographer with interest in what is termed "alternative process photography," I appreciated the course starting with a view to historic photographic process and ending with questions on the ocean of images we are inundated with from social media, etc. Great course!

автор: Vidmantas V

Jun 11, 2020

It was enjoyable journey through the history of photography, technical means, methods, understanding, some prominent names and less known ones. I like the structure of the course, short videos, quizzes and materials provided. Definitely there is much more of reading than minutes shows and it is good.