Chevron Left
Вернуться к Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences от партнера Эдинбургский университет

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 1,207
Рецензии: 273

О курсе

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

Лучшие рецензии

CG
10 февр. 2020 г.

this course was very broad and incredibly interesting. I highly recommend it as introduction to the philosophy of science, but I have to warn you: Once you have started, your journey won't stop here!

AS
24 июня 2020 г.

this is the great course for the people who are pursuing their carer in philosophy, philosophy of mind to be more precise and also for the people who are thinking of doing psychology later anytime.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 272 отзывов о курсе Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences

автор: Kevin S

30 авг. 2020 г.

Highly interesting course. As a cognitive psychologist I've been in touch with these concepts before, but this course brings an interdisciplinary levels that I had not experienced and it was very refreshing.

автор: Chagari A P R

30 янв. 2020 г.

Mind blowing. Great amalgam of Philosophy and Cosmology and Biology. The great picture for unifying understanding. Excellent package and presentation by Edinburgh University. Proud to have been exposed.

автор: Maria B

23 окт. 2021 г.

Excelente!, aun con lo limitado de mi Ingles, puede lograr completar el curso, y comprender mucho del tema. Los facilitadores son profesionales que poseen una buena didáctica para explicar los temas.

автор: JOSÉ D A

10 мар. 2021 г.

Very good class. It's a quick review of a lot of issues that are relevant to the cognitive sciences. You also have the option to learn some additional information by looking at the optional material.

автор: Manuel O A

17 окт. 2017 г.

The professors in this course reveal very clear and fast the recent advances in evolutionary psychology and the consequences in the approach to related sciences, and the way we perceive the world.

автор: Amitabh M

4 нояб. 2020 г.

A very nice introduction to a person like me who had no idea about the subject. Had definitely triggered an interest to explore more on this topic and get deeper understanding of the subject.

автор: Maniyamgamage D C P

10 июня 2021 г.

The most interesting online course I have ever done in near past. It's help to develop my thinking ability also. Recommend to all who like to start course that important to spiritual life.

автор: Mateus F

26 нояб. 2020 г.

Very interesting approach! They not only presented the arguments in a quite fluid way, but also, rather brilliantly, proposed different perspectives about the issues covered in the course.

автор: Guy I

9 сент. 2021 г.

i liked this course, very informative.

great staff, i took it after completing the course "Philosophy and the Sciences: introduction to the Philosophy of astrophysics.

thank u very much

автор: MH M

6 февр. 2021 г.

This course is really fascinating, and really opens up a lot questions and has the right amount of information needed for a beginner. The reading and links are also very much useful.

автор: Luis B

10 июня 2020 г.

so far one of the most interesting courses I've ever taken. A valuable contribution for students who want to understand a little more about the brain and the world around them.

автор: Simone P

30 мар. 2020 г.

An interesting and complete course, which opened a gash on a frontier of epistemological research that had always fascinated me and that now I am even more stimulated to deepen

автор: Aaradhya S

12 июля 2020 г.

brilliant and informative course on psychology and cognition . I highly recommend this to those who like to ask questions and are courageous enough to find their answers .

автор: Gabriel M

10 мая 2021 г.

Foi um curso muito interessante que fez eu interpretar a mente de uma forma que eu não esperava, dessa forma vejo a mente agora como algo ecológico e não cognitivista!

автор: PATRICIA A A C

18 окт. 2020 г.

Interesting and well designed course with great instructors! Recommended for us who just start studying about this subject. Thanks a lot for this useful course.

автор: Mosur V N

6 февр. 2019 г.

Fantastic teachers, very informative and useful. Highly recommended to those who are interested in pursuing cognitive sciences and learning about consciousness

автор: Naz Y

1 сент. 2017 г.

A perfect introduction course ! Lecturers, subjects, and slides are intriguing; the sources and further readings at the end of each week are amazing and rich.

автор: Biani P S L

2 авг. 2017 г.

It is a simple and clear introduction to the current topics of philosophy of the cognitive sciences. Videos and additional readings are very interesting!

автор: Eric R P

13 июня 2018 г.

Los temas son fundamentales para iniciarse en el estudio de la cognición, a parte de los videos, las lecturas complementarias me parecieron excelentes.

автор: Karanveer S

2 июня 2017 г.

An amazing course where you get introduced to concepts like cognitive science, philosophy of mind, consciousness, etc. Simple and crisp content matter.

автор: Himanshu D

17 авг. 2020 г.

A very helpful course that is easy to understand. Lecture Slides could have been better, especially the week 2 ones, but they were sufficient anyways.

автор: Ilias P

14 авг. 2017 г.

A course for anyone interested in gaining a theoretical background about cognition,the brain and their links to artificial intelligence and robotics!

автор: Christos G

7 июня 2020 г.

Extremely interesting approach of cognition. I have been astonished! The structure of the course should be used an example for all online courses...

автор: Martin B

27 мая 2020 г.

Embodied cognition is a new concept to me and very interesting. But it doesn't address the hard question of consciousness or the mind/body problem.

автор: Claudia Y A P

18 мар. 2021 г.

A wonderful experience in the world of cognitive science. So clear, with a concret structure and and excellent teachers with high academic quality.