Chevron Left
Вернуться к In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Отзывы учащихся о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting от партнера Музей современного искусства

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 1,058
Рецензии: 474

О курсе

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Лучшие рецензии

DB

Jul 26, 2020

Beyond my expectations! Encouraged by in studio where I discovered I could be successful experimenting with all the different artists. The knowledge, insight, and fascinating experience was joyous!

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 466 отзывов о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

автор: Marjorie B

Jan 11, 2019

This course provided an excellent overview of the selected artists, unique explanations of the artwork by museum professionals, and great studio assignments to paint along with. I had so much fun learning and painting! If you are looking for increased art appreciation or some inspiration in the studio, I would highly recommend this course!

автор: Nora A

Feb 27, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course. I was only familiar with one artist, Jackson Pollack. came to admire all the artists, as they faced various "life" challenges, and put their energy, pain, and souls into their paintings They overcame so mucThe course was very informative and helped me learn about various painting techniques,

автор: Nora R

Jul 02, 2020

Excellent course any way you see it. I learnt a lot fantastically motivated by instructor Corey DAugustine and the course contents. High-quality information. I also enjoyed In the Studio painting exercise very much, had a lot of fun trying to paint like the artists seen. Thank you so much to MoMA for making this course possible

автор: Helen C

Aug 06, 2019

A wonderful course. Corey D’Augustine is a captivating teacher whether hands-on in the studio or discussing artworks in the gallery. I learned so much, not just about art but about the artists and social history of the time that shaped their self-expression. It also illuminated my own motivation for making art. Highly recommend.

автор: Anita g

Aug 21, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course , as I came know the process , techniques , and concept building of great masters. Corey is a wonderful instructor , going into every small detail ,Ihad watched his videos on you tube before the course also ,. I learnt a lot , the course is very well planned , and gives a lot of flexibility too.

автор: Steven R

Jul 24, 2020

Corey D Augustine an excellent teacher especially considering my minimal layperson knxwledge. Made it very interesting by talking about the Different Strokes each artist takes and why they do it as well as the different mixes of paint and the reasons for it. Could go on and on.

Definitely will be taking more courses from MoMA

автор: Alberto A

Jun 08, 2020

Thank you!

I would like to know about this course some years ago, because it was really what I needed.

Excellent explanations about technics of painting. Seven different artists!

Excellent videos of curators.

Good documents to read.

Unhappy the platform online is not quite friendly sometimes failing or giving wrong messages.

автор: Márcia V d M

Jun 20, 2017

The course was so pleasant and so instructive!! I want to thank you all for turning this course into a wonderful experience! And I hope to meet again the instructor Corey D’Augustine, who had turned the classes very simple, very easy to understand! Please, give us another course about other movements and its artists!!!

автор: Sanchari D

Sep 07, 2020

This course is a fantastic foundation towards understanding the process and the philosophy of Abstract Expressionism in depth in only 8 weeks. Precisely structured, so that students won't feel overwhelmed with all the informations and articles. Course instructor Core D'Augustine is just amazing , I'm a big fan of him.

автор: Zeta

Apr 07, 2020

The course is incredibly interesting. The length is just about right. It is very informative in terms of the artists' techniques, materials and objectives. I truly enjoyed it and I highly recommend it. One shall look at a painting with brand new eyes after attending this course. Thank you all for making this possible.

автор: J. K

Jun 18, 2019

This was a fantastic course. It's my first painting course and it made me fall in love with painting. And what a great way to learn about art! I won't forget any of these artists now that I have labored over canvases trying to emulate their techniques. My only suggestion is to add Norman Lewis to the mix of artists.

автор: Alison C

Feb 22, 2018

I really enjoyed this course! It was engaging; the assignments were challenging enough to need some work and stimulate thinking, but not so hard to be a deterrent to completion. The mix of theory and practical work was perfect too. I found myself looking forward to each module more and more as the course progressed.

автор: Valentina K

Apr 24, 2020

The course was fantastic! I want all my future courses to be like this one! Corey D'Augustine is a superb instructor, smoothly explains all topics. The course exceeded my expectations - I've never had so much fun learning something. A perfect mixture of practical advice and art history. I learned a lot! Thank you!

автор: Kathleen C

Jun 13, 2020

I really enjoyed the video's by Corey showing the artist's materials and painting techniques as well as the selected reading material from Moma's archives. This is the first course I have taken for art online. I found the subject matter well presented and the interaction online totally accessible and informative.

автор: Marina L

Jul 15, 2018

There is the best course , I have ever had here , on Coursera.Curator is extremely professional . It was a brilliant idea to show us how these artists worked. No doubt that they owned the artistry of painting than artist of Renaissance or impressionists . In additional there are a lot of comments by MOMMA experts

автор: Madeline W

Nov 12, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, in particular the studio sessions showing the methods used by the featured artists. The videos prompted me to paint again, something that I have not done for some considerable time. I now need to plan a holiday in New York and a visit to MOMA to see the art for myself. Thank you

автор: Jennifer A

Jun 15, 2020

This particular course has given me more appreciation for this group of artists and has put their work in context in a way I don't think I could have done for myself just by reading about them. The studio portions of the course were very demystifying of the ways these artists used media to create their work.

автор: Sharalee L

Jun 05, 2020

I really enjoyed this course and would recommend it to anyone. I have learned a great deal about a school of art which I love. I like that you can look up close at the art and really see how it is done. Thank you. I will try to take another one soon. I would love to see a course on the women in the movement.

автор: Leigh R H

Apr 18, 2019

Excellent course, very well taught. The instructor, Corey D’Augustine, was very low-key but inspiring. Really liked his teaching style and learned so much. He also has an exceptional voice that is easy to listen to through eight weeks of instruction. Hope that he will be teaching something else again soon.

автор: Joan C

Feb 11, 2018

Wish there were more than 5 stars! This was a fabulous program offered by MoMA. I would highly recommend it to any artist interested in Abstraction. It would be wonderful to add even more artists to learn about. Franz Kline, Joan Mitchell and Helen Frankenthaler would be my choices to add, yes please!

автор: Marcela

Sep 25, 2018

Excellent course, I was enthusiastic about painting and working with the styles of painters representative of abstract art, it was interesting to delve into their lives and their works, and interpret their paintings. I hope soon a next course where other styles and painters will be addressed. Thank you!!

автор: Charles D

Aug 23, 2020

The content of the course is varied and most interesting. I enjoyed myself iabout the life and working methods of the artists in the course. The tutor Corey D'Agostino was very informative, patient and passionate about teaching, as were the other speakers. Thank you very much for a wonderful experience.

автор: Merissa W

Nov 15, 2017

This was my first Coursea course and I absolutely loved it. I wish I had a little more time to participate in the studio activities, but I really enjoyed just watching the tutorials and learning the different artist techniques. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone interested in modern art.

автор: Jillian D

Jul 12, 2017

A great course- a wonderful look at some of the great Abstract Expressionists of 1950's, and a more in depth look at how they actually painted than you'll get in most art history courses. The course load is also by no means overwhelming, but provides plenty of additional materials for further learning.

автор: Rachel F

May 07, 2020

Well structured, great videos, can do the practical art activities or skip those and just enjoy the art history. Quizzes and assignment helped to gather together my learning. I would highly recommend this course and now I am planning my next trip to NYC to see all the painting in situ. Well done MoMA.