Chevron Left
Вернуться к In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Отзывы учащихся о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting от партнера Музей современного искусства

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 1,082
Рецензии: 484

О курсе

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Лучшие рецензии

DB
25 июля 2020 г.

Beyond my expectations! Encouraged by in studio where I discovered I could be successful experimenting with all the different artists. The knowledge, insight, and fascinating experience was joyous!

CG
24 февр. 2019 г.

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 476 отзывов о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

автор: simon b

26 сент. 2020 г.

Corey is a very knowledgeable leader of this course, transitioning easily from introducing an artist's body of work, to the theory, on to the practical and then a review of some of their major works. His effortless style was infectious and made me want the course to not end! The encouragement he gave was excellent and it inspired me to submit 6 of the 8 challenge paintings, which actually helped me in my studio practice too as it forced me to spend more time in the studio, and I managed to complete some 12 other works of art over the same period.

I also learned the context between the artists at this period in time and there were so many additional resources for me to follow up on (which I have).

This is a thoroughly enjoyable and entertain course as well as being educational. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants insight to these artists. Even if you don't know or like some of them, at the end of the course you will understand and appreciate all of them.

автор: Jan M

13 июня 2017 г.

I have always loved the NY abstract expressionists therefore this course gave me the opportunity to learn and appreciate these painters in so much more detail. Also, learning how these artists painted and practicing their techniques has helped me build a much stronger connection to this vital transitional art movement, as well as the artists intentions and concepts. Each artist of study was unique. I really enjoyed our presenter and teacher Cory. He explained everything really well with such conviction. I also enjoyed how the course was set up with information from different sources, recommendations and then the chance to comment and discuss with other course members. As soon as I know I was at the end of the cause, I found myself looking for another one. This is my first online course and I am very happy and inspired to do another one on painters that includes studio practice.

автор: Deleted A

4 июня 2020 г.

I took this course during the Covid-19 pandemic as a way to keep stimulated in my artist journey. I now have a greater appreciation and understanding of the fine artist's covered in the course. How to look at a painting with more meaning and, as to how it was created. The best part I have to say, is watching Corey's tutorials as he painted in the style of the artist's process. Being a tactile leaner, this was much more engaging.

Corey D'Augstine makes this course interesting and his narrations are stimulating. Great job!

I have leaned & grown with my own painting process as a result of taking the course. It challenged me to try new creative ideas, such as working with oils. As a result, I am now attempting to pursue oil paint going forward.

Thank you MoMA for offering this course during such a crisis. Art is an essential way that touches everyone.

Susan H.

автор: Christina B

9 июля 2020 г.

I have studied Modern Art many years ago with Open University in the UK and it changed my life in respect of appreciating modern art. This was the perfect course to introduce me to more American Postwar artists. The course was brilliantly presented, THANK YOU Corey A for a splendid and interesting course. I am now keen to get to NYC and planning a trip for 2021 to follow up on the artists I have discovered including Wyeth, not covered, but would have never 'met' him without Coursera. I do not paint but I make collage our of fabrics so the use of colour, perspective, depth, layering have influenced in how I approach my work.

The peer reviews were a little daunting and also 'clunky' to use. I plan to continue with some further courses and hope to see some of you in NYC at the various galleries looking at these amazing artists' work close up.

автор: M. H

12 июля 2020 г.

What an absolute delight it was to be enrolled in this course. Not only did it provide a great release and distraction during the COVID-19 pandemic, but it provided such a fun and interactive way to really learn about some of the great abstract expressionist artists from the NY school of painting. The class was equally balanced between a hands-on experience of painting in each respective artists' style, and with videos and articles to familiarize us with each artist. I would highly recommend this course for any budding artist or "soccer mom" or student who has the desire and time to roll up their sleeves and learn and play with some of the great abstract artists of our time. The course does require a fair bit of time each week if you want to do it right, so plan accordingly! Enjoy!

автор: Lee C

22 июня 2020 г.

I really enjoyed this course and learnt a great deal from it. This was partly because of the way in which it's structured to offer in-depth insight into the works and techniques of individual artists every week. The content is also insightful, engaging and informative, and I found the mix of written, pictorial and video material - supplemented with compulsory and additional reading - enabled me to engage with the subject fully, which is rare in online courses. Corey's insights and, in particular, his technical demonstrations, were the highlight for me. I learnt so much about painting and paint techniques from this course - more than I'd previously learnt in art classes. I'd do another course like it in a heartbeat.

автор: Carla B

9 июля 2017 г.

I learned so much in this art appreciation and experimentation course. Many thanks to Corey D'Augustine who's straight-forward, easy-going style of teaching helped us not be afraid of trying products never used before, in my case oil paints and all the mediums that go with them, and trying methods of famous Abstract Expressionist artists. Many thanks to MoMA for providing this course through Coursera.org and to sponsors like Volkswagen who help make such enlightenment possible. I looked forward to learning through video, reading, my own research and in the studio exercises. I am off to look for similar In the Studio offerings on MoMA's website and considering what I will sign up for next on Coursera. Thank you!

автор: Noriko F

24 июня 2020 г.

Owing to Mr. Corey D'Augustine's lectures, I learned a lot about noted artists in Postwar Abstract Painting including Willem de Kooning and Mark Rothko. He taught me not only their famous paintings but also their techniques and materials they used. Especially he actually demonstrated each artist's painting process, which helped me to know how those artists worked on their paintings and what they wanted to create through their works. I think next time I visit a museum and see a work by one of those artists or of other Abstract Painting artists, I could appreciated it from more wide-ranging points of view. Thank you Mr. Corey D'Augustine and MOMA for giving me a chance to take this course.

автор: Ingrid W

10 мая 2017 г.

This is an amazing course! I learnt a lot on the technical aspects of many artists I already knew about, discovered early artworks I had not seen before and also got to spend more time on artists like Ad Reinhardt I knew little about. I have always been interested in art history but I never dared touch a brush to try to put myself in the artists seat. This course gently encouraged me to do so thanks to Corey's wonderful videos and I am amazed at what I produced, the fun I had and the additional dimension it provided to my observant eye. Thank you MOMA for such an amazing set of materials and for fuelling the passion for art in more ways than can be imagined.

автор: SueC

30 мая 2017 г.

I will admit that I am not a fan of abstract painting and that was one of the reasons I enrolled upon this course. I wanted to try and look again, and to attempt to see what others saw who were more enthusiastic about abstract expressionism.

The course covered not only the history of the movement but also the studio techniques of the various artists were demonstrated and you could `paint along' too. The visual analysis techniques were invaluable. While I am still not a total convert I do now take the time to look and think when I see the work of these artists. Thank you for providing an interesting and thought provoking course. More like this please!

автор: S. M

24 янв. 2018 г.

I'm a Coursera student for two years ago. In this time I became a professionale painter. To be honest, I thought that he could not teach me much that I did not know, but I love abstract expressionism and I paint in abstract material and so I decided to follow him. It was a wonderful discovery. The teacher and artist is a beautiful person, with a subtle and pleasant sense of humor, a high level of preparation and a person who knows how to teach. It was one of the most beautiful courses I've ever done, the artists are among my favorites and discovering them so closely has been moving. I recommend it to anyone who loves art. Really beautiful.

автор: belinda h

19 июня 2017 г.

Thank you so much for offering this class! This is an excellent organized in depth course. Corey D'Augustine provides wonderful educational videos that offered insight into these artist's works, their techniques and the materials that they used - I loved it! Part of being a great teacher is engaging your students -- I was excited to do the assignments and to see what lesson was next! Finishing the course has brought a greater appreciation for the artist's works while also prompting me to apply their techniques to my own painting. I will be looking to more courses from Mr.D'Augustine!

автор: Gary P H

1 апр. 2019 г.

Super course. Really good. If you're out to learn something about Abstract Expressionism, or just have a general interest in painting, this course is for you. I particularly enjoyed the optional practicum element, and you should definitely try the exercises that are a fun way for a beginner to get familiar with oil paints and some interesting techniques. I started this course out of curiosity and became hooked; I intend to follow up with more reading and painting. A five-start effort by the whole MoMA team, I highly recommend In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting.

автор: ILCHENKO N V (

2 июня 2020 г.

Noteworthy course! Excellent presentation of information, consistency. The video tutorials with the excellent teacher and lecturer Corey D'Augustine were the most fruitful and effective for me for further training. Video materials about artists, links, homework, artist interviews are valuable material. This course opens the door to new professional activities. Gives skills in painting, drawing technique, history. I shine on everyone! I was pleased and impressed!

Thanks to the MoMA Museum, all the creators of this course, and its sponsors!

автор: Gary E

3 февр. 2020 г.

I was very impressed with the online course provided by MoMA. I had already watched a number of the videos on Youtube but found the additional videos and reading material both interesting and helpful. I struggled with the De Kooning exercise but will not give up. I learned new techniques etc and that I feel more drawn to the work of Newman, Rothko and Martin more than some of the other ‘action’ painters. It has sstimulated in me a desire to learn more and continue developing as an amateur artist who paints for the joy of it. Thank you MoMA.

автор: silvia r

22 нояб. 2017 г.

I love this course. I was very excited to attend a course by Mo.Ma of New York and to have it on-line it's perfect for me cause I live in Italy. I learned a lot of interesting things that I've never known before. The teacher is really expert in painting. great to explain in the right way the painting techniques but also he's able to analysis in the details the artworks. I appreciated the resources, video and books given to better understand artists and abstract art. I'm waiting for the next one! Thanks Mo.Ma! Silvia

автор: Roberto B

17 мая 2017 г.

Very interesting course I appeciate it very much. My only suggestion is: maibe will be nice to go more deeply in the materials used by the artists (not the supposed one) , with link to papers, scientific investigation, conservation treatment report and other useful information about on what is the actual knowledge on the painting materials and tecnique used by the painters of newyork school. That can be useful for people involved in conservation study, or for others involved in museums jobs.

автор: Jane C

17 авг. 2018 г.

This is a fabulous course, made even stronger by Corey's painting technique videos - a novel addition to an art history class! I'm just taking this class for fun but I've learned more in 8 weeks than in courses taken at university. The content, structure, and pacing of this class is marvelous. I look forward to seeing what else Mr. d'Augustine has to offer in the future. If nothing else, this class has made me want to spend a week at MoMa. Can't rate this class highly enough!

автор: katrina s

22 июня 2017 г.

I am fond of the New York School poets so I really enjoyed learning about these postwar New York artists who were working at the same time. Many were active when I was living in NYC as a child. I loved getting an idea of how they worked and how the work changed throughout their lives. I did not do the studio part of the course which I am sure would have been great but I loved the videos, readings and links to the MOMA collections. Thank you so much for this course.

автор: Lisa G

30 мая 2020 г.

This was a great course to take to learn more in depth about the painting methods and art theory of Post WW 2 painting. Cory D'Augustine's demonstrations were interesting to watch. I liked the combination of video content presentations and supplemental reading materials. The quizzes were challenging and the final essay with peer review added a nice format for connecting with others taking the course. This was a well designed course and I would recommend it.

автор: Ma. K C D C

20 нояб. 2017 г.

Definitely my favorite course taken on coursera so far. It gives the learner a new perspective in appreciating abstract expressionist paintngs. It also tackles in depth the processes of the artists discussed in the course. The opportunity to make your own version of the works that were discussed gives the learners a new appreciation of the famous pieces. I am hoping to see more courses by MoMA similar to this one. WIll definitely enroll in more of these.

автор: KACIE L

17 окт. 2019 г.

I learned a lot from this course and I found it to be very interesting. I learned a lot by studying these artists and their different styles, techniques and the tools they would use. The studio work was fun too, trying to recreate the artists styles, it was different from the way I normally would create a painting. Corey is a great instructor and very knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend this course if you are interested in art and art history.

автор: Lynn M

3 сент. 2020 г.

I absolutely loved this course. I was very impressed with Cory's knowledge and expertise, and the combination of a 'deep dive' into a different abstract expressionist artist each week and the opportunity to learn and complete an exercise in their style/medium, was really gratifying. My knowledge of the artists, the period, and their process expanded substantially; and, it has made me a better artist by pushing the boundaries I had subconsciously set.

автор: Danielle D

11 июня 2020 г.

I have really loved this course because the one area of art I have had the most difficult time learning and wrapping my head around was abstraction! This really went into great detail about the art, the artists and the process that they used to create their works. As an artist, I want to be constantly learning and researching artists and methods so that I can broaden my own horizons. These courses will also work nicely with my Museum Studies too.

автор: kp k

12 сент. 2020 г.

i really enjoyed studying this class, the videos and presentations by Corey and the curators made the lessons come alive. The career in 8 works for each of the artists made it easy to understand their work and follow how their attitudes changed over the years. The provided reading documents were very informative again broadening my knowledge. Thank you to MOMA, Corey and coursera for providing this course. Look forward to learning more.