Chevron Left
Вернуться к In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Отзывы учащихся о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting от партнера Музей современного искусства

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 1,145
Рецензии: 510

О курсе

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Лучшие рецензии

DB
25 июля 2020 г.

Beyond my expectations! Encouraged by in studio where I discovered I could be successful experimenting with all the different artists. The knowledge, insight, and fascinating experience was joyous!

CG
24 февр. 2019 г.

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

Фильтр по:

226–250 из 502 отзывов о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

автор: Amanda E

24 мая 2017 г.

Amazing coure! Corey was an excellent professor and showed great examples in the videos. I learned a lot of new material! Would gladly recommend it.

автор: Nichola M

17 авг. 2020 г.

Excellent course. Very informative and comprehensive. The practical tasks are fun and really allow you to explore the work of the postwar artists.

автор: Subhadip B

21 сент. 2020 г.

I just loved this course. Such a details analysis of every aspect of the modern art and its technique.. learnt a lot and opened a new path for me

автор: Shane T

14 янв. 2018 г.

I am almost half way through this course and am enjoying it immensely. The videos are excellent and the lecturers are knowledgeable and engaging.

автор: Florence L

22 мар. 2020 г.

The course is very interesting with materials and videos of very high quality. I learnt a lot on those artists and I highly recommend this MOOC.

автор: Sinisa

15 мар. 2020 г.

Many thanks to teacher and Coursera, course open my mind and after course i buy oil colors and start to paint, realy thanks !

Best regards Sinisa

автор: IJE

8 авг. 2017 г.

enjoying this, well presented, easy to follow; love the practical insights re painting & how/why artists used the materials /techniques they did

автор: Jim G

22 июня 2020 г.

I loved this course. Corey D'Augustine was a great teacher and many of the artists that he showed us their techniques I knew very little about.

автор: Miranda M

9 июня 2020 г.

I LIKED THE COURSE SO MUCH!! AND LEARNED A LOT ABOUT THE GREAT PAINTERS. THANK YOU WHO MADE THIS POSSIBLE!!!!

HOPE TO VISIT MomA ONE DAY !!!!

автор: lei w

10 дек. 2017 г.

Best class I have ever taken. It is a rare opportunity for me who lives in China to be able to take a class from MOMA. I truly appreciate it.

автор: Pol M C

14 июня 2020 г.

This course was nothing short of inspiring. Corey's insightful demonstrations paired with the comprehensive resources were truly enjoyable!

автор: Leila B N

16 янв. 2018 г.

Amazing, I would love to continue to have the same Professor and course style about more contemporary artists. The best online course ever

автор: Barbara K

21 мая 2018 г.

Great experience, I learnt a lot about artists, techniques, composition and more. I already recommended this course several times! Barbara

автор: Megan E

28 авг. 2017 г.

loved this course. Even though they show how to do one painting of each artist's, I wish they did a couple from different periods. So good

автор: maria f l

24 июня 2017 г.

muy buen curso ... ayuda a adquirir conocimientos mas especificos sobre los artistas , como son los videos en estudios . me ayudaron mucho

автор: KIRSTEN M

4 нояб. 2017 г.

Excellent - one of the most interesting courses I have done. The practical demonstrations make this a very unique experience - thank you!

автор: Mary C

20 июня 2017 г.

A fantastic course that is greatly presented and instructed. A fantastic way to discover and learn the techniques used by the artists.

автор: Stanislaus G

3 апр. 2017 г.

I learned so much in this class-- about the artists we studied and about how they actually created their work. It was pretty amazing!

автор: Joan S P

19 февр. 2018 г.

I thoroughly enjoyed this class. Very informative. I loved in particular the videos demonstrating the techniques used by each artist.

автор: Brittany T

27 дек. 2017 г.

From both the art history side and the studio side, this is a simply amazing class! I learned so much and enjoyed every minute of it.

автор: Jacopo

1 мая 2019 г.

This course is well structured. Contents are accessible and insightful. Hopefully MoMA will do more similar ones or expand this one.

автор: James S

12 июня 2017 г.

Excellent course! Having the opportunity to paint like the artists adds so much insight and meaning to the experience. Thanks Corey!

автор: Danielle L D

18 июля 2020 г.

it was awesome taking this class waiting for certificate. I received the Certificate this morning I learned a lot from the class .

автор: Marion T

9 авг. 2017 г.

I loved this class, I learned a lot. Just read my essay, you will understand! thank you again, I will certainly take another class