Chevron Left
Вернуться к In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

Отзывы учащихся о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting от партнера Музей современного искусства

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 1,082
Рецензии: 484

О курсе

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

Лучшие рецензии

DB
25 июля 2020 г.

Beyond my expectations! Encouraged by in studio where I discovered I could be successful experimenting with all the different artists. The knowledge, insight, and fascinating experience was joyous!

CG
24 февр. 2019 г.

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

Фильтр по:

226–250 из 476 отзывов о курсе In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

автор: Barbara K

21 мая 2018 г.

Great experience, I learnt a lot about artists, techniques, composition and more. I already recommended this course several times! Barbara

автор: Megan E

28 авг. 2017 г.

loved this course. Even though they show how to do one painting of each artist's, I wish they did a couple from different periods. So good

автор: maria f l

24 июня 2017 г.

muy buen curso ... ayuda a adquirir conocimientos mas especificos sobre los artistas , como son los videos en estudios . me ayudaron mucho

автор: KIRSTEN M

4 нояб. 2017 г.

Excellent - one of the most interesting courses I have done. The practical demonstrations make this a very unique experience - thank you!

автор: Mary C

20 июня 2017 г.

A fantastic course that is greatly presented and instructed. A fantastic way to discover and learn the techniques used by the artists.

автор: Stanislaus G

3 апр. 2017 г.

I learned so much in this class-- about the artists we studied and about how they actually created their work. It was pretty amazing!

автор: Joan S P

19 февр. 2018 г.

I thoroughly enjoyed this class. Very informative. I loved in particular the videos demonstrating the techniques used by each artist.

автор: Brittany T

27 дек. 2017 г.

From both the art history side and the studio side, this is a simply amazing class! I learned so much and enjoyed every minute of it.

автор: Jacopo

1 мая 2019 г.

This course is well structured. Contents are accessible and insightful. Hopefully MoMA will do more similar ones or expand this one.

автор: James S

12 июня 2017 г.

Excellent course! Having the opportunity to paint like the artists adds so much insight and meaning to the experience. Thanks Corey!

автор: Danielle L D

18 июля 2020 г.

it was awesome taking this class waiting for certificate. I received the Certificate this morning I learned a lot from the class .

автор: Marion T

9 авг. 2017 г.

I loved this class, I learned a lot. Just read my essay, you will understand! thank you again, I will certainly take another class

автор: Lisa M H

22 мая 2017 г.

Enjoyable course. Postwar Abstraction is fascinating and this course does a great job presenting these artists in an exciting way.

автор: Paul

17 авг. 2020 г.

The studio art section was a lot of fun, I would advise you try to do a least some of the exercises and for sure watch the videos

автор: Raquel V

11 авг. 2019 г.

It is a thoughtful approach to post-war Abtract Expressionism, perfect balance between theory and practice. Thank you very much!

автор: Hal S

22 мая 2020 г.

Excellent course! I really enjoyed it and learned a lot. It was laid out well and always kept my interest. Highly recommended.

автор: Carla P

25 мая 2020 г.

molto interessante e stimolante ringrazio tutti gli insegnanti e il moma per aver reso possibile questo percorso

carla pistola

автор: Emilio M

20 дек. 2017 г.

This is a very interesting course! I made and painted my first canvas with acrilic, I'm very happy about all this experience.

автор: Alessandra G B

28 мая 2020 г.

Es un muy buen curso, que te ayuda a darte cuenta de la historia detrás de muchas pinturas así como las técnicas utilizadas.

автор: Manuel C V X

27 апр. 2020 г.

Excellent course, congratulations to all: members of staff and colleagues.

Hope to see you in another course from COURSERA.

автор: Alberto A E

18 мая 2017 г.

Wonderful Course. I have been recomending it to all may artist friends. It will certainly have an effect in my own practice.

автор: Hitomi K

1 апр. 2019 г.

This course was very meaningful to me. If you are interested in American modern art, I highly recommend taking this course.

автор: Enrico D C

6 июня 2020 г.

Very accurate and professional course, I learned a lot of things and loved and concept I never thought I would. Excellent!

автор: Emma M

28 июля 2020 г.

Amazing! I really really enjoyed it and learned a ton! I would definitely recommend this course to family and friends! :D

автор: Valerio V

29 апр. 2020 г.

Awesome course on Abstract Painting and Arts in General. I was able to learn much from our instructor Corey D'Augustine.