Chevron Left
Вернуться к The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2)

Отзывы учащихся о курсе The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2) от партнера Уэслианский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 309
Рецензии: 85

О курсе

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

Лучшие рецензии

CM
11 мар. 2016 г.

Sad to see it end. I loved this course. I thought Professor Roth was a great guide. As I've completed Part 2 I am tempted to go listen to the lectures all over again. This hooked me on MOOCs. 6 stars.

SC
24 окт. 2015 г.

The course is great . I am not a humanities student and english is not my first language , so I find writing essays difficult. I wish there were some easier tests along side the essays. Thank you.

Фильтр по:

76–85 из 85 отзывов о курсе The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2)

автор: Susannah R

1 февр. 2018 г.

After my experience on Part 1, I chose to only watch the lectures. I really enjoyed them. Prof Roth's delivery is excellent. The course gave me much food for thought, but I couldn't face writing the essays.

The reading timings should be set to more realistic values, to give us students a true idea of what we are committing to.

автор: Anjali R

17 окт. 2020 г.

The course itself was excellent, but there was no discussion of the topics in the forum, only requests for peers to review assignments, a process I ended up resorting to as well on a couple of occasions because of the significant delay in assignments being reviewed.

автор: David G

22 авг. 2020 г.

surprised by the focus on literature, art and architecture

teacher does good job of explaining concepts and reviewing-summarizing

автор: Emmanouil P

4 апр. 2017 г.

I quite appreciate the teaching of American philosophers, like Emerson or Rorty.

автор: İLKİN B

20 окт. 2015 г.

The instructer is not fluid, a "mentor" is devoid of critical thinking in communicating through the discussions section, the peers are reviewing haphazardly while "mentors" offer their own essays (from the past?) where they use material outside of the course readings which may sound plagiarizing after that long warning in each introductory section for writing assignements.

автор: Deleted A

1 мар. 2016 г.

Slow start to week 1 but 'The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 2) is a continuation to 'The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1) so best to understand (part 1). Looking forward to week 2.

автор: Sang Y D

25 мар. 2016 г.

I advice NOT to take this course.

Why: the professor is never there to read your assignments. He leaves that totally to other students like yourself, to grade your written assignments, and, they do not read and give you a RANDOM grade in 2 seconds.

Don't take it, you will waste sooo much time on this one.

автор: Richard B

12 сент. 2015 г.

Mr Roth is woefully unprepared for this course, his assessments of the several artists and thinkers he explores are deeply and distressingly flawed - and why would he repeat in a classroom, with unbecoming histrionics, the same lesson he's just delivered from his office

автор: Michael N R

13 июня 2016 г.

Not as advertized and way too much peer rating stuff--we do all the work the instructor does little or none--too much peer raqting stuff which I despise. And there seems to be no way to un-enroll.

автор: harleen d

6 июля 2020 г.

I found this course a little stretched and unstructured, with not a clear point of discussion and end goal.