Chevron Left
Вернуться к Современное искусство и идеи

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Современное искусство и идеи от партнера Музей современного искусства

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 5,582
Рецензии: 1,429

О курсе

Welcome to Modern Art & Ideas! This course is designed for anyone interested in learning more about modern and contemporary art. Over the next five weeks, you will look at art through a variety of themes: Places & Spaces, Art & Identity, Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art & Society. Each week kicks off with a video that connects works of art from The Museum of Modern Art’s collection to the theme. You will hear audio interviews with artists, designers, and curators and learn more about selected works in the additional readings and resources. Throughout this course you will discover how artists: -- represent place and take inspiration from their environment, -- create works of art to express, explore, and question identity, -- use everyday objects to challenge assumptions about what constitutes a work of art and how it should be made, -- and respond to the social, cultural, and political issues of their time through works of art. Through the discussion forum prompts and peer review assignment, you will also have the opportunity to connect with other learners and explore how these themes resonate with your own life and experience....

Лучшие рецензии

AM
14 янв. 2018 г.

It has been a very wonderful course. I love the museum as a cultural space and now I love it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

TT
7 июня 2020 г.

Really enjoyed this course! Well organized/developed, and even for a museum buff, like me, offered great ideas, and perspectives in ‘looking’ and ‘understanding’ art, and particular artist’s process.

Фильтр по:

1226–1250 из 1,417 отзывов о курсе Современное искусство и идеи

автор: Chloe F

3 февр. 2019 г.

The course provided a lot of great information and was flexible around my working hours/travel. Very nice format and useful links to further information beyond the required readings. It would be nicer to have more in depth and interactive discussion, as part of the course (beyond discussion posts). For example, software/functions that allow multiple people in the same week stage posting/brainstorming comments on the same artworks would be a great way to help people think about art and engage skills and knowledge learned from this course, as opposed to just being able to regurgitate MoMAs information and commentary. The final assignment was a good solo version of this, but there should be a task like this where people can bounce ideas off each other.

автор: Mary K

23 мая 2016 г.

This was a well structured course even though it wasn't exactly clear that it was about educators in the first place. The introductory videos on every week were very clever and on point. Loved the instructors and the whole team behind this course. However, the final assignment's grading is unacceptable. I cannot stress out how important it is to justify each score given, especially the lower ones. The final assignment did not have this, and as a consequence, when the final grade was in, low or high, you cannot know why, and fix your mistakes in the future. Some people were kind enough to leave comments on the comment section below, explaining everything, however, this should be the case for everyone's review. After all, it is a paid course.

автор: Debra B

30 июня 2020 г.

I definitely learned a great deal, however, I never figured out how to see if anyone commented on my submissions nor how to engage in discussion with my peers. I feel I could learn a great deal more if I was able to have discussions and feedback. I tried navigating back through the website to my previous postings, but couldn't find them? Perhaps I just don't know how to navigate this webpage correctly. Any help would be appreciated. I would love to see what I've submitted previously to review it for myself in the future, plus I would love to see if anyone ever commented on anything I did.

In addition, does a professor or teacher actually ever look at the entries, or is it only peer reviews? Just curious.

автор: Alexandra R

2 янв. 2018 г.

I really loved this course. I got a much better understanding of what Modern Art is. The only thing I would like to see is more performative arts, street or public art. Even though I really liked the link between older arts with the idea of Modern Art (because I usually thought Modern Art to be something more like 1970´s to the date), I would have really loved to see artworks from this decade because most of the work I had already seen or read about them. And with the importance that figures like Marina Abramovic and Bansky have been to this decade, I feel that it should be interesting to study it. But I really appreciate the hard work you put into this course. Thank you so much.

автор: João T S

4 июня 2020 г.

I found really interesting the concept of looking to artworks not chronological but by themes. The themes of weeks 2, 3 and 5 were particularly interesting. The one from week 4 (Transforming everyday objects) less, in my opinion. I find the peer assignment evaluation not optimal.... (i had several situations where the evaluation was clearly not according to the coursera rules, and i could not find where to complain about it). Apart from that, the course was very interesting for me, i learned a lot, and most importantly, i am very motivated to transpose the idea of organizing Artworks by themes to music and use it in the music lessons i teach.

автор: Janet R

12 июля 2020 г.

A great course for overview of those main themes presented. I found the last two weeks somewhat repetitive in that the works were presented in the overview, and then again Individually (with much the same information, only slightly elaborated on). I also found the format of the last peer review assignment (Curate images to illustrate one or more of those themes presented) quite confusing: the boxes weren’t clearly labeled or the assignment unclear on how/where to explain why those images were chosen. Otherwise, it was a fun course and introduced me to some artists I hadn’t know of previously.

автор: Nicole F

31 мая 2020 г.

I found this course very engaging and interesting, and was eager to come back each week for another module! I also enjoyed interacting with others in the forum, and doing the assignments and final submissions. All of the activities challenged me to think and get involved creatively, which I really appreciated! However, I do feel that they could have explored the concepts more, as the focus seemed to be on the specific artworks. Aside from that, I would recommend this course to those interested in art as it's really accessible even if you don't have a background in it!

автор: margherita p

10 окт. 2015 г.

succinct but well targeted review and comments of several iconic works of art--paintings, photos, installations. The main value of the class is the classification viewpoint--not by art movement or school, but by theme. Not enough attention is given to art and identity and art and society (two of the themes), in the US. "Originality" or breaking into new concepts seems to rule, even when many of those works are rather vapid--such as, Duchamp's . Compare with the works by Lawrence, Picasso, Mondrian, D. Lang and others-SUBSTANCE.---Just my opinion, of course.

автор: Brian G

29 апр. 2020 г.

I am 70 years old and an appreciation of Modern Art is coming to me a bit late in life ..but better late than never. So thanks you for providing me with this wonderful insight. Not too arduous and full of easy (ish) to understand principles. My world will look different from now on. I missed the electronic age really so I struggled a bit with finding my way around...especially when trying to load images at the end of the course for peer assessment (which I never achieved beyond just the one image)

Once again many thanks,

CB GILL

автор: Barbara H

2 мая 2020 г.

I very much enjoyed this course and I was excited that MoMA was doing this course. I enjoyed the organization of the themes each week and doing the quizzes........I learned a lot from doing the quizzes. My favorite was learning via the videos. I found them to be exciting and knowledgeable. The only negative was that I had to redo some of my work....it showed not completed and I had to redo. I will look forward to going to MoMA when I travel again to New York. I loved the learning....thank you.

автор: Cecília B d S

16 июня 2020 г.

If you have some time and you always wanted to find out why a brick can be considered art this is a good course for you. Just keep in mind that this is a course where you will have to write some short texts, which can be quite challenging if your English is not that good (of course you can always use Google translator), but It's also a great way to learn new adjectives and expressions. I procrastinated to do the last assignments but I got excited seeing what other people had said about my work.

автор: David D

6 мар. 2017 г.

I have to admit, there is a whole vocabulary to describe and 'embellish' some rather ordinary and otherwise non-significant objects considered as Art.

Please don't read this as a negative. I found the experience personally enriching. I also believe I will look at modern art with more openness and search for hidden messages. Still to be honest one sometimes has to feel taken advantaged of by some so called works. As they say not all that glitters is gold. But bravo for this MOOC offering!

автор: Susan W

22 янв. 2016 г.

I enjoyed the course itself very much, and I intend to use ideas gleaned from it in my English classroom; however, I was not satisfied with the rating of the final project. I put a LOT of work into it, including eight artworks AND eight corresponding works of literature that inspired the art, and someone ( a peer, not an instructor) kept giving me "poor" as a rating. Not that I expected that ALL would be 3's, but a 1 is not a fair grade.

Just my two cents.

автор: Talitha K

5 мая 2020 г.

There ahould be stricter guidelines as to the peer gradings. I say this because my first submission of the curated images assignment was unfairly graded by someone i had graded and unfinished. Their assignment was only 1 image with a theme title so i reportesnit as unfinished. They retaliated with a low grading. I had covered all point asked. Is the rules are stricter this couod be avoided. Or having a authoritative assessment by a tutor wouod be good too.

автор: Lucia J

14 апр. 2020 г.

I loved everything, did not have a single complaint until yesterday when I found many technical difficulties concerning uploading the set of images, giving feedback to others. Now I cannot open my certificate. Other than that, I enjoyed the course, all the stories behind the artworks that I loved and about those which I’ve never seen before. It was short, yet time consuming- I thought all the topics were interesting and engaging. Thank you.

автор: Epimosa

8 мая 2021 г.

The course has an interesting form. I feel that it is more like an on-line MOMA exhibition indeed. I guess it shows the importance to take longer time to read text descriptions beside each artwork when one visits a museum to learn more things. The organisation by themes is indeed very clever and efficient for understanding Modern art and I've seen many new things. So thank you very much for the course.

автор: Peony T

5 мая 2020 г.

Well organised course on modern art, with a diverse range of artworks, arranged under themes, and good resources and materials for reference. Forum discussions are enriching with valuable contributions from participants. The end of course assignments could just be refined to guide participants towards completing the course.

Highly recommended for anyone just curious what modern art is about.

автор: Jennifer S

14 июля 2019 г.

Enjoyed the course as content was interesting , relevant, and engaging. As I am not able to use the computer as well as younger students I found it difficult to know what tasks I was to complete at times. It took me longer to navigate around the pages. I had difficulty uploading the pictures to the site, possibly this is because I am in another country? Thanks for providing this course

автор: Gilly M

10 мая 2020 г.

There were some really intereting and educative modules in this course but also a few technical hitches. I was unable to upload images on my weekly review for the first couple of weeks (no icon bar in the review box) and then, at the end, unable to ready the feedback on my assignment. Despite sending messages to the technical support team, I never received any help with my queries.

автор: nbrrly

23 июня 2020 г.

Really enjoyed the course, would have liked the lessons to each individually go deeper into their themes, I loved the introductory videos the best and wish those had been longer than 2mins on average and more in depth. The breadth of artists featured was great but would have loved the video content to go deeper as I am very much a video learner.

автор: Giordano V

4 янв. 2016 г.

Me parece realmente interesante y a su vez bien producido y organizado. Es un pequeño e intensivo programa que puede ayudarnos a aprender a observar otra vez. Con una mirada critica y llena de conocimiento el curso pretende crear conciencia en cuanto a la valoración del arte y a su vez que esta información circule por medio de la enseñanza.

автор: Marilou Z

5 окт. 2015 г.

I really enjoyed the course.I learned a lot of things about specific pieces of modern art with some of which I was familiar to and with others I wasn't.The only thing I would say this course lacks is the fact that there are not enough assignments to work on and so we can not use our imagination and knowledge to write something inspiring!

автор: Juliana B

13 окт. 2021 г.

Gostei muito do curso, porém o método de avaliação das atividades é um pouco falho. Outro aluno dar sua opnião sobre o trabalho é uma coisa, mas dar a nota que determina se você está aprovado ou não é complicado. Eu recebi uma avaliação baixa por ter escrito meu trabalho em ingles e não no idioma da pessoa que me avaliou.

автор: Alexandre F

3 июля 2019 г.

It's a great course, but I cannot find a way that it will be directly influent to my career, even as a creative director. It's always good to learn new perspectives but it's kind of a "curiosity course" than a professional one - for example, Seeing Through Photographs, it's being more interesting to me.