Chevron Left
Вернуться к Machine Design Part I

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Machine Design Part I от партнера Технологический институт Джорджии

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 1,780
Рецензии: 499

О курсе

“Machine Design Part I” is the first course in an in-depth three course series of “Machine Design.” The “Machine Design” Coursera series covers fundamental mechanical design topics, such as static and fatigue failure theories, the analysis of shafts, fasteners, and gears, and the design of mechanical systems such as gearboxes. Throughout this series of courses we will examine a number of exciting design case studies, including the material selection of a total hip implant, the design and testing of the wing on the 777 aircraft, and the impact of dynamic loads on the design of an bolted pressure vessel. In this first course, you will learn robust analysis techniques to predict and validate design performance and life. We will start by reviewing critical material properties in design, such as stress, strength, and the coefficient of thermal expansion. We then transition into static failure theories such as von Mises theory, which can be utilized to prevent failure in static loading applications such as the beams in bridges. Finally, we will learn fatigue failure criteria for designs with dynamic loads, such as the input shaft in the transmission of a car....

Лучшие рецензии

ZZ
16 февр. 2017 г.

The course was a concise and effective review of major concepts. The concepts were well explained and the lessons practical. I have a better understanding of fatigue failure as a result of this class.

SG
11 июня 2017 г.

Thank you so much. I liked your teaching style.You gave me a clear understanding about each and every topic covered in this course.I enjoyed the learning.Hope we will be in touch for further courses.

Фильтр по:

426–450 из 490 отзывов о курсе Machine Design Part I

автор: Orynbekov A

28 мая 2020 г.

Pretty well-made course with a lot of different practical examples. Teaching is very professional and straight forward. All exercises are great, however there could be more of them. Course has some small mistakes, which off course were not intentional. Main inconvinience is that you are adviced to go throught three other courses to fully understand the content of this course, but I think it is normal. In total, this is a good course that gives you a better understanding of the processes happening in machine design field.

автор: Carlos A C C

6 июня 2019 г.

El curso fue muy bueno para recordar y mejorar algunas de las habilidades en el ambito de la ingenieria estructural. A pesar de ser un curso introductorio fue muy bueno, puesto que lo aprendido es la base para continuar con conceptos mucho mas complejos. Me agrado mucho la metodologia, y la forma de ensenanza de parte de la profesora la cual intenta por todos los medios que se entienda la materia. Ahora estoy en espera de que en algun momento se abra un curso de Machine Design II.

автор: Sunny M

7 февр. 2020 г.

I'm giving 4 stars based on this course specifically, matter will different if considered never coming part 2. this course did not include any machine elements but was very good with failure classes both static and fatigue. I really need the part 2 or a different course as DESIGN OF MACHINE ELEMENTS, which would include gears, gear trains, clutches, brakes, etc.

(I left one star because i felt content wasn't enough)

автор: Ojas P B (

16 апр. 2020 г.

This course has added considerably to my knowledge of machine design. The course is designed very well and covers most of the topics in machine design. All the topics are discussed in adequate depth. This course is like a refresher with some added topics which you might not have studied. I would recommend this anytime to a mechanical engineer. Thank you, Dr. Kathryn Wingate and GaTech.

автор: MANOJKUMAR A

27 янв. 2019 г.

Course is very useful for intermediate level. People have to know certain basic calculations like bending moment, shear stress, etc. Presenter has good knowledge about materials. Because of that she is clear in communication and making it easy to understand. Course provides a good refreshment about static and fatigue failures. Hope it will be an additional star in everyone's resume.

автор: Syed A A S

6 мар. 2019 г.

This course of machine design from Georgia Tech is a nice combination of revising the concepts of material properties, design and temperature considerations, design theories for static and dynamic loading situations for a safe design. The instructor knows her domain and my time went well. Thanks to Georgia Tech. and Coursera platform for the effort.

автор: KHODABUCCUS M M

8 нояб. 2017 г.

Overall course quality, approach and content were satisfying. i enjoyed doing this course. it helped me understand some critical factors i need to consider in the mechanical engineering field as far as design of a component is concern.

Looking forward to do more courses in Coursera to increase my knowledge.

автор: Daniel L

13 мар. 2019 г.

I enjoyed the practical and summarized approach (both static and fatigue failure). I would have liked developing skills about the aluminum and composite parts, materials commonly used in aeronautics.

Thank you very much for your involvement in these e-learning courses

автор: Felipe W

22 дек. 2016 г.

Es un muy buen curso para comprender los conceptos generales en el diseño mecánico, me gustó el enfoque que se le dio a los módulos de fatiga.

Aunque en algunos momentos faltaba un poco más de detalle en la explicación de los módulos.

автор: Bharath

30 янв. 2018 г.

A full fledged view on machine design.

I being an average learner learnt a lot in Machine design through this course. The user interface and lectures are really great! I wanted to thank Dr. Katheryn for her support.

автор: Alvaro G

29 апр. 2021 г.

Clear explanations from Dr. Wingate! Extensive use of common Engineering data as graphs, Handbook, etc.

Very good as a first approach to Machine Design, and also as a refresh for some rusty and forgotten concepts

автор: Nishant L

11 дек. 2020 г.

Very Helpful course to clear concepts of Machine Design. Giving 4 stars due to presence of human errors in explanation. Their frequency was a bit high. 5/5 stars based on content provided by Dr. Kathryn Wingate.

автор: Simon L

22 авг. 2017 г.

Give it a 4 top notch, the examples where explicit quite challenging needed some nimble thinking and prompt responces. Just the Discussion forum was a bit biased and the questions where somehow not understood

автор: Vijayaram M

2 июля 2020 г.

It is really a good course to revise and go out through the basics.But the most annoying part is that the change of the title and the corrections btw the videos and my suggestion is to change it.

автор: Venkata S G

18 дек. 2018 г.

Very good course to refresh the fundamentals of machine design. Course content is lucid and quiz's are also very impressive. I am looking forward to enroll the next course of the series.

автор: Brian L

13 июня 2018 г.

Very clear in objectives and to the point when discussing problems. Lectures are not spent deriving formulas but discussing meaningful and insightful problems for the practical engineer.

автор: Aditya K L

21 июля 2020 г.

This course is more numerically focussed. Although, sufficient theory is provided as well. The case studies used within the course are intriguing and extremely fascinating.

автор: Nissan G

28 дек. 2017 г.

A great intro course to basic failure theories and more engineering analysis skills. There are lots of worksheets and if you do them all you'll gain from this course.

автор: Benjamin D

6 июля 2018 г.

Very well explained and well paced. Sometimes instructor's answers are wildly different from your own because she uses exact numbers but only writes rounded numbers.

автор: MURAT O

30 мар. 2020 г.

The main reason to take this course was to improve skills on fatigue design and it was helpful. Still part 2 is not offered, which is the reason why I rate 4 stars.

автор: Rajadurai N

6 авг. 2017 г.

Great! First time I hear about Ashby plots and love the case study method. Dr.Wingate was excellent in conveying the concept throughout the course!

автор: Syed T H A

8 сент. 2017 г.

Very helpful course with comprehensive overview of design and techniques in Engineering Design. Beautifully designed course.

автор: Chirag D

21 июня 2020 г.

Dr. Kathryn has made this course very easy to understand and comprehensible. Thank you for your contribution Prof!

автор: MOHAMMAD A K

30 июня 2019 г.

I enjoyed the course. It was an amazing experience to learn concepts one by one in small- small videos.