Chevron Left
Вернуться к Научитесь учиться: мощные умственные инструменты, которые помогут вам овладеть сложными предметами

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Научитесь учиться: мощные умственные инструменты, которые помогут вам овладеть сложными предметами от партнера Университет Макмастер

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 51,971
Рецензии: 14,415

О курсе

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about the how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for: turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning focused, and Mindshift is more career focused.) To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi To join the fully translated French version of the course, visit : http://www.coursera/learn/apprendre-comment-apprendre...

Лучшие рецензии

JR

Oct 23, 2017

This Course Is awesome it gave me a new look on how my brain works and that i should actually take breaks which is probably why i get frustrated. I am Excited to Put what i have learned into practice.

BA

Nov 06, 2016

Amazing course, I learned a lot of new techniques for self motivation, and effecient learning. Now, I feel more confident to take further steps in improving and developing myself. Thank you so much :)

Фильтр по:

351–375 из 10,000 отзывов о курсе Научитесь учиться: мощные умственные инструменты, которые помогут вам овладеть сложными предметами

автор: Bojana

Oct 22, 2018

Huge thank you to Dr. Barb Oakley and Dr. Terry Sejnowski for this invaluable gift. I wish I had been taught how to learn before starting school, instead of stumbling blindly through by using my own methods (though it turns out many of them correspond with the concepts of this course).

Dr. Oakley - this course is now in my memory palace associated with an image of you holding the octopus of attention in one hand and a flying mule in the other, all three perched atop my window sill and no taller than 4 inches :)

I promise to teach as many of the concepts I've learned here to people around me who need to know them.

Thank you so much!

автор: Jozra G V

Feb 17, 2018

I'm doing a PhD on Physics and Astronomy in prestigious university in UK, so one would think I have mastered learning. Nothing would be farther from true, I spent many years in the usual way of learning, which did not leave me with deep knowledge, it was just for the tests. This course have showed me the right tools for really learning, it has brought to my attention several key aspects I inadvertently dismissed when study previous degrees. More importantly it proved me that no matter how old you are, or how far you have advanced in higher education and academia you can still learn how to be better at learning! Fantastic course!!

автор: Micheila

Nov 09, 2015

Phenomenal course content delivered in fun, easily digestible chunks. I loved the references to the latest neuroscience and the stories of hard work and perseverance that led to success, like Santiago Ramon y Cajal. The bonus/extra reading was really helpful and entertaining as well (especially about writing and languages).

It was a real pleasure to have taken this course, my first with Coursera. I wish I'd known this stuff 15 years ago when I was in university... I fell into the trap of re-reading as a learning technique.

I'm telling everyone I know about Learning How to Learn, particularly those who are currently in university.

автор: Huiyi L

Jul 24, 2017

It is really a fantastic course, which I am more than willing to introduce to my families and friends. I have applied some of the techniques I have learned from the course, and they are useful and effective. It also debunks some myths regarding learing. But what I think is the most important is that it have changed my mindset. It alters my conception of learning, and even of other things in my life. I feel lucky having a chance to take this course. And Now I am taking another course of Barb andTerry (Yes, it's Mindshift! ). It's glad to see them again, and to learn something new that will also have a profound impact on my life.

автор: Lhamo T

Oct 16, 2015

I really wish that I had the chance to take this class while i was in college or before I went to college. I was such a dumb that I didn't have these great techniques and I just wasted my 3 year college life. When I recall my college life, I just didn't learn much. I just went for the exams. It's pathetic honestly; however, now I have learned the GREAT tools from this class that I am going to teach all to my brother who is a sophomore in college now, and learning never ends that I can apply all the tools into my life long learning. Thanks a lot for offering such an incredible class for free.

I DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS CLASS.

автор: Julian C

Nov 29, 2015

Learning How to Learn is an excellent class for individuals wanting to polish their rusty learning skills, and expand their learning tool-kits. I especially enjoyed learning about new ways to learn, how other people learn, the common struggles many of us experience, and the latest in research on learning. The tools, suggestions, and topics have already helped me expand my Chunked Mental Library. Useful resources were also provided; I purchased the book Fluent in 3 Months by Benny Lewis and signed up for the Publicationcoach.com. I can't wait to dive into these resources. Thank you for a fantastic course. Julia, Carlsbad, CA.

автор: Leo S

Jan 31, 2016

It changes my mind about learning, long term before I encountered this course, I knew it must be something wrong in my learning method which conduct a very ineffective learning-product. This neuroscientific based course enlightens me in scientific learning and makes me start to think seriously about how to learn more effectively. It's really a great honor to encountered this course, and I'm sure it would be one of the most powerful asset I ever had in my lifetime. My sincere gratitude to Dr. Barbara Oakley, Dr. Terrence Sejnowski, How to Learn Team and all the interviewees invited. Thank you for all your great insights on me.

автор: Tony

Nov 29, 2019

It's a fantastic course. It has shed light on all the learning problems i have been facing in my career. My career needs me to keep updating myself. But I lost track over a period of time. Things I need to learn accumulated over a period of time and when I looked at them it was overwhelming. That's when I started taking this course. It has highlighted all the mistakes I have been doing learning and gave me tools address them .

Thank you so much Professors.

For other learners like me, a piece of advice: Watch the optional interviews given in the course. They are real eye openers. You get to hear a lots of stuff from legends.

автор: Ostap A

Jan 28, 2016

This course is great. I'd say I became an evangelist of this course. I told about it to lots of my co-workers and I already feel I'm getting better at learning.

One of the main issues I always suffered with was "cramming everything on 1 day". I still believe I did the same during this course. But now, at least, I recalled the material from time to time in various places, explained it to my co-workers, listened to summary videos from time to time and testedmemorizing various stuff using memory palace technique.

This is a great course! Barbara & Terrence, thanks a lot!

Best wishes & thanks for learning how to learn!

Ostap Andrusiv

автор: Peter K

Jul 19, 2019

I have been struggling with reading, and the more I read the better I have become at reading. Problem solving has improved greatly!

I am 67 years young, and look forward to new challenges everyday!

My hobbies include Photography, tinkering with devices [fixing them] also gardening, if it does not grow this year try next year! I consider failures as successes as long as I learned from the experience.

My deep appreciation goes out to Barbara Oakley [I am also a veteran US Navy I crossed the Pacific and Indian oceans] so I also have a deep respect for all the people who have taken this course no mater where they live and reside!

автор: Shubhra S

Apr 12, 2017

This course has been a wonderful resource about learning and I feel it has equipped me with many efficient tools of learning such as The Pomodoro technique, the importance of sleep, the importance of subconscious mind and the diffused mode of thinking and various ways of grasping the material and retaining it in our long term memory such as recall, testing, and spaced repetition and all of this has only made me a better learner. So I am really grateful to Coursera for giving us the opportunity to learn, and to our instructors, Barbara Oakley and Terry Sejnowski for dedicating their time and compiling such an amazing course.

автор: Jennifer M

Dec 10, 2015

This class is wonderful! I learned so many different things about the brain, thinking, memory, tools, tips for more efficient studying, and the list goes on. This is the first step in my journey, and I will take all that I've learned here and apply it not only in my future studies, but my daily life as well. Thank you Coursera for offering such wonderful opportunities for people to gain knowledge and understanding on many levels. And finally, ( the best for last ) Thank you so much to the fantastic professors for making it fun and funny at times, for all the wonderful tools and for the opportunity to Learn how to Learn.

автор: Kerim G

Aug 04, 2019

I came into this course skeptical and worried that it would be a waste of time. That it would be geared too much for young adults. But the information presented (and presented well) was very informative and useful even for more mature lifelong learners. Both me and my amazing girlfriend took this course together and will surely take the lessons with us and use them to learn more efficiently in our lives! Thank you very much to the professors.

What I really appreciated were the sources at the end of every video. I'm the kind of person who actually goes through them and sees if there's anything that could pique my interest.

автор: Matthew G

Aug 21, 2017

This course is very informative and insightful. There are so many useful hints and tricks that, even though very small and almost insignificant, have made a huge impact on my ability to learn new things, and how proficient I am at learning them. Understanding what's happing "under the hood" helped rid me of the guesswork that's associated with learning new things - that is, it gave me a tool that I'd been trying to find within myself for many years. The video-nature of this course, and the informative visuals helped to make the experience interesting, inviting, and stress-free. I plan on recommending it to all my friends.

автор: Oliver C

Mar 16, 2017

Simply: this is the single best and most important course of learning I have ever done.

Not only has it inspired and uplifted me, it has given me real and concrete methods and techniques for becoming a much better student (of life!). For all people of all ages, backgrounds and interests I tell you: take the opportunity to do this course and you will not look back.

I wish I had this course when I started university; it should be compulsory material for learners and students everywhere. In short, this course is OUTSTANDING.

I want to thank Barbara Oakley in particular for teaching me how to be a much more capable human being.

автор: Hong W L

Jan 22, 2017

This is a course that is truly about learning which applicable and practical knowledge and techniques are taught. Each video have visual aids and analogies with some comedy added in that helps to retain information. Questions at the end of the videos test your understanding on the lectures and a summary at the end of each week is useful in recalling and retaining information. I feel that most presentations and lessons taught in school can definitely learnt from this course in teaching more effectively. The tremendous efforts put into interviewing successful people in different careers and hearing tips are very enriching.

автор: Binsheng L

Dec 05, 2017

I love methodology of doing things. This course teaches me the systematic methods of learning, some of which are what I have already known and applied successfully. It provides me a systematic perspective to review and reinforce the methods. Additionally, it not only provides insights on how to learn but also the scientific evidence that underlies the methods. Understanding the rationale helps me applies the techniques better and more flexibly.

The course is not limited to any particular subject. It tells us how the brain works. It's helpful in learning anything. Anyone interested in learning should take this course.

автор: anthony m

Dec 29, 2015

I loved this course. It provides tools for learning that actually work (if you practice!). Not only does it describe the tools and how to use them, it provides the background, the accumulated understanding and proof of how and why the tools work (with creative illustrations and peer review docs). Dr's Oakley and Sejnowski do a great job in the curation and presentation of this knowledge. If they can keep my attention... they can keep anyone's attention. I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in how we learn and also anyone struggling with learning any subject. Thank you Dr's Oakley and Sejnowski!!

автор: Stephanie W

Feb 18, 2018

Learning How To Learn (LH2L or LHTL) is really so much more than a course. Not only does a learner gain incredibly useful life skills, as outlined in many of the other reviews, but also a community. The Facebook group and weekly e-mail from Barbara Oakley are great resources for a whole plethora of techniques and ideas about improving one's life. I would have been much better off had this course come into my life at a younger age, however, better late than never. I see it as a foundation upon which all of my future learning in life can occur. Please check it out and engage with the community. You will only benefit!

автор: Rhondene J W

Mar 16, 2017

I am so glad I discovered this course right before I begin Ph.D studies. Not only were the lectures insightful, but also the optional expert Interviews and Supplementary readings. This course will definitely transform you into a more conscientious learner. Thank you Dr. Oakley and Dr. Sejnowksi (and all other background workers) for taking the time to organize and share such useful content in a practical, succinct and lucid way.

Examination seasons are approaching in Jamaica, so I am motivated to write an article for the national newspaper to share effective learning strategies based on this course. Thank you again

автор: Sergio R C

Feb 13, 2019

Really powerful and useful course about how to learn any subject or skill we want to acquire. This kind of knowledge if something we all should have been tought in school, and I´m grateful to know about how to improve my learning process now and retain more information than before!

The course is structured in a way that will enhance your learning, and the classes with Barb are really funny and pleasant. This course is really valuable (much more than what I paid for it), and I encourage you to take it if you are a curious person who loves learning and would like to boost your ability to know about the entire world!

автор: Ethan R

Dec 02, 2016

You're on coursera to learn right? This course teaches you how to learn effectively. So while learning to learn might seem like a strange concept (after all you've been doing it all your life) I would advise you to start with this course. That way, you can learn any later course better.

This course covers multiple learning techniques and, frankly, a load of techniques which are great to adopt for mental health reasons. This course shows you how to improve yourself more than any course I've come across. Everything is well explained, well sourced and effective. As a bonus, the additional interviews are fascinating.

автор: Warhall

Apr 03, 2017

It's the first MOOC I completed! And it was amazing journey! Learning How to Learn is a great motivator, it encourged me to learning, it braodens horizons... I recomend it to everybody! The course improved my self-esteem... The tutors are great! The material was easy to understand and not so demanding. It was a pleasure to watch the videos! I think the test were sometimes to easy, and you just need to rembember the exact words from the videos, there was almost no need for self-thinking, but still I am extremely happy that my first completed MOOC is Learning How to Learn! It will help me with the new courses ;)

автор: Ahmed B

Jan 19, 2016

Extremely helpful for people of all ages and from all walks of life. The only really bad thing about this course is that this was not available when I was in school or in my undergrad years. Though, currently I am doing PhD, I still feel its positive effects in my life. I didn't know that this course, which I started in my leisure time, will have long lasting effects on life and the way I think and solve personal and professional issues.

Hats off to you Barbara Oaklay, your team and cherishing long journey derived by your passion.

Last but not least thanks to Coursera Team for creating such a wonderful platform.

автор: adrienne l

Oct 03, 2018

The course was easy to do but I gained a lot of practical advice on studying/learning techniques that are immediately applicable. I also enjoyed the part where we learned the scientific reasons to some of the background processes that drives learning and the fallacies/common misconceptions related to learning. There were many concepts that I already know prior to the course but this course helped me consolidate my knowledge and also increased my enthusiasm in learning something new or challenging. The presenters, Dr Barbara Oakley & Dr Terrence Sejnowski are both very personable and delivered the course well.