Chevron Left
Вернуться к Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 3,164
Рецензии: 618

О курсе

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Лучшие рецензии

FA

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM

Oct 16, 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

Фильтр по:

551–575 из 606 отзывов о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

автор: Felipe M

Jan 26, 2018

It is a nice course for people who are just starting to program to feel the power of writing software for solving real world problems. The assignments posted are challenging enough and shed light on some of the reasoning necessary to write working software. But it does not encourage to create custom methods to help keep the code clean, sometimes solving some of the assignments following the instructions led to many 'for' and 'if' nests which made the code difficult to read and boring to write.

автор: Rasika V

Aug 29, 2017

It starts off well, but week 2 is ridiculously rough. After getting past that, I struggled with the Miniproject, because, again, it was structured poorly. I had a number of software problems with FileResource and BlueJ, and of course, the mentors were never available to help. While I eventually was able to finish the course, I would've appreciated more guidance. I really enjoyed Course 1, but this was a waste of time and money.

автор: Ruilong J

Sep 27, 2017

Some of the important details are missing when i try to do the quiz. For example, when i am trying to do the assignment i do not know how to iterate over all the data files because neither the videos nor the reading info gave me the answer i need so i have to google it. However, i still learn a lot from this course, too. Great classes to take and sometimes it gets a little bit tricky.

автор: Jose U

Jan 12, 2017

The content was useful and I do feel a foundation is being set.

The area where I think the course fell short is on the support we got from mentors or instructors in the forum, basically null - pun intended. There are some points where it's easy to fall into a rabbit hole, like I did. Without support, a simple challenge supposed to take a few minutes can turn into hours, days.

автор: Mikhail K

Dec 09, 2018

It started fine, but then turned out it's a somewhat weird course. First of all, who uses Oracle Java IDE in the middle of 2010th? Secondly, the course doesn't really follow the OOP and Functional programming guidelines. Overall it's worth it if you are a complete newbie

автор: Deleted A

Dec 24, 2017

the way practice assignments are written is very confusing and misleading at times. please improve on the writing style. it takes time to understand what the written instructions mean. its very difficult to complete assignments otherwise!

автор: Devul N

Jul 23, 2017

This course was overall a good course and taught me a lot of things, but the discussion page wasn't that helpful, as the questions were not being answered regularly. It is for this reason i am giving this course 3 out of 5 stars.

автор: Noran H

Sep 16, 2019

Not for a beginner level at all , The estimated times for the exercises is so much less than the required the exercises require hours ,, week 2 is difficult and require alot of time:|

автор: Peter L

Mar 24, 2019

Why must we be forced to use BlueJ? Also, from explanation to problems the learning curve is slightly steep. Would be better with more practical walkthrough coding examples first.

автор: Erdem O

Feb 06, 2018

The content is good but they use the 3rd party Java libraries, not the standard one so It makes it pretty much useless as you don't get to learn anything in Java programming.

автор: Manigandan S

Sep 22, 2019

This course is definitely not for beginners. But people with little knowledge on JAVA or coding of any other language will find this useful. Assignments are really helpful

автор: Shankaranarayanan K R

Sep 04, 2016

More technical aspects could have been touched upon. Details on how to implement code on any java platform using inbuilt java libraries and several others.

автор: 路明鑫

Oct 31, 2016

There exist some sort of help for solving programming.However, those bad quiz as well as not so comprehensive courses design totally ruin it.

автор: Asif K

Jan 22, 2016

I feel like we're left behind by the teachers of this course. The teaching style does not help in getting the right code to work.

автор: Tobias V D

Aug 08, 2017

I feel it goes to strongly to solving the excercises instead of explaining throughly how things work "below".

автор: Mathurshan V

Nov 16, 2015

Good for novice developers trying to learn Java. Not good for experienced developers trying to learn Java.

автор: Chintan

Oct 28, 2015

Need to show more stuff on Java instead of focusing on using BlueJ and stuff.

автор: Alessandro

Jul 21, 2017

You should have some Java skills before to do this course

автор: Lungu C

Jan 19, 2017

A bit complicated for a beginner.

автор: vedansh s

Mar 16, 2017

Its a good course for beginners

автор: Belinsky A

Jun 28, 2018

Slow pace and long dialogues.

автор: Charles B

May 19, 2017

Week 2 needs to be fixed.

автор: DELA C J K (

Jan 12, 2020

Too hard

автор: Chadrick A E

Apr 01, 2018

The instruction for the first week was quite basic and taught the learner little about how to actually write code in Java. However the assignments, which scarcely reflect the instruction, dive into code you were not taught how to write, and at a level well beyond any reasonable estimation of a true beginner. The assignment instructions are somewhat confusing and the necessary resources are scattered here and there. The first quiz reflected the homework, and so was likewise beyond anything that was actually taught. As well, its resources have to be gathered from here and there. The discussion board is rife with complaints echoing what I just wrote, as well as complaints about the basic course design and organization problems. These complaints are an ongoing issue, and stretch for almost a year back. Unless you are a fair hand at programming in a related language already, I would not sign up for this course.

автор: lee h

Mar 13, 2018

Video instructors are knowledgeable, and I like the challenge of the assignments. But I recently got stuck on an assignment and went to the discussion forum for help. No response from any of the moderators or peers. Plus the codesnippet tool to post code to the forum is absolute crap. Will not format any code even if it is written in line by line. I have been fruitless trying to search for help outside of this course so far as well.

Lots of wasted time.

I really want to finish the class, but I doubt I will ever waste my money on these Duke\Java classes again. I will go elsewhere.