Chevron Left
Вернуться к Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 4,853
Рецензии: 1,011

О курсе

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Лучшие рецензии

FA

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM

Oct 16, 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

Фильтр по:

901–925 из 998 отзывов о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

автор: Fabricio

Nov 07, 2015

The staff of this course is really nice, that's the best part of it. Unfortunately, in my opinion this course is not intended for real beginners. From class one I struggled trying to understand what was going on. This may be because instead of just using a typical ide like eclipse or netbeans, they use bluejay, which works different than the rest of ides. In addition, programs used in the course are pretty confusing (If you know 0 Java). I learned most of the basic concepts (classes, methods) for whole week 1 from a single 15 minute video-course from youtube without all the struggling. As I mentioned this only applies if you are a total newbie, if you already know some Java I think you'll be fine.

автор: Vin T

Feb 21, 2019

The course material is, all in all, good. However, I feel some of the latest updates for the JAVA language are not in line with the course material. In short, the content feels a bit outdated. Tutors take long to respond to questions so I would justify that for non-paying users. Finally, the course really challenges you as a beginner and that is good. However, as a paying user, I am expecting to finish each course within the suggested guidelines and not 3 weeks beyond that point. The practice parts for this course take up quite longer than expected. My suggestions will be to update the course material, make the practice parts shorter and get tutors more involved in daily questions.

автор: Shavonn D

Aug 03, 2019

A good course overall, however, there is little training given on how to debug and identify coding errors. Every mistake needs to be closely looked at, with a lot of trial and error approaches, which were greatly tedious. The time estimations on the last two weeks of assignments, were fairly off from the actual time taken (Given as 10 mins, took 2 hours easily!!).

The course is good, but is not supplemented with the best Java platform to debug and understand, and the quizzes can be very irritating since a small roadblock in coding, can lead to stalling for hours. Without being able to pass the quiz, there is no way to proceed or even fix the code.

автор: vacous

Jan 06, 2017

It is overall an ok course. Samiliarly as a programming intro class, IMO, the quality, range from the project design and content originzation, is no where close to the IIPP offered by Rice. I do not enjoy this course as much as I did in IIPP.

If you are just interested in getting touch with programming, instead of learning Java like I, go to take IIPP.

I think the first week should appear later, probably should be swapped with week 2 or even 3. The first week class was just super confusing without knowing the basic concept like vairable type declearation and the connection between different methods.

Good Luck!!!

автор: Jennifer P

Jul 21, 2020

I would not consider myself a "beginner" per say, I have had some previous experience with programming, but I'm definitely not advanced either. I actually thought the videos themselves were great; they could be informative and easy to follow. However, the assignments tended to be way either way too difficult, vague, and/or time-consuming. I definitely would not recommend this to a beginner programmer, but probably would to a more advanced one. I also think using obscure libraries people probably won't be using in the future to teach programming (especially to beginner programmers) is not the brightest idea.

автор: Felipe M

Jan 26, 2018

It is a nice course for people who are just starting to program to feel the power of writing software for solving real world problems. The assignments posted are challenging enough and shed light on some of the reasoning necessary to write working software. But it does not encourage to create custom methods to help keep the code clean, sometimes solving some of the assignments following the instructions led to many 'for' and 'if' nests which made the code difficult to read and boring to write.

автор: Rasika V

Aug 29, 2017

It starts off well, but week 2 is ridiculously rough. After getting past that, I struggled with the Miniproject, because, again, it was structured poorly. I had a number of software problems with FileResource and BlueJ, and of course, the mentors were never available to help. While I eventually was able to finish the course, I would've appreciated more guidance. I really enjoyed Course 1, but this was a waste of time and money.

автор: Ruilong J

Sep 27, 2017

Some of the important details are missing when i try to do the quiz. For example, when i am trying to do the assignment i do not know how to iterate over all the data files because neither the videos nor the reading info gave me the answer i need so i have to google it. However, i still learn a lot from this course, too. Great classes to take and sometimes it gets a little bit tricky.

автор: Jose U

Jan 12, 2017

The content was useful and I do feel a foundation is being set.

The area where I think the course fell short is on the support we got from mentors or instructors in the forum, basically null - pun intended. There are some points where it's easy to fall into a rabbit hole, like I did. Without support, a simple challenge supposed to take a few minutes can turn into hours, days.

автор: PARAG R N

Jun 05, 2020

I dint like the software used for the entire program. The theory should have been told in rather good way. prof. Rodger was good at coding. she coded step by step and practically. the other prof who use to code was just running up like hell. But i was good experience to be a part of Michigan University.

автор: Mikhail K

Dec 09, 2018

It started fine, but then turned out it's a somewhat weird course. First of all, who uses Oracle Java IDE in the middle of 2010th? Secondly, the course doesn't really follow the OOP and Functional programming guidelines. Overall it's worth it if you are a complete newbie

автор: Abhijit K R

Jun 29, 2020

I really dont need this course. I just wanted to take a free trial for 7 days and i checked that it i was charged 76 for a month. I really need a refund. It's only been one day after my trial ended. Please leave me a reply. Email: aroy3452@gmail.com

автор: Devul N

Jul 23, 2017

This course was overall a good course and taught me a lot of things, but the discussion page wasn't that helpful, as the questions were not being answered regularly. It is for this reason i am giving this course 3 out of 5 stars.

автор: Pooja S

Jul 05, 2020

The course focuses on the logic behind programming and the assignments are very helpful to exercise what we have learnt. It would be more helpful if the course focuses on the syntax of Java programming also.

автор: Bishal G C

Jun 29, 2020

People must have general idea about the Data types/class/methods/objects/libraries. So, the course is somewhere between beginner & intermediate. But anyway, the instructors explained well!

автор: Noran H

Sep 16, 2019

Not for a beginner level at all , The estimated times for the exercises is so much less than the required the exercises require hours ,, week 2 is difficult and require alot of time:|

автор: Peter L

Mar 24, 2019

Why must we be forced to use BlueJ? Also, from explanation to problems the learning curve is slightly steep. Would be better with more practical walkthrough coding examples first.

автор: Erdem O

Feb 06, 2018

The content is good but they use the 3rd party Java libraries, not the standard one so It makes it pretty much useless as you don't get to learn anything in Java programming.

автор: Manigandan S

Sep 22, 2019

This course is definitely not for beginners. But people with little knowledge on JAVA or coding of any other language will find this useful. Assignments are really helpful

автор: Shankaranarayanan K R

Sep 04, 2016

More technical aspects could have been touched upon. Details on how to implement code on any java platform using inbuilt java libraries and several others.

автор: 路明鑫

Oct 31, 2016

There exist some sort of help for solving programming.However, those bad quiz as well as not so comprehensive courses design totally ruin it.

автор: Asli J

Mar 11, 2020

it is so hard for beginners. and some techniques which i can not understand i took long time for that . but presentation were so good

автор: Karan G

Jul 01, 2020

Still I would it can be framed better for students. Some contents are just made to waste time and the content should be improved.

автор: Asif K

Jan 22, 2016

I feel like we're left behind by the teachers of this course. The teaching style does not help in getting the right code to work.

автор: Nirosananthan J

Jul 23, 2020

The course material is good and helpful. But high usage of duke's own library can be discouraging and frustrating at times.