Chevron Left
Вернуться к Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 5,737
Рецензии: 1,200

О курсе

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Лучшие рецензии

FA
7 окт. 2017 г.

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM
15 окт. 2019 г.

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

Фильтр по:

851–875 из 1,179 отзывов о курсе Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

автор: Omar S

11 сент. 2018 г.

It is a very good course, with great examples and great instructions, except I think in the first week of the syllabus. There, the exercise questions were very tough compared to the examples given in the lectures. I was stuck in that area for a long time. Too long in fact. In the end I skipped the exercise and went ahead in the course, got a better idea of how stuff was supposed to work and then came back and attempted the 1st week's questions again. I checked the discussions forum too and found that I was not the only one with this problem. So if you guys could focus a bit more on explaining Week 1, that'd be great!

автор: Mohamed Y

2 июля 2020 г.

It's awesome course with wonderful instructors. i learned a lot about java basics here and became more confident to take it to the next step. However as every thing can't be 100% perfect the course has some drawbacks IMHO, such as the quizzes that sometimes annoying to do but it's okay. what's not okay is the IDE bluej. this thing is just the worst. i can understand that the instructors want to train the students to write the code and debug it from scratch but it's just a pure agony.

overall, it's awesome if you have experience in other programming languages but if not stay away for your own sake :D.

автор: Will C

6 июня 2020 г.

There are some errors in the week 2 programming assignment - particularly where it asks for Strings where it really should say genes. I was able to figure this out, but it required rewriting a bunch of code. This is a minor irritation.

What is far worse is the amount of cheating going on in the discussion forums. Multiple students are posting all of the answers to the quizzes, and little to no moderation of these posts takes place. I have flagged them when I see them and no action is being taken. This is really disgraceful in what is otherwise a very nice course.

автор: Γεώργιος Κ

24 мая 2020 г.

It is a useful course that can guide you successfully through Java if you have minimal previous experience. Assignments are good and interesting and also educational. The environment used (BlueJ) is not making your life easier and probably will not be used for professional purposes. That also makes all these libraries built on this environment not useful. The jshell should be used as an introductory IDE and perhaps NetBeans should be also mentioned. I would rate with something more than 4 stars but definitely not 5.

автор: Suryaa

25 июня 2020 г.

I wish we did't have to use the packages custom made by Duke, and that some of the assignments were a bit more articulate in what they exactly expected of us, and probably change the time needed it would to take to finish them because it took so much more than the said duration. But otherwise this is an amazing course which made sure that you also went outside it to explore while making sure its interesting enough,which made it so that the course was at level higher than mentioned.

автор: Jordan B

4 нояб. 2020 г.

This course is fantastic in the sense that you get a lot of hands on experience with interesting projects that have real world uses. My only criticism is that sometimes they do not explain nuances of programming that beginners may struggle with; all of the information is there, but it may take some self guided exploration. If I were to tweak this course, I would add more reading sections that explicitly say all of the things covered in the video. Overall, very satisfied!

автор: Aarya P

25 июля 2020 г.

A very nice basic java course. The best parts are the instructors are really cool and explain topics easily. They best part was they literally made "Java Cookies " hahahaha;-). However some topics like classes, modifiers and constructors and stuff like that could have needed more explanation. For someone coming from a completely new background could have some amount of difficulty in learning the first few concepts.Otherwise really recommended.

автор: Alexey C

24 мар. 2018 г.

Good challenges, good emphasis on relevant knowledge, but unreasoned instructions: had to rely more on myself and make my own programming exercises between some lectures to get comfortable with new material before moving on, as well as alterate some methods for better reuse during the exercises provided.

You can learn well from here, but pay attention, and dont afraid to exercise coding when you feel to

автор: Bruce W

15 дек. 2019 г.

Overall, this course was a decent introduction to Java and many related concepts. The only noticeable downside was the choice of development environment. The BlueJ environment is very lightweight, but fails to check for simple errors (e.g. use of == instead of .equals() for string comparison). It also lacks the convenience of auto-complete for variable names that almost all other free IDEs offer.

автор: Ishara N

28 мая 2020 г.

This is a great course but timing for coding assignments is not accurate.The are marked as 10 mins but could take hours to complete them.Other than that great course but in order to solve them the learner should have little bit of coding experience before the course.Overall a good course and recommended for those who needs a little challenge in their coding life.

автор: Francisco A M

27 апр. 2016 г.

Except for a few problems regarding the clearness of some of the homeworks' statements, hence the stars, this is an excellent beginner's course for anyone interested in Java. I am currently taking the follow up course "Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data" and for the moment it seems as good as this one, although with the same few problems.

автор: Rafael d B A

16 окт. 2015 г.

Great course! One sugestão I have is to teaching how to use FileResource,URLResource, DirectoryResource, Pixel, ImageResource, etc, without using the edu.duke, because in the real word we don’t use this library. I know this library can facilitate the coding, but when the students use another IDE, they will not can do the same coding as they used on course.

автор: Umer F

18 окт. 2018 г.

Overall course was pretty good i really enjoyed doing assignments and answering quiz. I found coursera website a user friendly and easy to navigate

The thing i didn't like in the course was a BlueJ IDE, at beginning of the course i tried BlueJ and found that it is one of the weird java IDE i have ever used. So i completed all assignments using eclipse.

автор: Andrew C

14 июля 2018 г.

Good introduction to Java programming, instructor videos were informative and the quizzes and tests were challenging and interesting.I was familiar was the Java syntax before taking this course, I think a complete beginner might have to do a little bit of extra online research to clarify some concepts.

автор: DEVANSHI K

4 июня 2020 г.

Good course for beginners with no prior knowledge of basics. Interesting assignments. However, they use the BlueJ environment to run the code and also use many custom created classes - easy to use but hide the basic functioning of the Java language and the structures that are supposed to come with it.

автор: Portia O

28 янв. 2019 г.

It was a little hard to get started because the documentation for the course (various websites, etc) isn't super clear (to me), but once I got used to it, it was great. The instructors are great and explain the concepts really clearly. The provided classes (DirectoryResource, etc) were awesome!

автор: Ahmad F S

14 июля 2020 г.

In Honor's Quiz, there is a technical fault in Q5

The course was fantastic but some of the side problems that can arise during assignments were not explained. it may be your technique but it didn't fit well with me.

Overall had a great experience and definitely recommend it to others.

автор: Rishi M

18 апр. 2020 г.

Good, but some things were unexplained, such as how to get the file name from a DirectoryResource(), until the greyscale conversion section. I was unsure of how to do this until I reached the greyscale conversion section, but it was asked for previously. Otherwise, great course!

автор: Prashanna A

24 апр. 2020 г.

This course has helped me get insights of Java Programming. Most importantly, it has taught me how to solve any problems using the seven step approach. The course has made me a better programmer, increased by problem solving skills and increased by ability to make algorithms.

автор: Diana Y

25 июня 2020 г.

Very good course, interesting exercises datasets, especially the introduction to OOP was very well explained. The only improvement I would suggest would be to be able to use Intellij instead of BlueJ because I had to open a lot of different windows and it was not very handy.

автор: Nguyen N T

27 февр. 2020 г.

For programming, it's always important to have hand-on experience which can only be acquired by diligent practice. And through this course, I have my skill sharpened after completing each small project. It's also really fun to have a chance to work on real-world problems.

автор: Raahim S

23 мая 2020 г.

Course length a bit misleading. Practice exercises rated for 10 mins were actually several hours long. Otherwise the course material was quite in depth, though I felt they focused too much on just CSV files. Things got a bit repetitive after a while.

автор: Md. Z M

15 мая 2016 г.

Might seem a bit overwhelming to beginners, but at the same time, a useful course to practice writing code on real-life data sets, for experienced learners.

The library used here is useful, but not reusable in general.

Overall, a nice experience. :)

автор: Ben V D

2 сент. 2020 г.

Although it is more difficult than the first course of this specialization, I actually got used to the method being used here. It's a bit more trying to figure everything out yourself, which is a good way to learn to code in my opinion. Thanks!

автор: John K

8 нояб. 2015 г.

Good course, it seemed too easy at times since they provided alot of guides to solving the programming problems but I might be biased since I have some programming background. Overall I would recommend for beginners interested in learning java.