Chevron Left
Вернуться к Java Programming: Build a Recommendation System

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Java Programming: Build a Recommendation System от партнера Университет Дьюка

4.7
Оценки: 332
Рецензии: 60

О курсе

Ever wonder how Netflix decides what movies to recommend for you? Or how Amazon recommends books? We can get a feel for how it works by building a simplified recommender of our own! In this capstone, you will show off your problem solving and Java programming skills by creating recommender systems. You will work with data for movies, including ratings, but the principles involved can easily be adapted to books, restaurants, and more. You will write a program to answer questions about the data, including which items should be recommended to a user based on their ratings of several movies. Given input files on users ratings and movie titles, you will be able to: 1. Read in and parse data into lists and maps; 2. Calculate average ratings; 3. Calculate how similar a given rater is to another user based on ratings; and 4. Recommend movies to a given user based on ratings. 5. Display recommended movies for a given user on a webpage....

Лучшие рецензии

GW

Feb 19, 2016

I really like this approach to a final project. I learned a lot outside of the course by using a different, full-featured IDE and writing unit tests for my code. Pretty challenging!

CT

Sep 17, 2018

Challenging, but I feel that I learned a lot about programming. I'm looking forward to the UCSD intermediate programming course.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 56 отзывов о курсе Java Programming: Build a Recommendation System

автор: Do H L

Feb 01, 2016

The course design is really good. It is very hands-on. We get to build our own applications and test our applications in the quiz.

However I really hope if there can be more content. The course is rather short. The quality is good but the quantity is a bit insufficient.

I hope this course can be longer. Additional weeks can teach us how to convert BlueJ projects or Eclipse projects into EXE or host it in the cloud.

I also hope this course, in the future, teaches us to make graphical user interface, which would be a nice conclusion to whatever program that we make

I love the course. I really want to see more coming out of the Capstone project. I love the idea of the capstone building a recommender engine. However, to make it a complete package, I suggest a few things:

---Teach learners to use main() to create apps and convert to exe

---Teach learners, after the entire project codings, how to create an Applet out of the source codes

---Teach learners how to implement graphical user interface (make buttons, input field for movie queries)

---Teach learners how to, instead of getting data from a file in the folder, reads the data from a live-feed instead. That would enhance the learning experience of the course.

Thank you for all those. I'm a hungry guy so I suggest lots of things. However I'm very happy with the course designs. Very engaging and fruitful course series.

автор: Iasinovschi B

Nov 16, 2016

Exceptional!

автор: Junchao

Feb 22, 2016

Great course!

автор: Musa M N

May 22, 2017

Just Good!

автор: Josh H

Feb 20, 2016

Highly recommended for anyone who wants to learn programming. I started from basically zero and learned a lot throughout the Specialization. The instructors do a great job of giving you enough information throughout the lectures without over loading you and making the assignments challenging enough that you feel like you are really getting the most out of your time.

автор: David N M

Jul 01, 2016

Excellent course with outstanding instructors. Requires commitment

автор: AKASH K S

Jan 31, 2017

This is a excellent course and covers all the concept taught in the entire Specialization.

автор: YiFan ( Z

Dec 12, 2017

Fantastic course! The instructors were very engaging, the lessons were varied and provided me with a wide variety of information in the field. After completely this course, I definitely feel much more confident working in this field.

автор: greg w

Feb 19, 2016

I really like this approach to a final project. I learned a lot outside of the course by using a different, full-featured IDE and writing unit tests for my code. Pretty challenging!

автор: Diar S

Feb 26, 2018

good course and very interesting things to learn.

автор: Chew W Y

Jun 17, 2016

Succinct and fun material, rating movies that is relevant to most. Thanks instructors!

автор: Zachary F

Mar 02, 2017

Really enjoyed this project and I think it did a good job bringing the whole specialization together. Personally, I took more autonomy on how to solve the problems but I think the structure of the quizzes in this section allowed me to do that. In all, it was a fantastic way for me to solidify what I have learned, from the 7-step process and debugging to using online resources to figure out new logic. Thanks!

автор: Chris T

Sep 17, 2018

Challenging, but I feel that I learned a lot about programming. I'm looking forward to the UCSD intermediate programming course.

автор: Dojung K

Aug 28, 2019

This is so nice project to understand all of the fundamentals of Java Programming. So rewarding. Thank you.

автор: Abrar H

Jul 01, 2019

Well paced Course!

автор: Suhash B

Jul 07, 2019

This has helped me enhance my knowledge in Java Programming.

автор: Tanmay G

Aug 30, 2019

Amazing Capstone Project!! I loved it! Really good specialization.....

Highly recommended!

автор: Humam H E

Oct 10, 2019

great

автор: zhangjinqiang

Oct 11, 2019

it's very practical and not too difficult for Java starters.

автор: Peter G W

Jan 14, 2019

This whole series really challenged me but I've learned more from this course than any of my other previous attempts to learn programming. I feel a lot more confident now taking on more challenges in software development. There were some homework problems near the end that could have been explained a little better (sometimes I was overthinking it). I also felt that perhaps instead of BlueJ, I would've liked to use something like Eclipse in order to better understand the main() function. All in all, I would definitely recommend this course for those interested in programming or wanting to learn Java.

автор: Guangchen X

Mar 01, 2019

Not enough submissions to review at the end. So not very friendly to self pace learning. Had to wait to review other people's submissions before complete the course, which may waste some time since it's paid by month.

автор: Shaun R

Mar 29, 2019

Most everything was good in this course. There were a few things that they didn't explain how to do ever throughout this 5 course program which was frustrating, but other students helped to fill the gaps on that part. Otherwise it was a great course that helped me put all of my knowledge to use.

автор: Roberto R

Mar 09, 2017

it was another nice exercise

автор: Michael B

Mar 06, 2016

Great conclusion to the courses in this Specialization. I would not recommend it for those already (very) familiar with Java but for those starting out with Java this Capstone is just difficult enough to be challenging yet not too easy.

автор: FANGRONG P

Feb 20, 2016

The project is a little bit easy yet tedious, a good practice of using Java though.