Chevron Left
Вернуться к Internet of Things: How did we get here?

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Internet of Things: How did we get here? от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Сан-Диего

3.9
звезд
Оценки: 1,029
Рецензии: 322

О курсе

It is hard to imagine life without your Smartphone – you have come to rely on it so much – for your work; to stay in touch with family and friends; to capture and share those special moments; to find your way around in a new neighborhood. Did you ever wonder how and when all this happened? Or how and when GPS sensors came to be in your cell phone? In this course, we will explore the convergence of multiple disciplines leading to todays’ Smartphones. You will learn about the birth and evolution of Telephony Networks, Broadcast Networks (TV and Radio) and Consumer Electronics. We will discuss the impact of Internet, (multimedia) content, smartphones and apps on everyday lives. We will then look at how this emerging platform called the Internet of Things – wherein billions and trillions of devices communicating with each other and “the cloud” – could enable unprecedented, innovative products and services. Take this course if you want to understand what great new advances in mobile-enabled products will be coming our way! Learning Goals: This course provides a core grounding in how science and technology have developed to enable the Internet of Things – in a way appropriate for any learner. For those interested in developing further hands-on expertise in designing and developing for the Internet of Things, this course will provide a context to the discoveries and converging technologies that will springboard the next round of innovations. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Compare how the telephone system works (that is, peer-to-peer networks) with how media delivery works (that is, broadcast/multicast networks). 2. Explain the tradeoffs between circuit switched networks (that is, dedicated resources) and packet switched networks (that is, shared resources). 3. Tell interesting stories about key innovations that transformed the communications, entertainment and consumer electronics industries. 4. Explain how email, YouTube, SMS, etc. work. 5. Find resources for those wishing to do more of a “deep-dive” into the above topics....

Лучшие рецензии

DR
7 мар. 2016 г.

Hello Everyone,\n\nI really enjoyed this course and definitely this is great learning experience for me..I am heartily thankful to Both Professors for given me this knowledge..\n\nThanks a lot..

GP
4 янв. 2016 г.

Great base for the incoming session in this specialization. I've learned about lot of things what i am using every day dut i had no idea how it was developed. Useful base knowledge.

Фильтр по:

201–225 из 308 отзывов о курсе Internet of Things: How did we get here?

автор: Alex M

22 мар. 2017 г.

Focused a little too much on telephone history, though some was interesting. Perhaps spread out to other modules as short background material.

Would have preferred history/overview from Internet age with focus on various protocols/technologies that were introduced (IP, TCP, UDP, MQTT, Thread, Bluetooth, Zigbee

Module 6 made up for its more dynamic and more germane presentation. May be make it the 1st module, with other modules going back for a brief historical overview

автор: Nisha R

9 мар. 2018 г.

Questions posted at the end of the module are way out of what's being taught in the course. The starting lecture are like going back in time and reading/learning about people who made difference in the world of networking. I am still not sure, how that helps you gain the strong foundation for IoT. I lost interest in the course the moment the questions went way out of sync with the lectures.

автор: Lokesh

10 сент. 2016 г.

While the last module of this course is very interesting and kept with the specialization, the first 5 modules are a waste of time for the most part. Why would I want to learn about AT&T for two weeks? The amount of useful concepts introduced in the first 5 modules won't take more than 15 minutes if unnecessary things were removed.

автор: David P

22 янв. 2016 г.

This could probably be better broken into two one week courses "History of Phone Technology" and "Intro to IoT". Many reviewers say they bail out in first few lectures because content seems too far removed from IoT. I enjoyed the last few lectures with examples of IoT, but could have skipped the rest.

автор: Zhao T

10 авг. 2016 г.

pace is slow. so many video in pieces, and lecturers keep saying like" we will look into more details later" or introduction again and again. I am studying module 2 now, all small lectures like 1 min or 2 mins, which is very shattered, repetitive and annoying.

автор: Tan Y X C

8 авг. 2020 г.

The quiz questions should reviewed again and place at appropriate checkpoints, corresponding to content covered. It will also be good to spread out the content into different weeks and modules to ensure that the workload is more manageable.

автор: Erwin V

18 мар. 2017 г.

In itself interesting content, structure was difficult to follow and the history - in my humble view - was going back too far into the past whereas more recent developments where only touched at the surface, quality of slides was poor.

автор: sateesh P K

29 янв. 2017 г.

This course helped me in getting introduced to the IOT space, it is very basic/preliminary in nature but helps in setting up stage/ context for acquiring more knowledge and hands on next sessions of the certification.

автор: Goh S H E

4 июля 2020 г.

Content is interesting however there seems to be a lot of quizzes with inappropriate questions that are not taught. This is better in module 6 where the questions were answerable by viewing the teaching materials.

автор: Abhishek P

4 дек. 2016 г.

The teaching has been concise and to the point which is good but not so good for a few difficult topics. Also I've been experiencing video lag and audio stuttering while streaming the videos so there's that.

автор: AMAN K

2 апр. 2018 г.

You must provide some materials because it some time get very irritating to answer your quizzes.I just wanted to know that why you guys wanted us to know about the history of AT&T and Bell labs.

автор: Dimitrios M

20 мая 2016 г.

Great instructors.

Lots of historical references and terminology. I would prefer more details about how stuff actually work - in simple layman's terms.

Looking forward to the second course.

автор: Lovevin T

29 мая 2020 г.

The quizzes were very demotivating for me as most of the questions were not covered in the lectures at all. That being said, the lecturer was lively and taught with enthusiasm.

автор: Varun A

13 июня 2017 г.

This course is more of a history type of course which bores the learners. Course should be more of technological knowledge rather than the history of the technology.

автор: Muhammad I A

14 июня 2016 г.

It is informative, but there are many basics that were not covered well & there was a lot of information that was not that interesting (like too much history)

автор: Sam B

1 нояб. 2015 г.

A lot of background information, most of which I was unfamiliar with. Kind of dragged on, but I think it'll ultimately be helpful in the specialization.

автор: Ravi K

2 янв. 2021 г.

Course content is good and gives a good historical perspective of communication systems, but quizzes are mostly irrelevant and in some cases incorrect.

автор: GAN H D

8 сент. 2020 г.

Quiz questions were very often unrelated or not found in the video lecture content. The early half of this course largely pertains to the History of IoT

автор: Krishna C

9 февр. 2016 г.

i feel this course start is somewhat bored because of teaching is not practical based and better follow udacity website tech for teaching interactively

автор: Omar V

27 янв. 2017 г.

The course is fine, but I would give the certificate out for free and charge for the ones that follow in the specialization as an incentive to enroll.

автор: Loh Y T

30 мая 2020 г.

the content is inspiring but some of the content in quizzes are not stated in the lectures, making a hard time to search and check for the answers.

автор: Nicolas B G

9 июня 2020 г.

In most part the quizzes were asking topics not mentioned in videos or didn't give an extra lecture to make a read a prepare the quiz

автор: Josué S B C

22 февр. 2016 г.

Interesting but very introductory. Don't expect to really learn something significant. Easy course. Accent is hard to understand.

автор: Christos K

8 февр. 2016 г.

Introductory, not completely relevant to my goals, could be ommitted. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the delivery of the instructor.

автор: Manish

7 окт. 2016 г.

Not much useful if you want to learn about IOT but helpful if you want to learn historical development that lead to IOT