Chevron Left
Вернуться к Введение в международное уголовное право

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Введение в международное уголовное право от партнера Западный резервный университет Кейза

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 2,032
Рецензии: 513

О курсе

-- About the Course -- From the Nuremberg trial to the case against Saddam Hussein, from the prosecution of Al-Qaeda terrorists to the trial of Somali pirates – no area of law is as important to world peace and security as international criminal law. Taught by one of the world’s leading experts in the field, this course will educate students about the fundamentals of international criminal law and policy. We will explore the contours of international crimes such as genocide, war crimes, terrorism, and piracy. We will examine unique modes of international criminal liability and specialized defenses. And we will delve into the challenges of obtaining custody of the accused and maintaining control of the courtroom. -- Course Syllabus -- This course comprises eight units (or "modules"). Each will include an assigned reading, typically an article or book chapter, as well as a simulation designed to bring the readings to life. I will also offer video lectures on each of the topics, accompanied by slides. In addition, there will be online role-play exercises and debates, enabling the students to share their own insights. The order of class sessions will be: (1) History: From Nuremberg to The Hague (2) International Crimes Part 1: War Crimes, Genocide, Crimes against Humanity, and Torture (3) International Crimes Part 2: Terrorism and Piracy (4) Special modes of liability: command responsibility, co-perpetration, and incitement (5) Special defenses: insanity, obedience to orders, duress, and head of state immunity (6) Gaining custody of the accused: extradition, luring, abduction, and targeted killing (7) Pre-Trial Issues: plea bargaining, self-representation, and exclusion of torture evidence (8) Maintaining control of the courtroom -- Recommended Background -- You don’t have to be a lawyer and there are no prerequisites for this course. However, the course will be conducted at the level expected of advanced undergraduate students. Therefore, for all participants, reading and writing comfortably in English at the undergraduate college level is desirable. -- Suggested Readings -- Students should read the assigned online materials for each unit in advance of the class session. In addition, students are invited to subscribe to “War Crimes Prosecution Watch,” a free bi-weekly e-newsletter that summarizes the latest developments in the field of international criminal law. -- Course Format -- This course is made up of eight content units. Each unit is based on an online reading assignment, a video lecture of about one hour in length, and one or more role play exercises to stimulate on-line discussion. The course also offers in-video enrichment quizzes (ungraded) for each unit, a ten question multiple choice midterm diagnostics exam (ungraded), and a ten question True/False Final Exam. -- FAQ-- How will this course be graded? This course is graded on completion. In order to complete the course each student must: (1) finish each module (or “lesson”); (2) write at least one essay response of 200 words or more for at least one simulation throughout the course; and (3) get a score of 6 out of 10 or better on the Final Exam. What resources will I need for this course? For this course, all you need is an Internet connection, and the time to read and discuss the exciting materials available online. What is the coolest thing about this course? The topics we will be discussing are ripped from the headlines. The topics are often controversial and thought-provoking, and always exciting....

Лучшие рецензии

MK

Apr 11, 2020

The course is very informative and concise, yet it does not leave details that is necessary for nouvelle learners like me, who are interested to delve into understanding International Criminal Law.

RS

Jun 05, 2020

Being a law student one should always expand and widen the knowledge of globally affected issues and international criminal court. this course helps me expand my horizons in international laws.

Фильтр по:

451–475 из 507 отзывов о курсе Введение в международное уголовное право

автор: Martinlevac@gmail.com

Jan 05, 2018

Interesting course. Very detailed look at some of the most common conventions and topics of international law (Geneva, Rome, crimes against humanity, genocide and torture). I was able to pass with a 90% grade but not being familiar with most of the content prior to this undertaking, I did have to devote more time to understand (at time memorize) some of the concepts demonstrated.

автор: universalbri@gmail.com

Aug 20, 2018

For the most part, I enjoyed the lectures, but with the level of interaction and tangible skills and 'take home' points the instructor felt were important, the level of feedback and discourse with the instructor was non existent. He clearly knows his stuff. But do I know what's most important in the lessons? I dont know.

автор: R. L H M E a R L H E

Aug 07, 2017

This course was very challenging and informative. It raised additional questions and drew not only my attention to the current issues that are occurring on a global scale, but also encouraged me to think differently regarding the moves the different leaders have made up to this point in the global political arena.

автор: Anna G

Dec 14, 2016

I enjoyed it very much. The professor shared a lot of valuable information and talked a lot about his experiences, and it was very interesting. I have to admit, I didn't really like the simulations. The questions weren't very interesting, but I liked the idea itself of using it instead of weekly quizzes.

автор: Komal G A

Aug 26, 2017

I really enjoyed thir course. It talks about very interesting international cases and how law was applied. If you don't have law knowledge I think it may be a little difficult to follow, if you have and like criminal law you're gonna enjoy it.

автор: Abhijeet S

Aug 09, 2020

Great Course for the Introduction to the International Criminal Laws. The Online Simulations Helped a lot to understand the concept and how to apply them when we are in place of the actual judges, prosecutors or defense counsel to the case.

автор: Hernán A v

Mar 18, 2019

ESTE CURSO ME AYUDÓ A ENTENDER AL ÁMBITO PENAL INTERNACIONAL, Y TENER UNA MIRADA MÁS CRÍTICA , COMO FUNCIONARIO PÚBLICA, POLICÍA DE LA PROVINCIA DE MENDOZA ARGENTINA. ME AYUDO A ENTENDER MAS EL MARCO DE DERECHO INTERNCIONAL.

автор: Ece Ç

Aug 08, 2016

It was entertaining, but it'd be easier to follow if the videos weren't *that* long. 5 videos of 10 minutes per week would be better in my opinion, it wouldn't frustrate me as much as an hour long video.

автор: Sohum S

Mar 27, 2020

the course overall was very interesting and I have learnt so many things. Such as how to think from a different perspectives, more about modern history and so many other things.

Thank you

автор: Juan S R R

Sep 01, 2017

I have found this course very useful to understand the basic issues of the International Criminal Law. Without doubts, it is a valuable first approximation to this matter.

автор: paula j t m

Jun 22, 2016

it was really good, because its really clear and esay to understand by the videos, talks an maybe the readings are a little bit hard but its good

автор: Shawn V G N

Jul 13, 2020

I loved this course. It was dragging at the start, but it eventually drew my attention with so many modern and recent examples used.

автор: SANDANA S

Jun 17, 2020

GOOD TO GO THROUGH THE LECTURES AND THE VIDEOS ABOUT THE INTERNATIONAL CRITERIA OF CRIMINAL LAWS AND PROVISIONS THROUGH THIS PORTAL.

автор: Budulla T F M

Jan 25, 2017

Gives a very good introduction to International Criminal law, easy to understand and is a great source for research work. Thumps up.

автор: Marco R

Jul 05, 2020

I really enjoyed the contents of this class, it was interesting although i am not a law student. Thank you so much Professor!

автор: Hannah M V

Jan 10, 2017

A very Explanatory and detailed course which would benefit you immensely if you have the time to spend for it.

автор: BHUPESA K P

Jun 14, 2020

This course provide us basic information about Law, Criminal Law and International Criminal Law.

автор: Shahjahan B

Oct 09, 2015

A great initiative to promote international criminal law in the world. I am really enjoying it.

автор: Atiqullah S

Aug 05, 2020

Wonderful course to attend. It gave me a very good insight as to how the trials are done.

автор: Ohad K

Feb 07, 2016

A simple and short course about learning what constitute international criminal law.

автор: Faisal B K V

Jun 18, 2020

Thanks a lot for giving an opportunity to do this course from Coursera.

автор: Gustavo A

Jan 27, 2017

it was very helpfull to understand about International Criminal Law

автор: Abhishek s

Jun 28, 2020

very helpful course for International Law students!!!

автор: Joy S

Sep 05, 2018

very interesting class. Gave me a lot to think about

автор: Paul V d E

Jul 29, 2020

A very interesting course. An excellent instructor.