Chevron Left
Вернуться к Indigenous Canada

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Indigenous Canada от партнера Альбертский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 17,887
Рецензии: 6,398

О курсе

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Лучшие рецензии

JS

21 окт. 2020 г.

I really enjoyed the course! So much I didn't know about the history. I also didn't have a true understanding why there is so much discourse between Indigenous people and government. Total eye opener.

AS

6 сент. 2020 г.

I found this course to be very informative. Thank you for the opportunity to see our shared history from another perspective. I hope this is as groundbreaking for my fellow Canadians as it was for me.

Фильтр по:

6151–6175 из 6,637 отзывов о курсе Indigenous Canada

автор: Tina

17 апр. 2021 г.

I found this quite insightful and enjoyed this course.

What I don't understand is why in Canada using the word Native is derogatory, yet the USA uses Native Americans?

Couldn't find it on the web and still don't understand.

автор: Josh J W

29 окт. 2020 г.

an eye opening account of history that challenged my beliefs and what I had been taught in school growing up. I really enjoyed the first 8 or so units of the course, but found the later four to drop off in quality somewhat

автор: Ingrid H

7 нояб. 2019 г.

Great course, enjoyed it much! The faculty presentations could use more examples. For instance, when watching the last week on art, I would have loved to have seen pictures instead of only the descriptions of the art work!

автор: Evelina D L

3 июня 2021 г.

I​ learned so much from this course, it really gave me a different perspective on the relationship between Indigenous and non-indigenous people of Canada. I think that this is a great course for everyone living in Canada.

автор: Jamie G

13 мар. 2021 г.

Great learning, but do wish they used real photos of the art pieces and the people they spoke of so the people who deserve recognition are seen, as are their important pieces of work that have been outlined in the course.

автор: Jennifer W

14 дек. 2020 г.

The information in this course was well presented, thought provoking and a catalyst in the recognition of personal beliefs about Indigenous peoples. My eyes have been opened to the realities of our country's true history.

автор: Christie B

4 сент. 2017 г.

I really enjoyed this lesson. We took it as a group at work. At times it was a refresher for me, but I learned lots of thing I didn't know previously. I loved this course, so much I signed up for another one.

Thank you.

автор: Erica M

9 июля 2020 г.

I appreciate the Aboriginal POV, and would have liked more examples and stories from individuals. I understand that this is a shirt, survey course and there may not be enough time/space in this course for such content.

автор: Wendy M

20 мая 2019 г.

As a complete beginner to a subject I shamefully should know more about, I thought it was a very comprehensive and informative introduction. If its purpose was to inspire me to want to know more, it worked! Thank you!

автор: Barb D

19 нояб. 2021 г.

The course was well laid out. The modules were easy to follow. The historical information was good. There certainly more info I would like to research now I know its there. The united nations declaration for example.

автор: Simon H

19 окт. 2021 г.

Great content and very informative. The repetitive music and style of the videos becomes a little boring and annoying at times. Also, some of the quiz questions are not worded well and can be difficult to interpret.

автор: Valerie S

21 мар. 2021 г.

I really enjoyed taking this course. The content was clear and very thought provoking. I had some issues with the videos suddenly ending but overall, I would highly recommend this course. Thank you to the instructors.

автор: Krystyne C

29 июля 2021 г.

So much information packed into a well organized course. The only thing I would change is that rather than using one artist at the end of every unit that they would highlight a wider variety of artists and art forms.

автор: Cornelia C

14 нояб. 2021 г.

Being from South Africa, I had very limited information of indigenous people of Canada and their history. I found the course very interesting and informative. The colonialism story is so similar and familiar though.

автор: John W C

8 июня 2017 г.

Lectures and course material were good. Content was very informative and educational. Some of the test questions were poorly constructed and inconsistent with the wording/context of the course material and lectures.

автор: Lista G

28 мар. 2020 г.

A very informative and enjoyable course. This was definitely an area where I lacked knowledge. I now feel I have a much better understanding and grasp of the history, issues , and concerns of our Indigenous people.

автор: Joel P

22 нояб. 2020 г.

Great content, I will share this course opportunity with as many people as I can. Non-Indigenous and Indigenous. Some of the video's in the last couple chapters 10&11 wer a little glitchy, couls have been my Mac.

автор: Jesse K

2 окт. 2020 г.

Very informative course. Provided a unique look into past and current issues from a perspective that is not easy to access or understand. Thank you for all the hard work that must have went into this presentation.

автор: Nicole L

16 июля 2020 г.

This is a great introductory course for those with limited background knowledge about Canada's indigenous groups. I would have liked to see a bit more content about the Inuit people; especially in the arts module.

автор: Sean R

3 апр. 2019 г.

I really enjoyed this course. I learned a lot about indigenous culture. I would like to see more on-line course that expand on the modules in this course. One thing I would have like to have seen in the course was

автор: Laura C

10 сент. 2021 г.

Thoroughly enjoyed the course - For the last Week/Module, it would have been nice to see the art they were discussing, instead of having to Google it myself. Otherwise it was great - great content and presenters.

автор: Kali K

28 окт. 2020 г.

The course was extremely educational on the Indigenous people of Canada and their history.

Some weeks were a review if you have taken Indigenous studies course before.

Overall great course and would recommend it

автор: Hazel L S

5 окт. 2020 г.

I appreciate getting this great summary on Indigenous Canada. My goal is to learn more to assist in my prosecutions so I am dealing fairly with the Indigenous people in my court.

Thanks so much, H. Lynne Stewart

автор: Wendi B

18 нояб. 2020 г.

Great foundational knowledge and information. Authentically delivered. Quizzes were helpful to anchor information. Notes were also helpful. More interaction throughout the lectures would have been useful too.

автор: katherine e

14 янв. 2022 г.

Found the course very interesting and it certainly upped my understanding of the Indigenous in Canada. In Week 12 would have loved to see more pictures of the Indigenous works attributed to the various artists