Chevron Left
Вернуться к Indigenous Canada

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Indigenous Canada от партнера Альбертский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 18,321
Рецензии: 6,531

О курсе

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Лучшие рецензии

BE

17 нояб. 2020 г.

Thank you so much for this course. Also thanks to Dan Levy for suggesting it. The course and weekly chats helped educate me in Canada's true history, information that I should have received in school.

VK

23 февр. 2021 г.

Excdellent course! I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to learn the material presented. Thanks you so much! All the work that was evident in putting this course together was worth the effort!

Фильтр по:

6076–6100 из 6,781 отзывов о курсе Indigenous Canada

автор: Scott D

8 янв. 2022 г.

Honest presentation of matters related to being Indigenous in Canada today. It should be obvious to all students that this course just scratches the surface. Some of the coverage related to resource extraction requires more definition or detail, in my view. Topics such as this can be difficult viewing but the material is presented in such a way as to allow the student to proceed without so much discomfort that they abandon the course.

автор: Charmaine T

18 февр. 2021 г.

A great overview of Indigenous peoples in Canada. The history of decolonization and its continued impact on everyone today is a stark reminder that the work required is still ongoing. However, the resilience and determination of each group will not be shortchanged or pushed aside. The drive to reclaim and let their voices be heard continues to grow and thrive and even amongst challenges, the truth still remains and always will remain.

автор: Richard D

10 дек. 2021 г.

Having worked across Canada in remote areas I have experienced and witnessed the good and the bad of being Indigenous in Canada. This course showed me so much more and opened my eyes to the reality that has been in front of me throughout my life. I started this course to kickstart the exploration of my families Indigenous ancestry and I am now very motivated to learn more about my ancestry and the Indigenous experience in Canada.

автор: Stacey B

23 нояб. 2020 г.

I really enjoyed this course (even though a lot of the content was disheartening to learn about). I thought it was well presented, offered a variety of ways to learn the materials, and engage with the material. I especially thought the artwork was amazing! and the way it was presented in the little videos with Ms. Dorion explaining all the symbolism and stories. I loved that!! Well done! I have already signed up for another course.

автор: Niki K

15 нояб. 2020 г.

Excellent source of history, knowledge and perspective. I did find the repetition of speakers, methods of presenting and unit structure too similar for 12 units (weeks). My attention and engagement appreciates more diversity with instruction methods such as other speakers, more examples of music and art with the artist interpretations, other sources of sharing knowledge - exactly what the interviews scattered throughout provided.

автор: Sheena B H

20 дек. 2020 г.

This is a great course and I feel every Canadian should take this course in elementary and high school.

I am taking it after being in Canada 50 years and am shamed that it’s taken me so long to acknowledge the first people and their past and ongoing trials and challenges! Thank you to all the scholars.

Be proud, be strong and keep sharing your history and your future achievements.

I am going to look for a course on indigenous art!

автор: Yvonne C

3 февр. 2022 г.

I very much appreciated all the content, the research and the art works as well as all the multi-media effects. I would just like to suggest more visual examples of events and/or artifacts in some of the chapters. As well, the format of some chapters are not congruent with the rest of the document. Thank you for sharing your culture to the world. I hope more and more people become aware of your culture and would support it.

автор: Merewyn W

25 нояб. 2020 г.

It was very educational, and left me wanting to learn more. I did however find it a bit dry in it's story telling, it could have been a bit more dynamic to keep your interest. I am sure budget had a lot to do with it. Personally I would have liked some more visual examples to help exemplify points, whether that be more stills, video footage, animations, or other type of creative elements to help walk us through the chapters.

автор: Rob A

25 окт. 2020 г.

Timely and thorough, within the time constraints. A good introduction for someone interested in better understanding the origins of contemporary First Nations issues and aspirations. Better use could have been made of the static background behind the speakers - illustrations of the subjects under discussion could have been shown without distracting from the spoken presentations. I have recommended this course to friends.

автор: Kyra H

13 нояб. 2020 г.

The information presented in this course was very thorough and well organized. It helped teach me many things that had been left out of a traditional Canadian education in elementary and high school. The only critique I would have is that the videos were hard to continuously listen to, I ended up having to pause and read transcripts to better understand the course and retain information while not losing attention or focus.

автор: Mimi

9 окт. 2020 г.

I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course and learning a lot I did not know. You've reawakened my thirst for 'local' knowledge and history of our Canada. I'm sure over time you'll get the transcribing more accurate, but that was only an inconvenience. It could have been quite confusing to some people though. Thank you for doing a great job of sharing such a large variety of information about the Indigenous people.

автор: Linda B

1 февр. 2021 г.

Thank you for all of the information conveyed during the course of the classes. I believe I have a better understanding of some aspects.

My only criticism is that sometimes the quiz questions were not directly related to material covered in the “ chapter”. Not sure why that happened, however I am happy that I stuck it out to the end!

I also appreciated the visual art at the end of each class, beautiful work! Thank you!

автор: Paul D

22 мар. 2022 г.

I learned a lot from the course. A group of us (about 12) from one United Church congregation took the course and met every two weeks for discussion. The original plan was to do six weeks in the fall and six weeks in the winter, but the course did not offer that flexibility.

I would have liked to have known more about the 60's scoop and the effects of adoption of indigenous children into non-indigenous families.

автор: Sue H

12 апр. 2021 г.

This course was excellent. I learned so many things I never knew before, but ought to have known. It has given me more understanding of Indigenous issues, and their (true) historical context. The lectures were of a reasonable length, and presented in an interesting format. I enjoyed the styles and variety of each of the 3 professors, and also greatly admired the art and explanations of the artist Leah Dorion.

автор: Diana G

19 окт. 2020 г.

Some of the references have become outdated, especially in the last section. With so much interest among the wider population in Canada in understanding indigenous perspectives and history, it would be great to review and update the course material. Would have appreciated more visual representation of art being discussed in the Culture section. Generally enjoyed the course and learned a lot. Thank you, miigwech!

автор: LInda S

6 дек. 2021 г.

This was a very good intro to the Indigenous peoples in Canada. It covered the history, the culture and the issues faced by the Indigenous people.

I do think though that some of the questions in the quizzes should be looked at again to verify that there is only one correct answer or that the answer is in the videos or notes.

Thanks you for offering this course virtually and for free. I will recommend it to others.

автор: Kimia G

2 янв. 2021 г.

This is a great course for anyone who is unfamiliar with Indigenous history and peoples in Canada and wants to learn more. The course will give you a comprehensive overview, and weaves in beautiful artwork by Leah Dorion that I absolutely loved. I especially appreciated the modules on the Fur Trade, governance systems, the various Treaties, the Indian Act, residential schools, and Indigenous women and artists.

автор: Alix R

2 нояб. 2020 г.

Excellent course, but the format could use improvement. 12 weeks of the same format for each module (multiple videos, reading, quiz) made the course feel repetitive and very long. It would be better if each module incorporated different interactive elements or ways to present the information. Despite this, the content is excellent and is an essential source of information that every Canadian should learn from.

автор: Carol G

3 дек. 2020 г.

Thank you. I feel the gap in my understanding of the indigenous perspective of history was significant. I would now like to study each specific area of the course in more depth. Thank you for helping me ‘see’ more clearly and providing me a new framework with which to view my country and the colonialism which shaped its trajectory. There is much healing, learning and reconciliation that must guide our future.

автор: Janice M P

26 нояб. 2021 г.

​This was my first on line course in my quest for knowledge of our Indigenous people. I did find the sections about the treaty process and dates heavy going but history never was my forte. Never the less, I have completed the course and have also completed Aboriginal Worldviews from UoT. This is a great way to expand my knowledge of an area that, regretably, was never taught when I was in the school systems.

автор: Stephanie R

11 дек. 2020 г.

This is an excellent course that I think every Canadian should take. In fact, I think it should be mandatory in all levels of school from elementary to University level. It would also be helpful to have a similar course on Indigenous history in the US. I don't even know if reconciliation is a thing in the U.S. I do think this course could be updated though, because a lot has changed over the last 10 years.

автор: Molly R T

20 сент. 2020 г.

At times it seemed as though the course prioritized presenting the contributions that indigenous peoples have made to colonial Canada instead of focusing on the ways in which settler society/systems have damaged and impeded life for indigenous communities (I found this mainly in week 6 but at other times as well). I would love the opportunity to delve into some of these ideas further in follow-up courses!

автор: Felix A

12 окт. 2020 г.

Essential course for ALL colonial settlers. Suggestions: for modules that are long or contain a lot of facts, eg Module 8 and the final one, please have Quizzes at shorter intervals to build encouragement. Also, include more visual examples, especially for Indigenous Artists, to enhance interest and help personalize the lectures. Grateful thanks for a liberating eye opener on Canada’s HIDDEN HISTORY 🙏🏽

автор: Anne P J

2 авг. 2021 г.

i​ found the videos had just the right level of complexity for someone new to the topic. I appreciated that i could then print off a transcript of the videos as a permanent resource to refer back to. I liked that i could do the course in my own time and at my own pace. I would thoroughky recommend this course to anyone who wishes to educate themselves about the true story of indigenous people in Canada.

автор: Tiffany T

10 дек. 2020 г.

Great primer for history of Indigenous Peoples in Canada, especially evolution of relationships with European settlers. I am glad the course talks about diversity of Indigenous Peoples rather than grouping them together. I did not have time to delve into the interactive art at the end of each module, but I love this idea. Some questions and answers on quizzes are worded strangely or are a bit ambiguous.