Chevron Left
Вернуться к Indigenous Canada

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Indigenous Canada от партнера Альбертский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 18,220
Рецензии: 6,500

О курсе

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Лучшие рецензии

DN

30 авг. 2020 г.

This is a great survey course about Indigenous Canada. As a participant, I have learned and unlearned so much about Indigenous Canadians, and more important, this course has inspired me to learn more.

JB

21 янв. 2018 г.

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

Фильтр по:

5976–6000 из 6,747 отзывов о курсе Indigenous Canada

автор: Ann M H

22 июля 2020 г.

Very meaningful content from indigenous perspective. All the speakers were clear. The content was well organized and I liked the repeating themes for comprehension of difficult and new subjects. I enjoyed very much Leah Dorion presentations of her art and have become a fan. I feel so much better anchored in indigenous history, crucial to my professional job of curating rare book collection of early explorers. I have been taught about indigenous worldviews and the enormous constraint put upon communities post European contact.

автор: Julie B

10 авг. 2021 г.

I found this course to be very informative, and I learned a ton. I especially appreciated the early modules about the treaties and the fur trade. However, I found the delivery of the material to be quite dry, and although Leah Dorian’s artwork was beautiful, I would have liked to have seen some different artists, especially in the last module about Art. Some of the quiz questions weren’t that straightforward as well. But all in all, I was very pleased with this free course, and will continue to educate myself going forward. 

автор: Adam M

9 апр. 2020 г.

From a white man looking into a foreign culture, it was very interesting to see the uniqueness and beauty of the Indigenous culture brings. The content of this course was exactly what I was hoping for. Some criticism: I hate trick questions and I strongly believe that they should be left out of testing. Additionally, some of the material was presented in a very dry and monotonal way. I would have liked to see more enthusiasm and excitement when someone is talking about their roots. Overall, I really enjoyed this course.

автор: Elizabeth M

1 янв. 2022 г.

L​oved the course, the way it was presented, the accessiblity and the content. The presenters were clear and informative and the course material gave a great overview for indigenous history and past and present social justice issues. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 was that there were quite a few typo errors in the course notes and a few pieces of information that differed from what the course presenters said. Otherwise, I am very grateful for this personal and professional development opportunity. Thank you.

автор: Teresa S G

26 янв. 2022 г.

I​ was very moved by the content of this course. It has motivated me to learn more about Indigenous peoples in Canada. I found the format good, the videos and reading material excellent. I would have liked to see images of the art discussed in the last module. I also found some of the sections were difficult to understand because of esoteric jargon. However, I really appreciate the opportunity to take this course and can say that it has deepened my appreciation of the indigenous people in a very profound way. Thank you.

автор: stephen s

27 окт. 2021 г.

Sometimes there was too much repetition and I think, another edit, with the view to removing redundant material would make for a more powerful course. Another comment I have is the course would benefit from a more comprehensive view of pre-contact Indigenous governance and systems. As these were also created by people they would also have had their challenges/weaknesses (as well as their strong points of course which are adequately presented) and it'd be good to have a sense of these as well. Overall pretty good though.

автор: Lisa L

3 мая 2021 г.

I very much enjoyed and appreciate this course. I provided a 4 out of 5 being that , while each unit will ask a question within the unit, and a number of these units only provide the answer only after the question is asked - leaving the student often set up to be without an answer. to fail that question (opposed to being provided with/taught the information prior to being asked the question and instead leaving the answer yet to be provided/learned).

Thank you so very much for this opportunity.

Respectfully, Lisa Lacroix

автор: Brenda C

29 дек. 2020 г.

This course was very educational. It provided excellent base information and provided me with information that would help me begin to look at Canadian history and current events with new perspective. I had no idea of the horrible treatment of First Nations peoples and no idea of the history that has created such complex and abysmal conditions to be faced by generations of First Nations peoples. I do have a better knowledge base and will continue my learning so that I can speak more intelligently of our histories.

автор: Shirley M

29 нояб. 2021 г.

I​ enjoyed the course and learned a great deal. It was well paced and the faciliators spoke clearly and easy to understand. I came across a couple of glitches, such as the pop quiz coming up before the material on the quiz was covered (two modules), and a few of the questions in the end of module quizzes seemed to be worded more to confuse than to test knowledge. Other than these issues, I am very satisfied with the learning and have recommended the course to many friends for value of the information. Thank you.

автор: Valerie A

9 нояб. 2020 г.

I learned a great deal. I am Wyandat / Metis/ Canadian and just getting to know my Grandmother's family/culture/history . I understand the need to educate with accurate Canadian ( Kanata or any) history . There was some repeat of * feelings* , rather than * facts* that started to sound preachy, but I also understand the importance of peoples feelings and the need and right to express them. Overall really enjoyed the course, ( content, delivery, presenters, and opportunity to participate).

Thank you.

автор: Susan B

11 мар. 2021 г.

I found it fascinating to learn another perspective on my assumptions of "truth" Eye opening and humbling. It gave me a sense of pride in the rich cultures I learned about, particularly in the arts . my only complaint was that I would have liked to have seen more examples of the various artists work, perhaps in the background while the lecture was going on. There are so many wrongs that need to be acknowledged, to allow for future understanding and co-existence. Thank you for this excellent course.

автор: nancy m

21 авг. 2021 г.

Sadly, I learned almost nothing about Indigenous culture in my public school years, so this course was a very good fit for something I had been wanting for many years. It provided a very good, and broad overview in preparation for my next educational venture, San'yas Indigenous Cultural Safety Training. The course notes were helpful as I tend to learn better by reading. I would encourage you to have them professionally edited as it is clearly a transcript of spoken words that don't always "read well".

автор: Roman P

20 нояб. 2017 г.

This course helps to explore indigenous Canada deeply. I work in the museum where there is a huge exhibition about indigenous people of Northern America and wanted to have a deeper understanding of our collection and different traditions connected with it.

The only reason why I didn't give 5 stars to this course is that I would like to have a little shorter version of it, pointing more attention to cultural and historical developments of different nations and less to the exact dates and personalities.

автор: James B

21 дек. 2020 г.

This is an awesome Course! Very well put together and alot of great information. I still think that it needs more detail on how current Colonial systems/Chief and council systems work with IOGC and Band funds etc. Band Council Resolutions and the changes in voting throughout the nation. I would give it a 4.75 out of 5 if I could but I am a little Bias as I took the ACIR course and got to go to Banff and interact with others. the Electives were a bonus too. Merry Christmas and Good work

James Blackman

автор: Sandra M

19 мая 2021 г.

I found the organization and content of the course to be excellent and have encouraged others to sign up for it. I think the use if interviews worked well to add variety and interest

I think there could be more interest put into backgrounds and did find voice modulation of all three primary lecturers somewhat monotonous.

I am new to online learning so may have unrealistic expectations of the scope of online lecturing.

On the whole the course was well worth taking. My thanks to all who were involved.

автор: Maureen W K

27 дек. 2020 г.

Indigenous Canada is a very good survey of a very broad field. It encourages me to pursue further studies of Indigenous issues. I experienced a technical difficulty with the art videos of each module as very "truncated or incomplete and "freezing up". The Module 12 Dorion video helped to clear up some of the resultant confusion. I would have liked to have learned more about the history of treaties in Canada. Perhaps another course is in my future... Thank you for a very educational experience.

автор: Carmen H G

9 окт. 2020 г.

I really, really benefitted from this course.

I was impressed with the substance of the material, and enjoyed the lecture aspect of it.

I feel like I have a clearer understanding of the Indigenous viewpoint on Canadian history, and although it's painful to hear certain truths, as a Settler, I am better for it and begin to inform others about it with greater objectivity and information as my allies.

Many, many thanks for making this very needed and very necessary course free for all of us!

Carmen Grant

автор: Marcie E B

10 апр. 2022 г.

O​verall wonderful! Learned so much. Well organized and liked how each week built on the previous.Would have liked to have visual examples of the art / artists as they were presented in the last module.

A​lso some of the info was a bit outdated, eg. Neechi COmmons no longer around, when I went to look at for info. This would be a good addition - talking about WHY an important inititative like Neechi was not sustainable.

T​hank you!! Amazing work and I am telling everyone I know to take this course!

автор: Tiarra K

3 мая 2018 г.

I think the content of the course was fantastic, easy to understand and yet added depth to my understanding of Canadian history. I wish every Canadian would take this course! The only thing I would change is having more visual examples of the art described in the last segment such as "Walking with our sisters" and "Trace" because it would have added some context to the unit on Art but now I can continue my own personal research. Thank you for making this course so easily accessible for everyone!

автор: Rosemary H

1 нояб. 2020 г.

Very informative course, with a wide array of topics, all instructed with care and in great detail. I feel that i've learned a lot. The instruction was a little dry, but I believe this is mostly because of the online element. The content itself though was very well delivered. I especially liked the interviews! Being able to hear people tell what they know and have experienced in their own words makes the whole experience more real, and gives a more defined picture. Very glad to have taken part!

автор: Cecilia R

1 апр. 2022 г.

I enjoyed the videos- especially the interviews with members of the Indigenous community, professors and students. Some of the quizzes were really difficult. I wish I had access to the videos to share with my students. I took this course as part of my professional development and I feel as though I have learned so much, but now I don't have access to share material that I think could be really insightful to my students. Thank you for putting this together. I am a U 0f A alum, BEd grad 1998.

автор: José C C B

21 апр. 2020 г.

Un curso muy interesante que aporta mucho para conocer desde una perspectiva antropológica a los indígenas de Canadá. Aporta mucho sobre la situación actual que viven los indígenas del Canadá: su situación, política, económica y social. Me quedo con ganas de conocer otros aspectos más clásicos como algunas referencias a algún estudio concreto de casos de parentesco, también alguna referencia sobre antropología del cuerpo y el espacio o algún caso de antropología lingüística. Un buen curso.

автор: Carol B

26 янв. 2021 г.

I have only one issue. The content of this course was very dense and I found your time frame, especially the readings at the end of each module took much longer then estimated. I actually filled a legal pad with notes which helped me remember all of the facts and names. In all, with videos, I probably spent about 4 hours on each module. Otherwise, a fantastic course and I am so happy as a Metis person to have the opportunity for this overview. It taught me so very much. Thank-you!!

автор: Beth F

2 окт. 2020 г.

Thank you so much for this valuable course...it has been an important addition to my limited knowledge about Indigenous history. As many have said before me "it has provided me with a history of "Canada" I was never taught in school". I have recommended this course to many people in my work and personal life. If there was one piece of critical feedback I could provide, it would be that there is very little content or focus on the eastern areas of Canada. Kind regards and thank you again.

автор: Craig S

21 февр. 2021 г.

Good high level overview. Obviously would like to get into more specific examples but difficult given the time frame. In particular, showing more of the actual works in the last section would have been good (“google time”). Also, could not find the list of musicians, authors etc you mentioned in the video. That would be a nice kick off for further exploration. Thanks for putting together the course. Definitely has me thinking of things from a different viewpoint and inspired discussion.