Chevron Left
Вернуться к Чудеса человеческого языка: введение в лингвистику

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Чудеса человеческого языка: введение в лингвистику от партнера Лейденский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 1,720
Рецензии: 503

О курсе

Everywhere, every day, everybody uses language. There is no human society, no matter how small or how isolated, which does not employ a language that is rich and diverse. This course introduces you to linguistics, featuring interviews with well-known linguists and with speakers of many different languages. Join us to explore the miracles of human language! The Miracles of Human Language introduces you to the many-faceted study of languages, which has amazed humans since the beginning of history. Together with speakers of many other languages around the world, as well as with famous linguists such as Noam Chomsky and Adele Goldberg, you will learn to understand and analyse how your native tongue is at the same time similar and different from many other languages. You will learn the basic concepts of linguistics, get to know some of the key features of big and small languages and get insight into what linguists do. This course gives an introduction into the study of languages, the field of linguistics. With the support of the basic linguistic terminology that is offered in the course, you will soon be able to comment both on variety between languages, as well as on a single language’s internal structure. Anyone who wishes to understand how languages work, and how they can give us insight into the human mind is very welcome to join. The course is useful if you want to get a fairly quick introduction into linguistics, for instance because you are considering studying it further, or because you are interested in a neighbouring discipline such as psychology, computer science or anthropology. Furthermore, the course will help you develop analytical skills. If you are curious to understand how language works and how it gives insight into the human mind, this course is definitely for you!...

Лучшие рецензии

DC

Sep 24, 2017

Extremely informational, well presented, with questions that stimulate reflection. The optional reading material is food for thought. I hope to see more courses from the same professor and University.

SS

Mar 22, 2019

I've taken a number of online courses on linguistics now, and this one was by and far the best. The material covered is indepth and engaging, and the professor's enthusiam makes the videos a delight.

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 498 отзывов о курсе Чудеса человеческого языка: введение в лингвистику

автор: Samal A

May 03, 2020

I really enjoyed the course considering that it is a free course. Generally, I was pleased with the content and interviews, also additional reading materials are really interesting. Thank you for your hard work. Looking forward to a more advanced course on linguistics.

автор: Esmee d B

Sep 13, 2020

Excellent introduction into linguistics. Touches upon the basics of the most common approaches to linguistics, clear videos, good informants where you're challenged to apply your skill. It was my first course so I can't compare but I suspect the bar has been set high.

автор: Doron V

Jun 16, 2016

Excellent and most enjoyable course!

The videos of the professor and his students are clear and fluent and even the quiz are not too hard.

And the best part are the informants in various languages one does not encounter every day.

The course is mostly recommended to all.

автор: Jessica R

Sep 09, 2017

Professor Marc van Oostendorp is a wonderful teacher. You can see he loves his subject and finds joy in it, and he enjoys transmitting his knowledge to others. It was a good rhythm to have the in and out flow of Martin and Inge as well. I really enjoyed this course.

автор: Mrinalini P

Jun 21, 2016

Despite some technical difficulties with the forum and the quiz, the actual course was so AMAZINGLY interesting that it has motivated me to take up linguistics in the future. I didn't lose interest even once for the entirety of the six weeks I spent on this course!

автор: Moeko R

May 25, 2020

Very good course; would recommend to anyone who is interested in learning a little about linguistics. It is the perfect level for an introductory course, not too difficult, but very informative and covered many topics and featured many interesting guest speakers.

автор: 姜徐宁

May 31, 2017

Extremely pleasant experience gotten in the course, I think it's worth trying for anyone who has the slightest related or direct interest in Linguistics. This reveals some facts of common concerns in my opinion. Reasonable setting of sections as a guiding course.

автор: Aline M d O

Jul 21, 2019

The course is really interesting, I highly appreciated the lectures, reference materials and the instructor. I would only point out the some of the exercises are way to difficult (only the ones related to the IPA and comparison of sounds in different languages).

автор: Chris M

Apr 01, 2018

Very enjoyable, but also filled with a lot of in depth information! I learned a lot and found the instructors' presentation style to be very conducive to learning the concepts well and to keep my interest throughout the 6 weeks. I would take a follow up class.

автор: Ashlesha G

Sep 11, 2020

very good learning material and presentation. It really helped me to get the introduction of linguistics. I would like to take more advanced courses on this subject from the same university. Please consider putting intermediate and advanced level courses too.

автор: Balvan S

Jun 30, 2020

This is my first course on Coursera. I always wanted to learn about different languages. This course is designed so well and the videos and study material provided are excellent. I thank the whole team for this excellent course. I really enjoyed this course.

автор: Randall A B I

Jun 29, 2020

A great introduction to various aspects of the vast field of linguistics. The professor is very enthusiastic and the professional interviews are quite interesting and informative. Additionally, you get to study diverse languages spoken by native informants!

автор: Niloufar S

Sep 15, 2017

I recommend this MOOC to all fans of linguistics, learning languages, and people who are interested in deeper understanding of what is indeed "a Language"! Special thanks to prof. dr. Oostendorp for his clear and kind way of transferring his vast knowledge.

автор: Max W

Jun 20, 2019

An excellent well-rounded introduction to the field of linguistics. The students gets to learn about language in many facets, with a perfect mix of informational lectures, video discussions, and self-guided learning. Wonderful professor and great material!

автор: Fotios C

Sep 11, 2019

Fantastic insight into the world of linguistics! Very high quality course. Professor van Oostendorp creates an atmosphere that makes learning fun. If you have an interest in evolution of languages and in etymology, this is the course you should take!

автор: Jan D

Aug 14, 2017

I really liked the enthusiasm of the professor and Inge and Martin. The complementary interviews were also very interesting. As a post-journalism (and post-premaster) student, it was definitely beneficial for my sociolinguistic master program.

автор: Axel J B B

Jul 28, 2020

This has been one of my favorite MOOCs. It is a bit harder than the average MOOC, but it's really worth the effort. Brilliant insights, thought-provoking concepts and a very friendly dynamic makes this course worth every minute spent on it.

автор: Hasan A C

Jun 19, 2020

It extended my horizon and I gained so much insight into languages. I highly recommend you taking up this course. They also interview other linguists who are experts in their field every week. The professors' enthusiasm motivates you a lot.

автор: Yolanda L

May 23, 2016

Great course! The professor is enthusiastic and very clear in his presentation, and they present the material in digestible, clear language. The course also did a good job prioritizing what to include in a short amount of videos. Thank you!

автор: Dot

Apr 19, 2020

Very informative course and a perfect introduction to linguitics. A bit difficult at times (sociolinguistics is not my forte, I suppose), but again - why study something too easy? :) I'd love to see more content, perhaps another course?

автор: RaHel

Dec 19, 2019

Wonderfully made, gives you a strong basis on the subject, accessible to those with little to no background . The videos are interesting and clear, and examples are given from a variety of languages, and the course is very enjoyable.

автор: Cliona Y

Jun 09, 2020

Great use of interviews of professors around the world with different backgrounds and studies, it shows how linguistics is applied. Clear examples used by informants, although I wish there were subtitles available for those videos.

автор: Sunny S

Jul 09, 2016

A lot of materials are accessible in the course. It is obvious that professors have done a lot of preparation, so that the learning experience is really amazing. The course arises my interest for Linguistics. Highly recommended.

автор: Marty M M

Feb 24, 2019

The best part of this course was the introduction of many useful resources: World Atlas of Language Structures, Ethnologue, Babel Magazine, etc. The lecturer and his assisting students are entertaining and easy to understand.

автор: Peter B

Dec 25, 2018

A really excellent introduction to many aspects of linguistics (from the sound to the social level):

Kudos to the wonderful Marc van Oostendorp and his team!

But, beware dear reader: Some of the quizzes are really "tricky" :-)