Chevron Left
Вернуться к HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

Отзывы учащихся о курсе HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers от партнера Университет Джонса Хопкинса

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 10,048
Рецензии: 3,483

О курсе

Do you realize that the only functionality of a web application that the user directly interacts with is through the web page? Implement it poorly and, to the user, the server-side becomes irrelevant! Today’s user expects a lot out of the web page: it has to load fast, expose the desired service, and be comfortable to view on all devices: from a desktop computers to tablets and mobile phones. In this course, we will learn the basic tools that every web page coder needs to know. We will start from the ground up by learning how to implement modern web pages with HTML and CSS. We will then advance to learning how to code our pages such that its components rearrange and resize themselves automatically based on the size of the user’s screen. You’ll be able to code up a web page that will be just as useful on a mobile phone as on a desktop computer. No “pinch and zoom” required! Last but certainly not least, we will get a thorough introduction to the most ubiquitous, popular, and incredibly powerful language of the web: Javascript. Using Javascript, you will be able to build a fully functional web application that utilizes Ajax to expose server-side functionality and data to the end user....

Лучшие рецензии

SM
10 июня 2020 г.

Actually the best online course i hv ever learnt,especially the professor yaakov is quiet outstanding.And a field trip in a online course sounds rare and good!!Thank You Coursera and yakkov for this!!

SW
14 мар. 2016 г.

This was a really great course, i learned so much, and it was really interesting and very well explained. I will be taking any more courses done by Yaakov! Really excellent course, thank you so much.

Фильтр по:

76–100 из 3,396 отзывов о курсе HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

автор: Nathan Y

1 мар. 2019 г.

Excellent course. While I have no goal of becoming a professional web developer, as a professional system architect, this course has given me an important foundation in javascript, and added significant depth to my knowledge of CSS and HTML. Knowing javascript is more and more important as Node.js becomes embedded as the go-to solution for a wide-variety of activities within modern micro-services architecture. Yaakov is an engaging lecturer and he addresses some of the more esoteric best practices and javascript kludges quite well. Javascript is a messy language and Yaakov is up-front and unambiguous about how to do it right.

автор: Nicolas S V

18 янв. 2017 г.

This was a really interesting course, it shows you not only the granularity of a project, but also how to build it in a way that allows you to keep scaling with different technologies, basically as the title of the course says, you will implement a real site, and Yaakov will give you a ride to the clients restaurant in order to take requirements, you are going to create a website for that restaurant, and step by step you will see how to improve it, from simple HTML structures to complex Javascript code (using good practices). It will give confidence if you already have some knowledge and you will learn a LOT if you are new.

автор: Dorian A

23 февр. 2017 г.

Excelente! Los conocimiento desplegados en el curso son muy completos! En lo personal repeti cada leccion y estudie los fundamentos varias veces, ya que hay cosas que de repente se pasan por alto pero que si se considera el tiempo que dura el curso (5 semanas) es mas que entendible. Tratar de ir mas alla requeriria mucho mas tiempo. Sin embargo vuelvo y repito el contenido abarcado es bastante, y al finalizar estas en plena capacidad de empezar a contribuir en proyectos de desarrollo web. De verdad excelente y gran parte de la calidad de este curso se debe a Yaakov y su tutoria dinamica y para nada aburrida. Saludos!

автор: Mario P

2 мая 2017 г.

Johns Hopkins University shows how versatile teaching institutions needs to be these days, delivering an extremely well prepared online course. Having Professor Yaakov Chaiking on the driving seat, was certainly a wise choice, as he is a great communicator, able to keep the audience interest up to the very last lesson.

I was looking for an introductory course on HTML and CSS, which is amazingly covered during the first three weeks of the course. Javascript was a plus, a highly useful one.

This was a great learning experience, and a fun one too! Hats off to Professor Yaakov Chaiking for such a great performance!

автор: Fernando

8 мар. 2016 г.

One of the best Coursera courses I've taken so far. The quality of the contents is second to none - Not to mention the way they're presented is simply outstanding.

If I had to come up with areas of improvement, I'd probably say that the length the weekly sections is a little bit overwhelming. Actually, I think the contents of this course should be split into two separate courses on their own so the various concepts can be absorbed in a more efficient way.

I've really enjoyed going through this course and I must say I've definitely accomplished all the learning goals I set for myself at the very beginning.

автор: Hanadi H

12 авг. 2019 г.

I liked the course very much! Everything about it is great. Yaacov meticulously explains needed information. The slides are adequate. It's nice to have the information spoken by Yaacov as printed for further comprehension and follow up. The field trip for the website was really good. It's the first time I get exposed to the life of Jews and I found many similarities with my background. Of course there are so much information concerning the course that I need further readings (from the Readings list) and perhaps to restudy the course on my own to have a really sturdy base in web development. Thank you!

автор: Ruslan R

3 апр. 2016 г.

This covers provides excellent coverage of the most fundamental concepts of front-end development. The presentation style in the lectures was very clear and easy to understand and the information in the lectures themselves, particularly the ones on CSS and Javascript, was quite comprehensive. I have learned much more about CSS than I ever knew before and have even been able to apply that knowledge in my full-time job as a software engineer. This has all been possible thanks to this course. I highly recommend this course to anyone who is looking to understand much more about front-end development.

автор: Arpan P

22 окт. 2020 г.

This is probably one of the best online courses that anyone can get not only in Coursera but across any online teaching platform. And it's all because of having an wonderful course instructor as Yaakov Chaikin. Thank you Sir. You have made me understand the fundamental concepts of HTML, CSS Framework and JavaScript so much easily and precisely. Also as you said, not many computer science courses take us on a field trip! Although virtual, it was fun. And that's what added the cherry on the cake.

Definitely this course deserves a 5 Star rating. Loved it! And learned a TON.

автор: Mahmud F U A

23 июня 2016 г.

A perfect gateway into web development. I would recommend this course to anybody who deals with websites in general. Even if you are not a developer, you can take this course just to know how websites do the things they do. It's concise yet very complete, and very rewarding.

All the content is structured very well: the topics are divided into small morsels, if you will, perfect for learning. The instructor, Yaakov Chaikin, is one of the best teachers I have come across and the assignments are engaging and pose just enough challenge to help you learn. Five stars any day.

автор: Paul S

18 окт. 2016 г.

It's an all-rounder course with a great introduction to HTML, CSS and Javascript/jQuery/AJAX. There's enough formal background to tell you why things are they way they are and what each HTML, CSS, JS component is meant to achieve and how to do it. Great links to external resources as well. The practical examples and assignments do all they should to reinforce that. The course gives a very good base to build on by yourself, or continue further with more advanced material. It definitely helps to have some programming experience for the latter material on Javascript.

автор: Vinicius d N S d S

26 сент. 2016 г.

Great course! I really enjoyed it. It helped consolidate a lot of important knowledge, in order to create high quality, modern web applications.

I do have one suggestion though, which would be creating a version of this course directed to Ruby on Rails. The framework has numerous helpers for building frontend and a lot of things displayed in this course could be approached differently with the help of Rails. I would've enjoyed having this perspective, since I'm taking the Ruby on Rails specialization.

Nonetheless, congratulations on the great course you guys put up!

автор: huzefa s

15 сент. 2019 г.

This is a great course for anyone who wants to learn front end web development. The material in the course is designed in such a manner that it does not take much time and yet provides in-depth knowledge about the subject. Five stars for the members of the John Hopkins university team and coursera which spent huge efforts to deliver and create this course. You people have done a fantastic job of creating a course which does not take much time of the learner yet leaves him fully prepared to take challenges he may face in the industry of front end web development.

автор: Carrie H

28 нояб. 2020 г.

This was an excellent course. It covered everything from html, CSS, the Bootstrap framework, responsive design, JavaScript, and Ajax and JSON parsing for getting data, and rendering it dynamically. I was impressed with the simple and concise explanations of some of the more nuanced JavaScript concepts like closures, how the 'this' keyword references can vary, and using IIFEs for namespacing. I highly recommend this course for anyone interested in learning about front end web development. It was definitely thorough coverage for a course of this length.

автор: Yijie Q

25 июля 2016 г.

I've learned bits and pieces of HTML, CSS, and Javascript in school and work. With that said, this course was an easy one for me, nevertheless it helped organizing my prior web dev knowledge, and had definitely shined lights onto some details that I didn't know before. Yaakov did a great job explaining the basic concepts, as well as tapping into the common tricks and pitfalls.

I'd recommend this course to anyone who's just starting to learn web development, as well as those who'd like to put their previous on-the-spot learnings into an organized piece.

автор: genelle p

2 мар. 2016 г.

I am really enjoying the class so far. The professor and teaching assistants have been very responsive to questions in the forum. I've been looking for a HTML/Javascript course that wasn't a super beginner level course as I have some programming experience but am trying to learn more, and this class fits the bill. If you are very new to programming I wouldn't recommend taking this as the professor moves pretty quickly, but if you're like me and want to learn web development and have some programming knowledge under your belt, this class is made for you!

автор: Luznery d C V M

11 янв. 2017 г.

Highly recommended course!

Because I improve my knowledge of CSS3, I learned to develop an environment working with Git, create pages in GitHub. I wanted to create my first page in GitHub and I made it through this course. I also improved my JavaScript skills and learned Ajax which is totally new to me. And finally and no less important the assignment of module 5 was super incredible. I thank the Instructor Yaakov Chaikin is a great instructor super inspiring and the whole team of mentors were fantastic, they were of great help. :)

Thank you very much!

автор: Kavi S

28 июня 2020 г.

I am a second year undergrad from India. Before enrolling into this course, I was in dilemma whether or not I should take this course up because web development was something that didn't interest me much. After entering the course too, I was reluctant to do it. But once, it started off, it grew all the interest in me and I would not deny it that it is all because of Mr.Yaakov Chaikin. His way of teaching is so engaging that now, I love Web development and I am even thinking of enrolling in your AngularJS course too.

Thanks Yaakov and yes, Coursera

Kavi

автор: Kshitij G

28 февр. 2016 г.

I am super confident even with just two weeks into the course of coming out as a really skilled developer, and hopefully have a fairly advanced "developer's intuition". Best part is he has worked diligently on the minutest of details and been careful how on-line learning can be difficult.

I have never done coding, and have often wondered what could be special to it.

So.. guess the course approaches a specialisation successfully allowing retention of that "excitement & curiosity" that almost always is inherent to learning.

Five stars already.

автор: sargon h

27 июня 2016 г.

Yakoov is one of the best instructors I ever had on coursera. I am planning to take additional courses from him as instructor. This class is great. I was expecting just the a basic refresher course on the basic web technologies, but I ended up getting more than what I expected. The coverage is just enough to getting off the ground and explore more complex topics. Also, the responsive design coverage was completely appropriate and timely, at least in my case. I highly recommend taking this class and others offered by Yakoov Chaikin.

автор: S.D.Dheeraj G

8 июня 2020 г.

The course is structured pretty well and interesting. Great Work by Coursera and the instructors. Although I feel like week 4 and 5 is a bit fast. They have a lot of content and depth in them which need certain time for students to get a grip on them as I suppose most of the students enrolled here are doing WebDev for the first time.A week may be added for this purpose(Just my humble suggestion). Anyways, I wholeheartedly enjoyed the course and it gave me a pretty good insight into WebDevelopement. Kudos to JHU .. !! <3 :)

автор: Sahas N

6 апр. 2017 г.

Absolutely loved Mr.Yaakov's teaching. I began learning web development long ago before dropping it as most of the tutorials out there were not exciting and really lacked in organisation of material & fundamental concepts. Either the tutorials were too slow or went over the top. Kudos to Mr.Yaakov for making the course interesting, dealing more with fundamentals and for the way he integrated HTML, CSS and javascript topics on a real-world website. I for sure learned more regarding web dev over past week more than ever.

автор: Whitney J

2 дек. 2016 г.

Really good course be Professor Chaikin is very thorough in his explanations of the different steps towards understanding HTML, CSS, and Javascript. The course left me with the feeling that though we learned a lot there was still much more to learn. With a course like this, you get out what you put in so I highly recommend committing yourself to doing the assignments and keeping up with examples while Prof. Chaikin is explaining them. It helps a lot if you following along using your own code editor and Browser Sync.

автор: Fernando A

11 июня 2016 г.

Very practical course, a lot of resources to your disposal, all information is very clear, you have a forum to ask any question and the professor answers really fast.! I can't believe it but i'm getting a lot of fun learning how to program with this languages! Also, the professor speaks english very clear which is great for me as i'm from México and i have no a perfect english. There is also an option to put subtitles on, but, at least for me, is kind of annoying read subtitles and listen to videos at the same time.

автор: Benjamin L

13 мая 2017 г.

I found this to be an excellent course. I had prior exposure to CSS, Bootstrap and Javascript and this course helped me understand the key concepts behind these technologies more fully. I would have liked more coverage of Javascript but I guess I'll get that in the follow on AngularJS course for which I've already signed up. I should point out that I have not taken the earlier courses in the Ruby on Rails specialization - they're not strictly a prerequisite, especially if you have some prior development experience.

автор: Lanning Z

2 авг. 2019 г.

This course contains very helpful content for beginners. It starts with an introduction of HTML and CSS, then move to real coding language as Javascript. This course does not only help me learn how to be a web developer, but also encourage my interest in coding. The instructor, Yaakov, is a knowledgable and funny person. I love the interviewing videos he made because it gives vivd example for using the knowledges in real life. I recommend this course to people who have little knowledge of web design and coding.