Chevron Left
Вернуться к Fundamentals of GIS

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Fundamentals of GIS от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Девисе

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 4,712
Рецензии: 1,467

О курсе

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Лучшие рецензии

A
16 мая 2021 г.

GREAT COURSE TO JUMPSTART FOR ANY NEW LEARNERS IN THE FIELD OF GIS. It is extremely helpful to learn the basics & the projects help any new learners to understand what kind of work is done in ArcGIS.

VM
4 окт. 2020 г.

I finished the course, I do not know why it indicates to me as if I had not finished\n\nI would like answer, please. My email: vic_vmrm@hotmail.com\n\nWhy don't answer me?\n\nRegards\n\nVictor Ramon

Фильтр по:

151–175 из 1,430 отзывов о курсе Fundamentals of GIS

автор: Austin D

22 мая 2019 г.

This course was great for a first time GIS student. The content level was just right, it introduced me to ArcGIS and showed me how it works, and ultimately, what it does. The course allowed me to take things at my own pace (while keeping me on track) as well as provide labs at the end of each week to practice the skills learned. Nice work!

автор: Debabrata C

29 мая 2018 г.

Great course - well designed and organized. The instructor does an excellent job explaining the theoretical concepts in an easily understandable manner. Recommended for anyone who wants to get started with GIS.

A request to the UC Davis, would you please consider offering a similar MOOC on "Remote Sensing", "GOINT" and ArcGIS Server?

Thanks

автор: Jacqueline C

26 нояб. 2018 г.

Videos are excellent and the three early assignments are really helpful. As a complete novice I was able to follow. The final assignment is quite challenging for novices, but I was able to complete it by reviewing the videos again. I did not use any other material outside the course, but may invest in the recommended text book now.

автор: Hannah J G

8 мая 2018 г.

I like how the basics of GIS are taught in this course. They are easy to follow and understand. The practice assignments are very helpful to me since I easily learn and remember something when I do it myself. The assignments allows me to practice on my own and I have something to compare my work with so i'll know where to improve.

автор: Jorge A A B

12 мар. 2018 г.

This course is really good as it provides you with all the tools necessary in order to start the journey into becoming a GIS analyst. I wish I had taken this course before in order to fully understand several other functions that I've seen will become pretty handy soon such as map books, data frames, rendering, queries and others.

автор: Ang Z W

26 июля 2020 г.

Very good introduction to GIS. This will definitely get you more interested to learn more. Videos and tutorials are also very insightful. Highly highly recommend, especially for anyone in the environmental field, or anyone who really just wishes to upgrade themselves with what i feel would be a rather important skill set to have.

автор: Nikoletta S

27 мая 2017 г.

Very nice course structure! Nice presentations, explicit instructions, the assignments every week are a must to digest the knowlede and their instructions are easily comprehensible. Lastly, the educator is perfect for the job, amazing teacher!

Very nice choice to learn how to navigate around GIS, perform analyses and produce maps.

автор: DAVID V

12 апр. 2019 г.

Awesome, particularly for an old school water resources engineer I have tried many flavors of GIS in some form or another. I always stayed away from ArcGIS because I managed to use more specialized tools like WMS by Aquaveo among others. I never knew beforehand that the instructor was into hydrology, that is a huge bonus for me!

автор: C Q D C

19 февр. 2020 г.

This course was easy to follow and very informative. It helps walk you through the very basics of downloading ArcGIS (like which versions, the steps to download it, etc) and takes you all the way to creating a map that is ready to be presented to the public. Everything is very well explained. I would recommend this course 100%.

автор: 吴陶樱

30 мая 2018 г.

I'm majoring in GIS for master's degree, but I didn't take it as my major for bachelor's degree, so I lack fundamentals of GIS a lot, and this course builds the fundamentals of GIS for me, a very useful course. If you want to learn something about ArcGIS, this course is really helpful! I'll keep learning this specialization.

автор: Luis C S

19 апр. 2018 г.

Here, instructor Nick Santos can teach an absolute GIS beginner enough concepts to start creating professional-quality maps by the end of the course. The instructional videos are clear and have a high production value. I would recommend this course to anyone looking to start using ArcGIS to start or supplement their careers.

автор: KARNATI S R

19 мая 2020 г.

Before starting this course I had no idea about GIS but now I am totally familiar and can work on GIS. The instructor helped and supported till the end of course. Now my interest towards GIS increased because of this course. The best part is only this course provides with licensed ArcGIS software to work on the full course.

автор: James W O

8 мая 2020 г.

After trying several courses on GIS, in this course, I finally got a course that as given me the foundation i have always wanted. I feel I can now build on this to develop my skills in spatial analysis. The instructors and especially Nick are great-they have structured the course in such a way that anybody can easily follow

автор: Teriann B

15 июня 2021 г.

I absolutely enjoyed completing this course! Nick did a fantastic job with the explainer videos - they were short but to the point. The tutorial assignments were also very easy to follow, as they included very detailed steps to follow. The course adequately prepared me to successfully pass the final quiz and map project.

автор: Maria d V

7 мая 2018 г.

Everything is very nicely explained. I love that you can both watch the video's and get the text belonging to it. Also the assignments are good to follow. However, sometimes there is a question in the assignment and then there is no answer. I would have liked it if the answer would be included somewhere in the end or so.

автор: GABRIEL I B B

22 нояб. 2019 г.

A great introductory course in GIS! At first I thought it was too easy, but when you get to week 4 and work on the final assignment, everything that was taught will be utilize for you to finish the assignment and it is really challenging. All in all a complete, well thought of and challenging introductory course in GIS.

автор: Hiyas C

3 июня 2021 г.

A​s an introductory course on GIS, the course is quite easy and the assessments address the objectives of the course. I just wish I learned that the data being shown in the video can be downloaded early on so I can digest and remember the steps in ArcGIS; ​I only found this out on week 4. Great job UC Davis Team!

автор: Laura E P

12 мая 2020 г.

I am part of a wildlife field project with a small budget. I wanted to be able to start analyzing our GPS-GSM data myself. With these fundamentals, I am able to start. I thought the course structure was great and really benefited from taking this course. I look forward to the next course in the specialization.

автор: Safuwan A

5 окт. 2016 г.

I studied GIS & Remote sensing in the university, but it never became meaningful to me until now.

With real world experience modified into tuition and interactive learning and practices; its just lovely.

I have really got a feel of GIS and I want more of it again & again...

Kudos to the team.

I am much obliged !!!

автор: Martin D

23 нояб. 2016 г.

I would highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to gain knowledge and learn some basic skills in GIS. Like the name of the course suggests, it gives you a sound foundation to build on. The lecturer, Mr Nick Santos, has a real talent in teaching and does a fantastic job in sharing his passion for GIS.

автор: Andriambolantsoa R

22 мар. 2016 г.

This is an excellent course for anyone starting with GIS. It covers all the bases you need to know to make your first map and share it with the world. It also in the way covers the most important thing in GIS : making selection.

The course is well structured and easy to follow. I highly recommend this course

автор: Victoria M

20 июля 2017 г.

A great introduction to GIS. The lecture material is clear and easy to follow with weekly assignments making good practice for theory learnt. Nick is a great communicator and his passion for GIS shines through. I've thoroughly enjoyed the course and look forward to the next module in the specialisation.

автор: William A

29 мая 2016 г.

This is an excellent introduction to GIS and ArcGIS, especially if you are a professional that needs to start learning GIS while balancing work. I am taking the entire speciality, which is really worth doing--four weeks is not enough for this field. The instructor and materials are thoughtful and clear.

автор: Raden M A

4 июня 2020 г.

Really good course to demonstrate the basic elements of GIS, perfect introductory for those who never have any experience in GIS. Maybe the course could improve if the final assignment is not really focused on proprietary software and let students complete the assignment using open source alternatives.

автор: Andrei D N

23 окт. 2016 г.

Wonderfully structured ! This course helped me start with GIS from scratch and walked me through up to a point when I was able to search for data, evaluate and analyze data and make my own map files.

Recommend for beginners and self taught intermediates who need to grasp some core principles correctly.