Chevron Left
Вернуться к Fundamentals of GIS

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Fundamentals of GIS от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Девисе

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 4,746
Рецензии: 1,478

О курсе

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Лучшие рецензии

A
16 мая 2021 г.

GREAT COURSE TO JUMPSTART FOR ANY NEW LEARNERS IN THE FIELD OF GIS. It is extremely helpful to learn the basics & the projects help any new learners to understand what kind of work is done in ArcGIS.

VM
4 окт. 2020 г.

I finished the course, I do not know why it indicates to me as if I had not finished\n\nI would like answer, please. My email: vic_vmrm@hotmail.com\n\nWhy don't answer me?\n\nRegards\n\nVictor Ramon

Фильтр по:

201–225 из 1,442 отзывов о курсе Fundamentals of GIS

автор: Cristian R V K

10 апр. 2018 г.

Excellent course. The lessons were clear. The progression system is on point. The assignments were well designed and really got me motivated to continue. Highly recommend it to anyone. Definitely taking on the second course of the series. Thanks to the team behind this.

автор: Isabella B

12 мая 2020 г.

Fundamentals of GIS was a very comprehensive course for those interested in learning the foundations to Geographic Information Systems. The course is well paced and the real-world assignments are particularly good for demonstrating the different areas GIS works with.

автор: Pabasara P W

11 мая 2020 г.

I enjoyed taking this course. It was easy to navigate from the beginning. The instructors' (Nick Santos) explanations were very clear and easy to understand. The assignments were interesting and fun at the same time. The time spent on the course was well worth it!

автор: Carol P

8 мар. 2021 г.

The course is a great start for those interested in learning or pursuing a career in GIS. It also highlights the Spatial Join Tool that can possibly fix most analytic issues. The modules have been designed well and an exercise with each module is really helpful.

автор: Juan A H B

1 мая 2020 г.

Es un curso que te permite avanzar a tu propio ritmo, lo cual se agradece mucho, además te ofrece los recursos necesarios para tu aprendizaje y las explicaciones son buenas. siempre y cuando leas atentamente las indicaciones no tendrás ninguna clase de problema.

автор: Evelyn P

30 янв. 2021 г.

Nick is so clear in his lectures, the assignment were easy to follow, quizzes covered many important aspects of ArcGIS, and the final assignment was very relatable to real world solutions. Was such a fun course and I loved learning a little bit more about GIS.

автор: dora k

14 янв. 2021 г.

The best course I had so far on coursera. Nick Santos is great, he goes above and beyond to make sure we get everything right, explains stuff clearly and he is very thorough. the course setup and logical order is also great. Can only recommend and thanks Nick.

автор: Sofi S

13 мар. 2020 г.

The concepts were very clearly and concisely explained; the practice assignments (1-3) were very helpful in developing experience working with ArcMap; and Dr. Santos is a great lecturer. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants an introduction to GIS.

автор: Alexandre M

9 янв. 2017 г.

Highly recommended! The content is a fascinating introduction to using ArcMap and real-world data to create basic maps. Individual skills are taught in a stepwise fashion and culminate in an enjoyable final assignment. Nick is a terrific teacher - well done!

автор: Ángel B

19 февр. 2018 г.

I had previous experience with ArcGIS because I had to learn on my own, but this course taught me a lot more tools than I thought I would get from a "fundamentals" course. The teacher is very detailed and thorough, yet very easy to understand. Great course.

автор: Huanglei P

27 дек. 2017 г.

Although it is a fundamental course, Nick illustrated core concepts of GIS and most useful operations and skills on ArcGIS. When finishing this course, you are able to do some primary analysis and draw beautiful and professional maps in ArcGIS! Really cool!

автор: Katharine S

6 февр. 2017 г.

Really awesome instructor! He walks you through everything. He assumes you know little about computers and programming, which is great for people trying to gain a deep understanding of why things work the way they do. Really helpful introduction to ArcGIS!

автор: JCarlos P

12 нояб. 2019 г.

Mr Santos and his team have done a great job in this course. I'd highlight two points that I appreciated a lot: the final assignment closely relates to the course's content and the right balance between depth and breadth of the weekly topics. Congrats.

автор: Karyn D

30 июня 2018 г.

I have been using ArcGIS for a long time and I am very comfortable with the program features that I use frequently. I expected this introductory course to be all review, but was very pleased that I learned so much more already. On the the next course!...

автор: Andrew K

7 июня 2017 г.

Well paced introduction to GIS - If you don't have a solid background in various windows applications, file management, and basic analytics concepts allow more time to go through the assignments (and revise the course material) and make sure you do them!

автор: Ben S

14 февр. 2021 г.

Outstanding course. Nick is a passionate and effective instructor. Great to have the self-guided but still structured format. All lectures and written assignment instructions are thorough and easy to follow. Recommended refresher or first time GIS user.

автор: NIPIN K P

21 авг. 2020 г.

The course is exceptionally wonderful and informative. Almost covered all the basic topics in GIS and the basics of ArcGIS. The Mentor 'Nick Santos' and their team have taken a great effort for this course. Thank you UC Davis for such a great course.

автор: Mihaela F

11 сент. 2018 г.

Great course, well structured, and well balanced between practice and theory. I had already worked with GIS in university, but this course brought up some basic details that I until now missed. I am looking forward for the next courses in this suite.

автор: Ragab Q

12 янв. 2021 г.

Before I introduce to this course I think its normal course as any course online, but after two or three days I feel I am inside the course lap

really it is a very good course and I hope to complete or course with you

Thank you so much

Ragab Abourokba

автор: Madeline M

22 июня 2020 г.

This is a great course for a first time GIS users! The assignments come with tons of helpful detail to help you succeed as you create your first maps. ArcGIS is an intimidating programs where your first steps are made accessible through this course.

автор: Saubhagya S R

15 авг. 2017 г.

Very well planned course. The videos and demo materials helped a lot in learning the concepts. The instructions to do the non-graded HWs were very detailed, which I would use as a reference material whenever I have some doubt regarding those topics.

автор: Catherine R

19 мая 2020 г.

I really enjoyed this course, it was very helpful and I think by the final project submission I was fairly familiar with the fundamentals of GIS. I also used the supplemental reading that was suggested for the course and found it also very useful.

автор: Vaibhav G

6 нояб. 2017 г.

It is a course that helps you understand the basics of GIS very easily (without any prior knowledge of the Arc software). The assignments at the end of every week is something that helps you a lot so if you are taking this course don't skip that.

автор: Jegadeesh R

16 мая 2016 г.

This course gave me a great overview of GIS and in particular ArcGIS.

Big thanks to our instructor Nick Santos, who he was excellent in explaining the concepts

and how the tool works!!

I'd happily recommend this course to anyone interested in GIS.

автор: Lauren C

15 окт. 2018 г.

Fantastic course, very well thought out and put together for anyone to understand. I never thought I would be able to grasp GIS concepts but the instructor explains everything so well. This was amazing and I would highly recommend to anyone!