Chevron Left
Вернуться к General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application

Отзывы учащихся о курсе General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application от партнера Университет Райса

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 526
Рецензии: 146

О курсе

This course will cover the topics of a full year, two semester General Chemistry course. We will use a free on-line textbook, Concept Development Studies in Chemistry, available via Rice’s Connexions project. The fundamental concepts in the course will be introduced via the Concept Development Approach developed at Rice University. In this approach, we will develop the concepts you need to know from experimental observations and scientific reasoning rather than simply telling you the concepts and then asking you to simply memorize or apply them. So why use this approach? One reason is that most of us are inductive learners, meaning that we like to make specific observations and then generalize from there. Many of the most significant concepts in Chemistry are counter-intuitive. When we see where those concepts come from, we can more readily accept them, explain them, and apply them. A second reason is that scientific reasoning in general and Chemistry reasoning in particular are inductive processes. This Concept Development approach illustrates those reasoning processes. A third reason is that this is simply more interesting! The structure and reactions of matter are fascinating puzzles to be solved by observation and reasoning. It is more fun intellectually when we can solve those puzzles together, rather than simply have the answers to the riddles revealed at the outset. Recommended Background: The class can be taken by someone with no prior experience in chemistry. However, some prior familiarity with the basics of chemistry is desirable as we will cover some elements only briefly. For example, a prior high school chemistry class would be helpful. Suggested Readings: Readings will be assigned from the on-line textbook “Concept Development Studies in Chemistry”, available via Rice’s Connexions project. In addition, we will suggest readings from any of the standard textbooks in General Chemistry. A particularly good free on-line resource is Dickerson, Gray, and Haight, "Chemical Principles, 3rd Edition". Links to these two texts will be available in the Introduction module....

Лучшие рецензии

ZK

Aug 29, 2015

If I'd had access to this material when I first failed freshman chemistry 40 years ago, I probably wouldn't have failed. Kudos to Dean Hutchinson for bringing us his innovative approach.

BM

Oct 02, 2018

DEMAND\n\nI would inform you that i wish to receive my certificate according to general chemistry :concept development and application, then your feed back will rejoice more thank you.

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 144 отзывов о курсе General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application

автор: Oluwapelumi M A

Jul 15, 2020

really educational and fun

автор: Ogunbode T T

Jul 09, 2020

very helpful content

автор: Marianne A

Jul 04, 2020

excellent. thank you

автор: Dr. P J

Jul 19, 2020

Very nice course

автор: MANOHAR K

Jun 18, 2020

Excellent 👍👍👍

автор: RAHUL P

Jun 15, 2020

Very good course

автор: Rutuja T

Sep 04, 2020

its too usefull

автор: Eniola M A

Jul 07, 2020

Amazing course

автор: Shahid I

Jul 28, 2020

Good course

автор: Parmeshwar T L

Jul 17, 2020

Eexcellent.

автор: Opara F c

Jul 08, 2020

its so good

автор: Tejaswini R

Jul 06, 2020

good course

автор: Muhammad R

Jul 28, 2020

Very good

автор: Elyon O

Jul 17, 2020

very nice

автор: GANTALA K

Jul 06, 2020

excellent

автор: OMOYIN I I

Jul 16, 2020

perfeect

автор: AMRUTA K S

Sep 01, 2020

Nice

автор: Egbuji N A

Jul 24, 2020

Good

автор: Prebor D

Jul 23, 2020

good

автор: Nwaturuocha C N

Jul 20, 2020

Good

автор: David P C

Jul 20, 2020

I'm gonna give 4 stars to the professor and the course because I learned so many things that will (hopefully) help me in the future. The professor is really intelligent, clear, and concise. That deserves recognition. However, the course could've been way much better if it wasn't for the book and the quizzes. The book is great but sometimes it gets extremely confusing and without too many details (mostly on equations, viz. some of the equations are just written there without showing the math involved). And the quizzes, well, some of them were way more challenging than just learning from the lectures. In addition, some of the questions in the quizzes aren't covered in detail during the lectures, which makes it harder.

автор: David D V

Aug 29, 2016

Great course! This is the first MOOC that I've completed and I had a great experience overall. The CDS system is what drew me toward this particular chemistry course and it seems like an effective and natural way to have concepts stick in your head. Very clear and easy to understand explanations are also given in the lecture videos.

My only complaints are that there are some significant typos in the quizzes, and all of the course material seems to refer to a different version of the online textbook than the one that is currently provided. If the quality of the quizzes was better and if the course was more in sync with the most up-to-date reading material I would have easily given this course 5 stars.

автор: Jeremy V

Aug 24, 2015

Course information is delivered in a new and exciting format. The first half of the course builds up base Chemistry ideals and Laws. The second half takes the student to places they never thought they would end up. Be sure to brush up on your College Algebra before taking. Overall a fun and challenging experience!

автор: Gary B

Mar 16, 2018

Over all a good intro to chemistry but found it long after a while.Perhaps breaking up the single courses into two courses each covering a semester. Found the math during the last two weeks to be a beyond me and wha tI thought was required for a basic beginner course.

автор: Jason A

Aug 10, 2020

It was a great course to jump start your foundation in chemistry. Quizzes are nicely tailored from the topic and tests are requires basic to intermediate level of analysis as they are comprised with easy and hard questions.