Chevron Left
Вернуться к Fashion as Design

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Fashion as Design от партнера Музей современного искусства

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 2,532
Рецензии: 608

О курсе

Among all objects of design, our clothes are the most universal and intimate. Like other kinds of design, fashion thrives on productive tensions between form and function, automation and craftsmanship, standardization and customization, universality and self-expression, and pragmatism and utopian vision. It exists in the service of others, and it can have profound consequences—social, political, cultural, economic, and environmental. Fashion as Design focuses on a selection of more than 70 garments and accessories from around the world, ranging from kente cloth to jeans to 3D-printed dresses. Through these garments, we’re going to look closely at what we wear, why we wear it, how it’s made, and what it means. You’ll hear directly from a range of designers, makers, historians, and others working with clothing every day—and, in some cases, reinventing it for the future. Studio visits, interviews, and other resources introduce the history and development of each garment and their changing uses, meanings, and impact over time. Course Learning Objectives: Develop critical tools to appreciate and contextualize fashion design—from everyday clothing to couture garments—through many different perspectives. Trace the history, development, and impact of garments over time, and explore how they may be reinvented. Investigate garments through multiple lenses including politics, identity, and economics. Understand more about the lifecycle of clothing, from its design and production to its marketing, distribution, and consumption. Better comprehend the choices you make about fashion with respect to the visual language of dress, individual and collective identities, and issues such as labor practices, sustainability, and body politics....

Лучшие рецензии

SA
27 мая 2020 г.

I would highly recommend this course for someone passionate about the industry. It's an Insightful course too deepen inside the fashion world, through history, identity, sustainability, and much more.

MP
15 мая 2020 г.

Excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommended it to many. I am a mature student ( 55) and after this, I really feel I want to study a masters in fashion sustainability. Thanks for inspiring me.

Фильтр по:

526–550 из 610 отзывов о курсе Fashion as Design

автор: Lourdes B M

9 мая 2020 г.

Genial!

автор: Óscar A L

6 мая 2020 г.

Genial!

автор: Esther P

6 июля 2020 г.

great!

автор: Frances G C

15 апр. 2020 г.

Great!

автор: Ishrat I

8 июля 2020 г.

great

автор: Yating W

7 июля 2020 г.

Good!

автор: Prashant K

14 сент. 2021 г.

nice

автор: Pritam B

7 авг. 2020 г.

well

автор: vyshnavi A

4 июля 2020 г.

Good

автор: Karuna k

4 мая 2020 г.

Good

автор: Skgulber

28 апр. 2020 г.

Good

автор: Jay S D

30 мар. 2020 г.

Good

автор: Elza Y

31 июля 2018 г.

g

o

o

d

автор: James B

4 нояб. 2017 г.

Gr8!

автор: Dhiraj B

29 мая 2020 г.

aws

автор: Maria A Q A

7 июня 2020 г.

:D

автор: Valentina F G

12 апр. 2021 г.

T

автор: Carmen

1 апр. 2019 г.

S

автор: Barbara l

3 февр. 2021 г.

I very much enjoyed the content of this course. the only frustrating aspect of this course was the peer review. I enjoyed writing the essay but it was a chore to continue to come back to the site to see if there was anything to review. I don't know how computer programs work but it would be nice to be notified that there were essays to read so that I could have done it in a more timely manner.

автор: Susan G

31 июля 2020 г.

The course was quite interesting though there were sections that were repetitive. As a instructor myself, I understand why one would set up lessons in this manner. A few of the videos were too lengthy. My favorite section of the course was the in-depth look at the suit manufacturing on Sevile Row in London. I hope to take more courses through MoMA and want to thank you for this opportunity.

автор: Marjolaine G

23 дек. 2017 г.

Very enjoyable course but I feel like it was heavily based on the exploration on items instead of waves of movements. Week 7 was the best week with the most actual questioning and exploration into fashion and deeper meaning. All in all, I still enjoyed it and learned a lot about the history of various clothing items.

Edit: Very high quality sources for videos and articles!

автор: Nadine Z

13 мар. 2020 г.

I am very happy that this course was offered and that you let so many different people have their say. However, I personally found some (only a few) contributions poorly structured and not very enlightening. One for example was the video "Designer Kerby Jean-Raymond on the Hoodie". I think that this video was not well done (for example: I did not like the scrolling part).

автор: Tanya B

5 июня 2020 г.

I really liked the idea of making this course for us students to get to know about fashion sitting home as it fulfils the demand of giving knowledge and inspiration to young brains I honestly learned quite a things from here about its origin and evolution history is always interesting how that thing comes in fashion and all so for me I loved the idea of studying it

автор: Pamela J

28 июля 2020 г.

I really enjoyed the course but am still waiting on corrections for to my grades to weeks 4, 5 & 6 quizzes. I have included detailed problems in the flag for comment file about the items that are effecting my grade negatively. Otherwise the overall content was very good and enjoyable. I would feel good about suggesting the program to others.

автор: Alexa D A

10 нояб. 2017 г.

What is really awesome and enlightening about this course is the approach to fashion items through their own design and the message for which they were created or have been used for. Each piece of clothing contains a sort of secret that we can discover or re discover in this course.