Chevron Left
Вернуться к The Language of Design: Form and Meaning

Отзывы учащихся о курсе The Language of Design: Form and Meaning от партнера Калифорнийский институт искусств

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 478
Рецензии: 142

О курсе

In this course, critique is defined as a detailed, objective analysis of a work of graphic design and its effectiveness. Critique is an integral part of the making process for designers: it’s not just how we determine if a work of design is or is not successful, it’s how we move our work forward. Critique is also where other voices and opinions can be brought into the design process. This course will introduce a lexicon (or vocabulary) in order for you to demonstrate clearer and more considered ways of talking about graphic design in the context of critique. Through this lexicon and a provided Critique Framework, we will model and then practice objectively describing how well a work of design functions based on specific, clearly articulated criteria. By refining this skill, you will enhance your ability to communicate about design with peers, colleagues, and clients. This course is essential to anyone looking to develop and refine a critical vocabulary around talking about art and design, such as: - practicing graphic designers at all levels - future and current students of art or design programs - teachers teaching visual art, design, or related subjects - any stakeholder in a design project that needs to communicate effectively with designers on their team. This course is recommended to learners enrolled in either the Graphic Design Specialization or UI/UX Design Specialization on Coursera to further develop their skills in graphic design. You may take this course before, during, or after completing either Specialization. Note this is not an art appreciation course for a general audience. While no prior experience is required to begin, the knowledge and skills taught in this course is useful only if you have some relationship to design in a professional context, i.e., practicing, studying, or teaching design, or working directly with designers. No specific software or tools are required to complete this course....

Лучшие рецензии

JB
6 мая 2020 г.

A very thorough journey toward the very core of visual communication. It gives you the vocabulary and criteria to embark on an effective and objective design critique.

SV
25 авг. 2020 г.

Besides trying to find some form and meaning in a design of art, the course also teaches to make meaningful connections when you form and express your own thoughts.

Фильтр по:

26–50 из 140 отзывов о курсе The Language of Design: Form and Meaning

автор: karan k

2 июня 2020 г.

I develop my skills a lot through this course by learning about how to read any poster, a design related article, and a lot about graphic design. so i want to say a huge thanks to both tutor's prof. Yasmin Khan and prof. Randy Nakamura.

автор: Rita F M

25 сент. 2020 г.

The course is based on a friendly language and its content consists of videos and quizzes that ensure understanding of the subject during classes. The tests and tasks are very creative!

The course function was strong / clear ;)

автор: N C

25 мая 2020 г.

As someone who does graphics design as a side job, I really found this course useful. I can better understand and form proper criticism about other works, and explain my own works better to clients with my new jargon.

автор: Kyla N V

28 мая 2020 г.

The course is a great refresher for designers. While it cannot be considered for beginners, there can still be new insights that can be learned from this course. Truly helpful in giving meaningful critique.

автор: Abegail B

10 июля 2020 г.

This was somewhat a difficult course, but it is also very fulfilling to finish this and glean much information that would enhance my design theory instead of relying on gut feelings. Thank you so much.

автор: doga-tn

11 июля 2020 г.

With this course, I've learned to critique 'design work' in a meaningful framework. The course was informative and clear. The examples and explanations are helpful. Thank you for this course.

автор: Fernanda F

23 июня 2020 г.

This is a great course to gain knowledge and vocabulary on the concepts of design, You get to practice the skills learned through the videos, resources and the assignments.

автор: Juan R B

6 мая 2020 г.

A very thorough journey toward the very core of visual communication. It gives you the vocabulary and criteria to embark on an effective and objective design critique.

автор: Sofia V

26 авг. 2020 г.

Besides trying to find some form and meaning in a design of art, the course also teaches to make meaningful connections when you form and express your own thoughts.

автор: Rishika D

12 авг. 2020 г.

It was an informative course. I totally recommend it to fellow designing students. its important to earn about lexicons and positive criticism.

автор: Alice M

19 мар. 2021 г.

I loved the continuous engagement with exercises and peer reviews. I think generally it’s the best way to learn.

I really loved this course :)

автор: Piotr K

9 февр. 2021 г.

The course is great to refresh the knowledge about the meaning of graphic design and how to article your work in a more professional manner.

автор: Andrea C R

16 июня 2020 г.

Loved this course. It has helped me so much in communicating my concerns on design. Definitely a must for people in design and publicity.

автор: Sehresh M

25 июня 2020 г.

I learnt a lot about form in design and the terminology about visual hierarchy, shape and contrast etc. The course was very helpful.

автор: Irem

27 апр. 2020 г.

I learnt a lot about form in design and the terminology about visual hierarchy, shape and contrast etc. The course was very helpful.

автор: XIANGYU S

16 сент. 2020 г.

Very good Course! I like all the design in this course so much! Thanks for providing such great lesson for us~! I learnt a lot~!

автор: Itza A U C

27 июля 2020 г.

Excellent course, I learned a lot. Is really cool to learn in detail about a design concept, and how to interpret the meaning.

автор: Idaura L D

18 мая 2020 г.

O curso é muito bom e aborda os principais aspectos da linguagem para os que estão interessados em começar a conhecer ot ema.

автор: Shaun V

1 мая 2020 г.

Well presented and structured. The lectures were well put together and flowed well into each other. The lecturers were great.

автор: Mehak M

13 июля 2020 г.

This course is really a great opportunity to learn something new. Thank you very much coursera and CALARTS University.

автор: Renata A

3 авг. 2020 г.

It is fun and as a designer, it help to understand the point of view of the audience in making arts and designs

автор: Yudi P

2 июня 2020 г.

It's really hard but challenging myself to improve my knowledge about language design. This course is great!

автор: Abram U

2 июня 2020 г.

This course is amazing. I learned so much how to correctly critique design. Thumbs up to the instructors!

автор: Adler A

16 апр. 2020 г.

This Course is as good as previous I had from CalArts, with short informative videos and tons of practice

автор: Aaron M A

28 апр. 2020 г.

Amazing course. It really helps you learn to look at designs and understand them in clearer terms.