Chevron Left
Вернуться к Database Management Essentials

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Database Management Essentials от партнера Система университетов штата Колорадо

4.6
звезд
Оценки: 2,453
Рецензии: 604

О курсе

Database Management Essentials provides the foundation you need for a career in database development, data warehousing, or business intelligence, as well as for the entire Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence specialization. In this course, you will create relational databases, write SQL statements to extract information to satisfy business reporting requests, create entity relationship diagrams (ERDs) to design databases, and analyze table designs for excessive redundancy. As you develop these skills, you will use either Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL to execute SQL statements and a database diagramming tool such as the ER Assistant or Visual Paradigm to create ERDs. We’ve designed this course to ensure a common foundation for specialization learners. Everyone taking the course can jump right in with writing SQL statements in Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL....

Лучшие рецензии

AS
28 июня 2020 г.

Very good to every beginner out there trying to get into database management , tasks are really educational , only the normalization section needs more clarification. but as a total it is awesome

DN
21 сент. 2020 г.

The course is well structured and the tools used for building the conceptual model are quite user friendly. The course has given a better understanding of the database management systems.

Фильтр по:

551–575 из 589 отзывов о курсе Database Management Essentials

автор: Noel S

23 окт. 2016 г.

The material is fine but the course isn't taught well. The instructor tends to start talking immediately in subject jargon and abbreviations without first giving students an intro or explaining foundation material first. It seems a lot of material is left out of the lectures and slides on purpose and forces students to buy the instructor recommended text book (which is also authored by the instructor). After each lecture I'm forced to Google search a lot of what was mentioned before I even understood half of what the instructor was talking about. I didn't pay to listen to something that forces me to Google search everything.

автор: Thomas M

29 июня 2020 г.

Assignments are well paced and easily digestible. There is an issue with assignment marking though- It seems that people are submitting answers that aren't there own work, presumably to get the certificate at the end. This may erode the perceived value of the certificate and therefore the value of the course. I also noticed that my assignments weren't marked to the highest standard either (Ie. I had mistakes and they weren't picked up by either marker). Rectify this and it may improve the legitimacy of the cert. Otherwise, I learned a lot! Thanks for a well designed course :)

автор: Jason L

7 мая 2016 г.

Pros: Information is perfect for anyone looking at Business Intelligence as a career field, or already in the career field itself. I found the first week to challenge my on-the-job knowledge of a fuller set of concepts and general terminology.

Cons: The wording on the quiz questions, in some cases, seems much different than the PPT slides and the instructor's language. UPDATE: The wording is a significant challenge, even when advancing into the more complex topics. I have had many differences of opinions on the solutions based on wording in the requirements.

автор: John E G S

28 сент. 2020 г.

The course is very good. However, I think the explanations could be better, with better examples.

Other thing, the subtitles in some ocassions have a lag respect to the image in the video. For people like me whose first language isn't english, we use the subtitles for a better understanding, the lag makes hinders our learning. Anyway, the course it's good to improve the knowledge in ERD's, queries, some tools and DBMS.

автор: Cristy R

9 июня 2020 г.

This course has great content, but the peer review process is lacking structure. I found that most of my peer reviews were marked less than 100 with no guidance of what errors I had made, just the comment 'good'. There were also many mistakes in the answer keys, but no clear way to notify the instructor of the issues there were found.

автор: Harshit S

17 окт. 2017 г.

Start of this course was very good. But after week 5, assignments became very repetitive and most of the assignments were based on developing an ERD in a tool called ER Assistant. I feel like this part could be covered in 2 weeks time and more stress could have been given to the SQL part of the course.

автор: Ajay J

12 июня 2019 г.

Though content is good slides and delivery style could be better. More comparison with latest technologies can be provided. Need for more interactive quizzes so as to make it more relevant to fast-changing database world.

автор: STEVEN V D

16 мая 2018 г.

Good course with a lot of hands-on assignments. Sometimes the lectures could be brought in a more intuitive way and were a bit 'over-theorized', which made relatively simple concepts seem more complex than they were.

автор: TylerOtto

16 авг. 2016 г.

Great content, horrible technical support from Coursera and the team that runs this program (since it is clearly obvious that Michael Mannino just recorded the videos and is not part of the class anymore).

автор: Xiyu F

15 июня 2016 г.

The course was clear, I had difficulties to find course materials, especially examples were used in the video class, I wish they had been put in more obvious places.

автор: Manasa T

7 нояб. 2020 г.

This is a good course for beginners out there. The examples make you understand the concept partially only. It tends to steer towards the boring side a little.

автор: Arushi D

3 мая 2020 г.

The instructors were really helpful throughout the course. Although this was a basic course, but it was informative and very much helpful.

автор: Donatien L

27 янв. 2016 г.

Interesting, I would have liked to deepen SQL knowledge and practice. The conceptual parti seems a little bit too important.

автор: Saatvik N

29 окт. 2020 г.

Good for the most part, but some parts were covered too fast, and normalization was covered without adequate explanation

автор: Rana Q U Z

2 сент. 2016 г.

This course is really helpful About Database Systems.

автор: Cesar O M

3 янв. 2016 г.

I wish to have more contact with the academic crew.

автор: Amber B

5 окт. 2016 г.

Need more lessons on nested queries and subqueries

автор: Ayush J

14 мая 2020 г.

You can give a better explanation of ERD concepts

автор: Madhusoodhan S

18 нояб. 2016 г.

A free book to read would have been nice.

автор: HYEOK K

20 июня 2020 г.

not enough explanation about tools

автор: Aditi

3 янв. 2020 г.

Baaic understanding about Database

автор: Marcel N

13 сент. 2016 г.

Peer Review is sub-optimal

автор: Meena V

14 дек. 2018 г.

Very time consuming.

автор: Mordi O

29 окт. 2015 г.

looking good, so far

автор: DWARAKANATH S

9 авг. 2017 г.

Good Solid