Chevron Left
Вернуться к Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau от партнера Калифорнийский университет в Девисе

4.5
звезд
Оценки: 5,146
Рецензии: 1,172

О курсе

In this first course of this specialization, you will discover what data visualization is, and how we can use it to better see and understand data. Using Tableau, we’ll examine the fundamental concepts of data visualization and explore the Tableau interface, identifying and applying the various tools Tableau has to offer. By the end of the course you will be able to prepare and import data into Tableau and explain the relationship between data analytics and data visualization. This course is designed for the learner who has never used Tableau before, or who may need a refresher or want to explore Tableau in more depth. No prior technical or analytical background is required. The course will guide you through the steps necessary to create your first visualization from the beginning based on data context, setting the stage for you to advance to the next course in the Specialization....

Лучшие рецензии

HR
1 мая 2017 г.

Amazing course, amazing instructors and assignments. I really enjoyed working with Tableau.\n\nYou may experience some confusion for some assignments but don't worry! Just use the discussion boards :)

DA
24 авг. 2020 г.

Am glad I learnt a lot from this module, which I know will sharpen my skills for my chosen career path as a data scientist. Am hoping to learn more new skills to improve on my already existing skills.

Фильтр по:

726–750 из 1,170 отзывов о курсе Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau

автор: Luca N

19 мар. 2017 г.

The course covers all of the relevant parts, however it does not go deep enough. It is highly recommended for complete beginners, but not for those who already have some knowledge in the field.

In particular, more content should have been provided for the following topics:

(1) Data connections, e.g. include a real example for connecting to odata and web data connector, also create a sheet with the data;

(2) The context of data visualisation (who, what, how, big idea), e.g. walk though two additional examples in different fields.

I particularly appreciated:

(i) The historical introduction (and I would have liked to read more about this)

(ii) Live Connection vs Tableau Data Extract

(iii) How to prepare an Excel sheet for import

(iv) The strategy for making a story (but as I said, this is partial)

автор: Andrew M

31 мар. 2021 г.

Overall good introduction to Tableau, covering basic functionality and taking the student from a single viz to a completed dashboard through follow-along examples. Individual project allows to apply and practice the skills learned. In the videos, sometimes the mouse movements are not visible, causing the viewer to guess specific instructor actions to complete a step. Also there is some inconsistency in instructions that reference incorrect videos where certain steps were covered. Some of the materials are attached to a different video from the one where they are mentioned, had to go to forum to hunt for those. Could use a thorough review and some tweaking, but otherwise passable (literally).

автор: Bryce L

10 дек. 2020 г.

I enjoyed the course and did learn a lot, however, a lot of what I did learn I had to learn myself on google or in the Tableau community. I would suggest for the final project making a specific prompt with provided data and just ask to make a dashboard instead of "improving" the ones provided on Monday makeover. Asking to improve a dashboard that is already very good and above what the course teaches is very daunting. I understand that it isn't really expected that you improve the piece, but for someone like me who follows directions to a tee, I spent a lot of time trying to improve the viz with a skillset and program much lower in capability than the capability of the original viz creator.

автор: Amod S

4 июня 2019 г.

Good class. There are a few big stumbling blocks, however. The instructions for peer-graded assignment in Week 3 are, to put it mildly, horrible! After spending hours trying to figure it out, I wrote a revised version of the instructions which can be found in Week 3 Discussion - "Clear and Easy to follow Instructions for Week 3 Assignment". I hope these instructions will be used to replace the current ones which have confused many. Week 4 peer-graded assignment instructions are a bit long winded, leading many to miss providing the one-sentence summary. But for these issues, it would be a 5-star.

автор: Sam B

27 авг. 2020 г.

The material in this fundamentals course was very well organized and presented. The quality of the videos and style of the instructor is excellent. The only criticism that I have is the requirement to use Twitter to complete the assignment. I took a class on Tableau, not a class on tweeting. I don't think it's reasonable to grade students on how many hashtags or sentences they use in a tweet. This isn't a social media class and not everyone wants to use social media. Focus on the topic of the class rather than requiring students to be part of your pet project.

автор: Jessica E

21 июля 2019 г.

This section seemed to be more about the logistics of data connections and setting up your workbook than it did actually focusing on visualizations themselves. I think maybe changing the title to "Fundamentals of Tableau" or "Intro to Visualization with Tableau: Visualization Theory and Pre-work" might be more encompassing of what this section actually focuses on. That aside, it is still all very useful information and I do appreciate learning about the ideology behind visualization as a tool for telling a story with data. It really grounds the principles.

автор: CHYP B

19 авг. 2021 г.

The course was easy to follow with Desiree Abbott. I would recommend sharing the grading ruberic for the assignments prior to the submission so students/learners can manage their expectations. After all, professors /teachers do it at the college level. Also my version of Tableau was a little different from the teacher and a couple other students mentioned the same thing. Finally, there is a need for more teacher/staff support for questions in regards to projects and the material as opposed to relying on other students in the forum.

автор: Enna L

30 июля 2021 г.

T​his course taught me a lot abou the basics of Tableau. It would be helpful to have a list of what softwares the course needs. In the first project, you need to download a Google Sheet but it was impossible for me to download it from my work laptop. I used my personal laptop to complete this portion of the program. For the final taks, you are required to use the MakeoverMonday submission trtacker. For this I needed to use my personal laptop since my work laptop wouldn't allow me to access this page.

автор: Debopam R

23 авг. 2020 г.

The course was good, teaches basics of tableau....That provides interest to go to google and see more exciting ways of data visualization using Tableau.

However, I have a big complaint on the assignments given specially the week 4 assignment. Instead of grading on the quality of visualization, the emphasis was on posting on twitter with hastags, descriptive sentence, posting picture of the viz etc.....Is it a exam on Twitter or Tableau ? I got marks docked because of not adding two hastags ??

автор: Mark D

3 апр. 2017 г.

I like the balance between learning the principles involved in creating effective visualizations and practicing them while learning to use Tableau. I was happy with the visualization I created for my final assignment. It would NOT have been as good had I not taken this course and learned to make use of pre Gestalt principles, attentive attributes and decluttering techniques to reduce the cognitive load involved in viewing my visualization.

автор: PJ

27 июня 2020 г.

I really enjoyed taking this course, it really provided me insights into the basics of Tableau. I'd refer this course to anyone. However, I didn't enjoy the last peer reviewed assignment where it was required to post your work on Twitter. Personally, I would have preferred to have an option of uploading your work to Twitter instead of it being required to post it. Apart from that, great course! Thanks so much.

автор: Simon C

22 окт. 2020 г.

The course was good. The only suggestion for improvement are some instructions on how to use Twitter. The final assignment requires you to post something to Twitter. Having never used Twitter before it took me a while to work out what was needed. Also, some brief information on URL shorteners would be helpful (again part of the final assignment). Overall, a good course.

автор: Mariel A

15 мая 2020 г.

In this introduction to the basics of Data Visualization with Tableau, the instructors broke down the information systematically and in a clear and coherent way. I now have a familiarity with Tableau and the community resources it offers. As a graphic designer, I am fascinated by data visualization, and taking this course has left me eager to advance in my training.

автор: Charles B

11 мая 2020 г.

I expected the course to focus on Tableau. Instead it presented a very brief introduction to Tableau that is insufficient to do anything useful with it, and then led us through a process to better understand the thought process of creating visualizations. I found the latter valuable, but still feel I was misled about the intent and content of the course.

автор: Kyle S

27 мар. 2020 г.

This is a good course and specialization. It should be clear that this is NOT a course on Tableau. It's primarily on visualization principles, and uses Tableau as the software. It does teach you some Tableau, but not that much. If you just want to learn Tableau in-depth, look for other online courses or training, this isn't for learning Tableau.

автор: Nurshatjan S

14 мар. 2021 г.

Overall, this is a good course, but the first two weeks, it teaches the history of visualisation which I think is totally unnecessary for beginner-friendly, but would make it boring. I would recommend ppl taking this class play the video at 1.75 speed to quickly skip through the introductions and start from the practical part of the course.

автор: Aditya P S

4 мая 2020 г.

Its a good course. But I believe that Week 4 should have come before introducing us to Tableau and visualizing data. This way we would have clearer contexts on about the "Big Story" and also on the WHO, WHAT and HOWs. It would have also helped us understand the various visualizations in Tableau while exploring the software.

автор: Toby C

7 мая 2020 г.

While the material was very good one of the assignments was very outdated and it was not clear how to proceed using the free version of Tableau nor what was required.

It did require more thinking and knowledge organisation than I am used to (being a stats person) but was a valuable introductory course nonetheless.

автор: Laura K M A

11 апр. 2018 г.

It is a good course but more real life examples would be useful. It touches very little Tableau so maybe if someone is looking for fundamentals on how to make a visualization in Tableau this is not the right course because it goes more into theory of visualization rather than hands-on the tool.

автор: Oksana B

2 нояб. 2017 г.

Great introductory course, but could be improved by providing more of step-by-step instructions on navigating the Tableau and its menus, addressing some typical error messages the user might receive, etc. If you have a prior working knowledge of some Tableau, this course could be a refresher .

автор: Nikhil C

26 апр. 2021 г.

I liked the pacing, explanations and exercises. The only thing that could have been done better was perhaps a non insistence on posting to twitter about your project. I do not generally feel comfortable posting on social media myself and would prefer it if that step were optional.

автор: Rachel F

17 нояб. 2017 г.

Overall this course was a very good introduction to Tableau. The instructions for the first peer-graded assignment were VERY confusing, and almost counter-intuitive. Instructors were very pleasant to watch and listen to, and they do a good job of discussing real-world examples.

автор: Linda

11 мар. 2019 г.

Enjoyed the course. This is a good starting point for engaging in the thought process behind how to present data and thoughts in a meaningful and catchy way. Would have liked to work with more samples of sets of data and arranging it into a viz, based on certain criteria.

автор: Shiou-Shiou D

9 сент. 2017 г.

It is a good start if you did not have any knowledge or experiences with Tableau. I would recommend the course since I truly learned fundamentals of Tableau. However, if you already have some basic knowledge or experiences, the course would be too simple for you to learn.

автор: Eric B

15 февр. 2021 г.

I enjoyed the course overall. The instructor was well-informed and provided clear instruction. I occasionally had difficulties with the Tableau software itself; its Help features were not always clear, which sometimes made it difficult to do the Data Viz activities.