Chevron Left
Вернуться к Prepare Data for Exploration

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Prepare Data for Exploration от партнера Google

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 13,186

О курсе

This is the third course in the Google Data Analytics Certificate. These courses will equip you with the skills needed to apply to introductory-level data analyst jobs. As you continue to build on your understanding of the topics from the first two courses, you’ll also be introduced to new topics that will help you gain practical data analytics skills. You’ll learn how to use tools like spreadsheets and SQL to extract and make use of the right data for your objectives and how to organize and protect your data. Current Google data analysts will continue to instruct and provide you with hands-on ways to accomplish common data analyst tasks with the best tools and resources. Learners who complete this certificate program will be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as data analysts. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will: - Find out how analysts decide which data to collect for analysis. - Learn about structured and unstructured data, data types, and data formats. - Discover how to identify different types of bias in data to help ensure data credibility. - Explore how analysts use spreadsheets and SQL with databases and data sets. - Examine open data and the relationship between and importance of data ethics and data privacy. - Gain an understanding of how to access databases and extract, filter, and sort the data they contain. - Learn the best practices for organizing data and keeping it secure....

Лучшие рецензии

RA

10 авг. 2022 г.

The lessons were easy to follow through and the explanantions were easy to understand. The hands-on practices also helped improve hands-on skills with the data analysis tools introduced in this course

DD

4 июля 2021 г.

Thank you for the course! It's a nice introduction to SQL and Google Big Query as well as the concepts of data privacy and security. The course also offers some great tips for professional networking.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 2,077 отзывов о курсе Prepare Data for Exploration

автор: Alessandra W

11 янв. 2023 г.

Large parts of the module seem mostly designed to sell the Google-owned BigQuery through out of date tutorials, and the actual in depth instruction on SQL is sorely lacking. Hopefully the in-depth instruction will be covered in later modules

автор: Beth a

29 сент. 2022 г.

This was the most frustrating module so far. The BigQuery modules were out of date and like many other students in the forum and on social media, we ended up guessing answers or using multiple other ways to learn.

автор: James P V

24 авг. 2022 г.

I found this particularly dry and struggled to stay motivated. Perhaps a little more SQL excercises would have made it more interesting. Too much theory and definitions to get my head around.

автор: Martin R

5 сент. 2022 г.

I found this course very redudant and slow. I don't think it was particularly useful.

автор: Marcelo D

13 июля 2021 г.

Less than half of the content was actually about preparing data.

автор: Eric G

10 июня 2022 г.

Not sure i'm learning anything substantial so far

автор: Bones V

18 сент. 2022 г.

Not the best course on preparing data. There are not a lot of practice problems or questions. They give you one example for each thing and then expect that you learned something. The next course isn't any better. I will have no choice than to pay for someone else to explain SQL and BigQuery to me, or search on YouTube for free resources. The course was sold to me in a way that I did not need any prior knowledge to succeed in the course material. The SQL and BigQuery education offered in this course and the other courses is not sufficient and is expensive. YouTube has some resources to supplement help where this course is lacking. I'm already almost halfway through these courses, so I do not want to stop. I want to learn this material, but the material is dated and doesn't reflect helpful information in a streamline kind of way. If the course is for math majors or computer science majors, then you need to put that in the description. The description can't say, NO EXPERIENCE NEEDED, it should say "Some SQL knowledge needed" or "Have you ever used BigQuery?" I typically have class for 4 hours a day 3 days a week, and I am skipping class today to do exploratory lessons on BigQuery that Coursera did not offer in these courses. These courses should be for free.

автор: alvin a

27 июля 2022 г.

The laziness of the curriculum is outrageously disappointing, especially coming from a company as prestigious as Google. Does this lazyness also applies to their company culture? Like the previous courses, here Google are too lazy to put the more important, technical tutorials on video tutorial format. instead, they put tutorials about SQL and Kaggle only in text format (hands on assignments), which accounts for a minor share of the whole course. The majority of the course is dominated by video explanations from instructors which unfortunately cover duplicate basic topics such as the type of datas, tips, etcs in which could have been in put in text reading format. I am very frustrated, because as a student I needed to learn SQL in video format, like those common "how tos" youtube tutorial. That is my expectation. If I needed to learn from external source in order to pass the assignments from this course, that means Coursera, Google and the instructor aint doing a good job teaching.

автор: Carlos E R C

17 мар. 2022 г.

The information of prepare data for exploration in this course is really good, the videos are good, easy to understand so why only 1 star. I found two things that I don't agree with. Using platforms with free trials and paid versions, in the videos of BigQuery that we use google cloud platform and sandbox and have to use a trial to study. on those videos we use SQL and nothing more, so there is many ways to learn SQL. The second thing was an exam where 3 questions were asked about Kaggle, social networks and what people think about it. It seemed to me that it was like a market study and questions about how we would think it could be better or what is needed. It seems to me that we were helping them with market research and not learning.

автор: mark m

29 апр. 2021 г.

The hands-on assignments are a dumpster fire and support isn't much better. My BigQuery Applying SQL assignment in the Sandbox looks nothing like the instructions. Maybe the instructions are obsolete. When learners post to the forums asking for prompt (prompt, so we don't fall behind schedule) technical help, replies from staff are unhelpful or ineffectual.

автор: Thanapol P

11 авг. 2022 г.

one of the worst classes I have ever learned. no recap the session. no adding text due to the different versions of the software. the example given was also bad. I don't even want to remember the name of the instructor.

автор: Isidoro C

8 апр. 2021 г.

the course is unprofessional, it has many subjective insights that are taken as the only possible answers to a problem. it also covers little relevant topics.

автор: Sebastian G

24 дек. 2021 г.

Google course lacks of the real skills that allow you to become a data analyst

автор: Joy I

22 апр. 2022 г.

Week 3 did not match with the bigquery website

автор: Philip M

17 янв. 2022 г.

ABSOUTE PIECE OF SHIT

автор: Marina T

19 июня 2021 г.

This course was fantastic! Probably the best one so far, and mainly due to instructor. The instructor was clear, confident and to the point.

The whole course was interesting, with lots of practical exercises (QuickLabs, Google Spreadsheets/Excel) and designed for complete novices in Data Analysis in the way which allow you memorize things without much effort (I am sure Google has done it on purpose, probably based on some research on how brain creates new connection). And I believe this is what modern learning should be like - fun, engaging, enjoyable and without you even noticing you are learning.

I will miss this instructor on the next course...

P.S. the only downside is the way they desperately promote Kaggle. At least this is how I felt. I've also lost two days navigating among links they suggested for learning about "regexes" and still don't really get it... I wish they've covered it within a course in plain and understandable way they cover everything.

But in overall 5 stars! Really enjoyed it.

автор: Atul G

13 февр. 2022 г.

This course was overall well-designed and structured to acquaint the budding data analyst with key tools and knowledge about processing data. The best elements were the less technical elements but the basic use of sorting and filtering data, and organising data repositories are invaluable to working with any quantity of data. There is also a mention of data structures, table relationships and differences between spreadsheets and databases which begin to indicate how data is stored and presented. The most valuable section for me, and which is cleverly introduced at this early stage, was the part about building an online presence as a data analyst. There is a lot of information and guidance on how best to reach out to the online data community, taking on a mentor, and developing an online profile to showcase your work and achivements, that will hold one in good stead in their career advancement.

автор: ZenSound S

15 авг. 2022 г.

Very high quality course, very formal. Better quality education than I have ever received in any other subject or topic in a Community College setting. The content is to the point, the instructors are very knowledgeable. The discussion space was quite confusing to me, to be honest. I love how accessible the content is, I have been able to attend even via my cell phone when I am out on the road, most of the learning I have been doing has been from the comfort of my home. I feel like it gives a sense of the WFH experience that tech professionals are currently in with the changes made since the Pandemic. Regardless of the world changes, this course is very good to take no matter what is going on, the ability to reset deadlines and revisit content helps when life gets busy.

автор: jd q

12 янв. 2023 г.

I found this course covered a lot of new material. I've been in and out of the workforce for two decades, so I have a passing acquaintance with most aspects of business. I learned genuinely new material. I absorbed the fundamental tenets of data analytics from an instructor who was both personable and informative. She took her subject seriously, and she took my desire to learn seriously. I got a good grounding in the rudiments of data analysis, and also an excellent introduction to the online data analytics community. I have the means to educate myself further because of the care that was taken with the peripherals to the course. The only thing I would change is that I hope that you will give this young lady a chance to expand and update the learnings.

автор: Ameer M

7 июля 2021 г.

Hallie ! you are amazing tutor ,  In this course you will learn the process: preparing the data correctly. This is where understanding the different types of data and data structures comes in. Knowing this lets you figure out what type of data is right for the question you're answering. Plus, you'll gain practical skills about how to extract, use, organize, and protect your data We all generate lots of data in our daily lives. In this part of the course, you’ll check out how we generate data and how analysts decide which data to collect for analysis. You’ll also learn about structured and unstructured data, data types, and data formats as you start thinking about how to prepare your data for exploration.

автор: Yahya M A S

7 авг. 2022 г.

it helped me understand some new ideas about preparation of the data to be ready for the subsequent phases also identifying good data sourses and its characterstices also its gives me attention to data ethics which I did not awear of before and its importance. additionally we take an idea about bias and its different types finally we get more benift in the field of working with big query and kaggle, github and Linked in and building professional network. I have started learning Kaggle and bigquery and linked in from most viewed and followed youtube channels in my waiting time to start the next phase course Process. Thanks Hallie, for your effort, and knowldge that you share with us.

автор: Bruce B

13 апр. 2022 г.

I learned a lot from this particular course. My favorite sessions had to do with BigQuery topics. I've had some experience with T-SQL, MySql, and Access_SQL (might not be exactly the right name, but it doesn't matter) so BigQuery syntax wasn't a surprise. I was suprised at the vastness of Google's public datasets. Wow! I could spend a lot of time just exploring this collection of data. For me, the section about MetaData was the most challenging. I know what Metadata is, but I am still having a tough time relating the terms taught in this course with their specific examples in the real world. More practice will help I guess. Thanks for another excellent product Google!

автор: Zeel B

27 сент. 2021 г.

After completing the course the one word came from my mouth "Awesome". I like the organization of topics. They also provide the links of articles and websites related to topic. In this course we have learned about the collection of data, SQL quires, spreadsheet functions and formulas, data types, data structure, data modelling, data ethics and many other useful topics. The language used in readings and videos is very simple and easy to understand. Speaking of instructor, I can say that if I had met such instructor from my childhood, I would not have had to spend so much time in studying. I really enjoyed in learning......

автор: Alpesh G

15 июля 2021 г.

This course starts with an explanation about how the data is generated as a part of our daily activities with reference to the types of data generate and explained factors that should be considered when making decisions about data collection. This course also explained the importance of networking with other data analysts, including reference to mentorship and communication. How to apply best practices to manage a professional online presence. Also described are approaches to build an online presence as a data analyst. I want to thank Google and Coursera for bringing this fantastic and insightful course.

автор: Lucia D

25 мая 2022 г.

I enjoyed learning new skills such as SQL, BigQuery and Metadata. The course leader was very clear in explaining each part of the weekly learnings. I enjoyed the Hands on activities as they took me to learn about other platfoms such as Kaggle and BigQuery. I had an opportunity of exploring what other data analysts are doing and how they are presenting their work on online plaforms. I addition, I learnt how to query big datasets using SQL in these platforms. I am a lifelong learner and appreciate this opportunity from Camden Council and Google as the provider. I look forward to my next course.