Chevron Left
Вернуться к Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot от партнера Уэслианский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 4,317

О курсе

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Лучшие рецензии

LB

15 нояб. 2018 г.

Great information about plot and scene structure. The information about revision was entirely new to me - thank you! The exercises were good and difficult in a good way that helped me hone my writing.

BM

4 нояб. 2019 г.

The course was informative on how to build, structure and develop the plot of our own stories. It was also very helpful in guiding us through the editing process. A useful course for aspiring writers.

Фильтр по:

1426–1450 из 1,458 отзывов о курсе Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

автор: katherine l

2 апр. 2018 г.

Materials were engaging. Some assignment direction was a little vague. Some professional interaction or review would help to supplement the peer review.

автор: Youssef A

10 июня 2020 г.

What's most beneficial about this course are the assignments rather than the videos. I do wish though we got some feedback from the instructor himself.

автор: S. J W

27 февр. 2016 г.

Someone needs to review/proofread the final part and assignment. Many students were/are confused about the final assignment. Revise the video too.

автор: Paul C

28 окт. 2018 г.

Too many interviews without delving into the core of the subject. There were some good tips but left feeling disappointed.

автор: Jesica M E D B

22 авг. 2016 г.

The course is nice and informative. Unfortunately one can not do any of the pear rated assignments or pear reviews.

автор: Fatema R

25 дек. 2021 г.

Very basic overview of plot, great for giving amateur writers a push in developing their stories.

автор: Nima Y Z

8 нояб. 2020 г.

The course was very practical and I learned very useful content and tips.

автор: Mariana C

28 мар. 2020 г.

Good morning. How can I unenroll? It is not what I expected. Thank you.

автор: priya v

21 дек. 2016 г.

it would have been great if the final assignment had been grade

автор: ahmed i

17 янв. 2017 г.

it seems good and hopefully will be valuable in my context

автор: Digant K

27 мар. 2016 г.

So overly simple with a lack of details in the steps.

автор: Michael K H

26 мая 2021 г.

Very very good assignments. Peer grading was poor.

автор: Zamzam A

19 мар. 2020 г.

I feel we need professional assignment reviews.

автор: Mohammed A

18 авг. 2016 г.

Nice, informative, but basic and short.

автор: David K

12 авг. 2021 г.

I didn't get any feedback

автор: Juliana C

17 февр. 2021 г.

The course is interesting, but the videos are not enough. The instructor is charismatic and friendly. I received very poor feedback from peers ('yes/no/good' answers without any useful information). I did get some useful feedback. And on the last assignment, the program algorithm doesn't match a reviewer which could force you to pay another month, just to get the last review and the certificate. The course is worth the $50, but the review/feedback system is terrible. I will not proceed with the remaining 4 courses (which would mean spending an additional $200). This is very sad, as I was excited about taking writing classes online. Maybe they can limit the number of participants and add a few TAs/mentors to give more valuable feedback.

автор: Joe F

27 янв. 2022 г.

While the content of the course itself is potentially helpful, I found the feedback from peers abysmal. I invested in thoughtfully reviewing the work of others and got back blather as feedback; nothing actionable. And peer feedback is the main reason I would pay for a subscription! I could get comparable or better content from a book, blog, or free online videos.

After viewing comments on the "Community," where concerns go unanswered by Coursera staff, I realized poor feedback is something of a norm now. It's too bad. This platform had potential.

I'm going to cancel before the 7-day trial ends. Simply not worth my time or money.

автор: Nikole H

3 июня 2022 г.

I felt like the instructional videos offered a pretty general introduction to the concepts, and didn't feel sufficiently prepared to complete the different assignments. The "What's Up, Doc?" assignment felt like it was the one with the clearest instructions and structure, so expectations were clear. For the others, it was very challenging to understand what we were supposed to write. I think it would be helpful to provide more examples (like in the "What's Up, Doc?" assignment) to provide clearer instructions for students.

автор: Neha J

28 июля 2021 г.

I​t was a well paced course. Though for people who are reviewing the stories, i find that i wasnt very helpful when it come to evaluating the story and i felt those who rated my stories were not very critcal. they probably didnt know how to be. I feel for a course like this there should be an instructor evaluating the assignments. otherwise this course isnt very useful!

автор: Veronica K

19 июля 2021 г.

The videos are useful, but the peer-graded system of assignments is not. I don't think that the feedback from people with the same (or worse) writing skills is in any way helpful. I've had to review very poorly written pieces, and I don't think that being reviewed by their authors in return can enhance my writing skills.

автор: Sofía G M

6 авг. 2020 г.

I feel like, even though it is a course about PLOT, they should give you suggestions and advice when it comes to developing other parts of your story (characters, for example). Also, I think there should be multiple SHORTER activities for us to practice more instead of just one HUGE assignment at the end of each lesson

автор: Jennifer G

16 авг. 2020 г.

The pre-recorded lessons were good, but the assignments were unhelpful, as the peer critique process is highly flawed. Students need opportunities for professional critiques and face-to-face encounters with a cohort or associate professor...someone with some credentials or skin in the game.

автор: Paulo S

29 мар. 2016 г.

I hope the instructions were cleary and not too vague that it was open to many interpretation. An example would have helped and the rubrics/criteria for grading should have been shown beforehand so students would be guided what points they would consider when making their piece.

автор: Akshat J

1 июля 2020 г.

Not all assignments were related to what was covered in the lectures, they were actually quite random. I enjoyed the course but I think I would have learned much more had this not just been about the very basics and discussing film plots! We already know that