Chevron Left
Вернуться к Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot от партнера Уэслианский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 4,318

О курсе

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Лучшие рецензии

LB

15 нояб. 2018 г.

Great information about plot and scene structure. The information about revision was entirely new to me - thank you! The exercises were good and difficult in a good way that helped me hone my writing.

DA

30 нояб. 2016 г.

Great course to take as the first step in the sequence of the "Creative Writing" certification. Exercises are fun, professor provides useful methodology, load is manageable for someone with a day job.

Фильтр по:

1401–1425 из 1,459 отзывов о курсе Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

автор: Roberto S

27 дек. 2021 г.

A nice little start if you are a beginner writer but nothing special really. It's a short course and the videos you watch are sometimes useful and sometimes not very useful at all. Rating other writers work is an odd one as some people were much worse then others and those same people could have reviewed my work even though they can't write well themselves. Hopefully the other parts of this are better.

автор: Dena M

12 апр. 2017 г.

This course got better as it went on. The first week, the teacher went through the entire plot of Harry Potter which seemed like a waste of time. The point was made long before the telling of every plot point in Harry Potter was done. I thought, really, I signed up for four months of this? Then the lectures got better, learning the basis outlines and structures of plot is useful. Simple, but useful.

автор: Lu A K

10 апр. 2016 г.

The problem is that the only feedback a student gets is from other students. I only received 1 feedback from the supposedly 3 each week for 4 weeks. I gave 3 stars because the videos are very good and good concepts but I paid far more money than they now charge. So I doubt I will finish the certificate because the final course relies only on student feedback which is non-existent.

автор: Sipping C

3 февр. 2021 г.

A useful course for learning the basics behind plot in storytelling. There is no instructor feedback, only fellow students grade your work. This is a little disappointing because the students will not be able to give as good feedback as an instructor would, and some leave very short feedback like "Yes" or "no". I enjoyed the author interviews during the lectures.

автор: Margaret E H

14 июня 2020 г.

Many of the ideas taught in course are useful to consider when writing. It was challenging to write with such a focus on action and plot. Some of the explanations seemed oversimplified (using Harry Potter in numerous examples throughout the course) and some of the assignments were odd (you have to kill-off your protagonist in 2 out of the 4 assignments).

автор: Jeff

2 янв. 2019 г.

The lectures and prompts were excellent, but I didn't find the peer reviews to provide me any insightful feedback. I got mostly brief answers, and I feel peer reviews are the most advantageous way to grow as a writer. Perhaps add a way to grade peer reviews to ensure the proper effort is given?

Also, the mobile app is buggy and really could use an update.

автор: SIbru

8 нояб. 2016 г.

I learnt much but only rated 3 stars because students are unable to submit their assignments or receive peer group or mentor feedback unless a payment is made. The previous writing course I completed with Coursera did not have such restrictions - you only had to pay for the certificate if wanted. However, thank you for free access to the content

автор: Michelle

20 мая 2020 г.

It was a fun course in many ways. The "Lectures" could hardly be called lectures really as they were so short. But, that said, they were info-packed so very useful. The size of MOOC's make them particularly fraught: so many participants come from non-English speaking backgrounds so reviewing other's works was actually very difficult at times.

автор: Martins N

18 апр. 2022 г.

​i would say its a good course, I found it entertaining. However, it's not something in real time. It's just a bunch of pre- recorded videos since 2016 and assessments that are graded by your peers, which is a good thing, but also not a good thing (I would not expand on that). Anyway, i enjoyed the course and I'm glad I completed it.

автор: Colors

19 нояб. 2020 г.

I thought Dr. Skyhorse's lectures were very strong and very clear. I did think he was speaking to his audience like novices, almost like children, but I actually appreciate that in this context. I really wanted to have someone take my hand like a five-year-old through the very elementary steps of conventional storytelling.

автор: Chris R

1 янв. 2017 г.

The course material and videos are very good, however I would prefer that comments about your work be emailed directly to the student so that they are more likely to read them. I found it to easy to just move on and not really look for the comments on my work.

автор: Pauline R

22 мая 2016 г.

I found this course quite hard to take to; especially after starting the second one on Character. Saying that though, it is good to learn about different perspectives and approaches as education whatever form enables us to move forward on our learning path.

автор: Megan S

1 мар. 2018 г.

I liked the writing exercises, but I felt the videos were a bit simple and Skyhorse was very pleasant but not a great interviewer. It would be nice if the assignment were reviewed by a professor or a TA or something. Peer review was overall NOT helpful.

автор: Nicolas S

11 нояб. 2021 г.

M​uch like other reviewers here, the content in this course was good and the assignments were fun, but the reviews I received from my peers were awful. Most people gave single word reviews with zero focus on helping the author improve their craft.

автор: ipsita g

8 июня 2019 г.

The course was structured well. It introduced to many things that were probably known to us but not explicit.

However, on taking other courses in the series I realized that the instructor is less effective and original than others, especially Amy.

автор: Soe T S

6 мая 2020 г.

I'd like it if peers can give more elaborated reviews. It seems like they just want to finish the mandatory 3 reviews just to get points. Most of the reviews I received are nothing more than 'Yes. No. I agree with the author.' No elaborations.

автор: Mike Z

9 апр. 2020 г.

I enjoyed the course and found it useful. The majority of the students don't seem to speak good english. That isn't a problem for their writing, but I feel like they have a hard time usefully evaluating my work due to the language barrier.

автор: Allison R C

15 сент. 2020 г.

I got the most out of listening to the modules. I wish that there was some feedback from the instructor on the writing assignments. Everything is peer-reviewed only, and the quality of the feedback is quite poor.

автор: Noah S

30 июля 2019 г.

The course was a good motivator to start writing and keep writing every week. The lectures were short and generic. Nothing other than the very basics. The peer review system works okay but it certainly isn't great.

автор: Matthew A T

15 нояб. 2021 г.

The course provides some opportunities to learn. That said, there doesn't seem to be much of a bar to pass to get into it and the student grading of assignments often falls short of providing any useful feedback.

автор: Lisa G

13 окт. 2016 г.

I understand the importance of reviewing other classmates work however with the time constraints of today's world, I believe it takes away from precious time that could be spent developing the craft of writing .

автор: SANCHEZ C M P

8 окт. 2020 г.

La verdad es muy difícil aprender algo ya que nunca hay retroalimentación aparte de la que dan los compañeros del curso. Solo son videos muy abiertos para explicaciones que deberían ser concretas.

автор: Marc E S

27 апр. 2017 г.

I was hoping the lectures would be more dense. My previous coursera courses where on data science, machine learning, etc. I somewhat feel that the content on those courses is twice or thrice more.

автор: nathan g

28 сент. 2020 г.

Some of the instructions didn't seem to match the assignment and I think a lot of learners were confused. Needs more moderation. I did learn and found the challenges in the course useful.

автор: Sharon A D

8 янв. 2021 г.

The instruction is clear and quite good, but what good is feedback if you cannot read it. I can see my grade but there is nowhere to see what my peers had to say about my work.