Chevron Left
Вернуться к COVID-19: отслеживание контактов

Отзывы учащихся о курсе COVID-19: отслеживание контактов от партнера Университет Джонса Хопкинса

4.9
звезд
Оценки: 86,800
Рецензии: 26,132

О курсе

The COVID-19 crisis has created an unprecedented need for contact tracing across the country, requiring thousands of people to learn key skills quickly. The job qualifications for contact tracing positions differ throughout the country and the world, with some new positions open to individuals with a high school diploma or equivalent. In this introductory course, students will learn about the science of SARS-CoV-2 , including the infectious period, the clinical presentation of COVID-19, and the evidence for how SARS-CoV-2 is transmitted from person-to-person and why contact tracing can be such an effective public health intervention. Students will learn about how contact tracing is done, including how to build rapport with cases, identify their contacts, and support both cases and their contacts to stop transmission in their communities. The course will also cover several important ethical considerations around contact tracing, isolation, and quarantine. Finally, the course will identify some of the most common barriers to contact tracing efforts -- along with strategies to overcome them....

Лучшие рецензии

SF
20 мая 2020 г.

I learned so much about COVID 19 and what everyone's concerns are in keeping safe. This course will give me the ability to help many people understand how they protect those they come in contact with.

RC
19 мая 2020 г.

Excellent entry level informational course for not only those seeking clinical knowledge of SARS-2 CoVid, but also the gain a fundamental understanding of the process and mechanics of contact tracing.

Фильтр по:

351–375 из 10,000 отзывов о курсе COVID-19: отслеживание контактов

автор: Michael L

23 окт. 2020 г.

Time wasted

автор: Jane T

3 дек. 2020 г.

Overall my experience with this course was excellent. I enjoyed the voice of the speaker and the speed of the speaking on topics that often were complex, as well as the relative thoroughness of coverage of a very broad topic. One thing that I missed, and am wondering (did I experience study fatigue at this time???) was a discussion of the specific list of items/content that must be retrieved from a case or contact when calling them. I also felt that the rationale was sometimes missing for why we need each item (eg. in "Addressing Process Complexities" it was not clear why I would ask how many days is someone having a cough or fever, why it is necessary to go through the entire list of symptoms (except to have a baseline perhaps on a first call?), and why the loss of taste and smell (a hallmark symptom of COVID-19) was not even mentioned? Should telling the case/contact to call the PCP be a requirement? suggestion? That wasn't clear, but again, maybe I nodded off. ;) I have other questions related to care of pets in a home, and whether or not a health care professional (eg. RN, MD) is allowed to give/suggest home care measures within the scope of their respective practices. I don't remember this being mentioned. Are contacts/cases supposed to keep a daily log of temperatures and symptoms? Required? Suggested? Sorry for the lengthy review. Again, overall, I loved this course and would recommend it to all of my colleagues in Nursing and College Health. Thank you for this excellent presentation!

автор: Dollie R

13 июня 2020 г.

The Covid-19 Contact Tracing course was a mixture of a refresher course and new knowledge to me, which made this an interesting, yet challenging learning experience. I am a retired nurse. I was totally impacted by this sudden onslaught of Coronavirus and I wanted to enter the field of Public Health to help stop the spread. I applied for a Contact Tracing job, but I had no knowledge of how it stopped the spread of disease. I had never heard of Contact Tracing before, but I definitely wanted to do something to help stop the spread of this infectious, possibly deadly disease. I checked Johns Hopkins University on-line education looking for a course in Contact Tracing. Luckily, I found Coursera and surprisingly just the course I needed. To top it all, it was free. In the course, I learned that Contact Tracing is a vital part of Public Health. It had been used to stop the spread during the Ebola outbreak. Whenever I am entering a new nursing venue, I always check with Johns Hopkins University first for my learning needs and I am always successful. I was very impressed by how skillfully this course was presented in such a way that anyone can learn it. There were short quizzes at the ends of 2 - 3 minutes of lectures, step by step instructions, and different scenarios that helped me to remember and retain. I passed the final test and now I am ready for war. Thank you for this learning opportunity. Education just can't get any better because you are the BEST.

автор: Dr V K

19 мая 2020 г.

Welcome Back,

Dr!

Explore

My Coursera

Account

Help Center

For Enterprise

Updates

Accomplishments

Refer A Friend

Explore

Press Enter to expand sub-menu, click to visit Arts and Humanities pageArts and Humanities

Press Enter to expand sub-menu, click to visit Business pageBusiness

Press Enter to expand sub-menu, click to visit Computer Science pageComputer Science

Press Enter to expand sub-menu, click to visit Data Science pageData Science

Press Enter to expand sub-menu, click to visit Information Technology pageInformation Technology

Press Enter to expand sub-menu, click to visit Health pageHealth

Press Enter to expand sub-menu, click to visit Math and Logic pageMath and Logic

Personal Development

Press Enter to expand sub-menu, click to visit Physical Science and Engineering pagePhysical Science and Engineering

Press Enter to expand sub-menu, click to visit Social Sciences pageSocial Sciences

Press Enter to expand sub-menu, click to visit Language Learning pageLanguage Learning

Press Enter to expand sub-menu, click to visit Degrees pageDegrees

Press Enter to expand sub-menu, click to visit Certificates pageCertificates

________________________________________

Explore all of Coursera

Top of Form

0

Bottom of Form

Skip to Main Content

Browse

Top Courses

Profile

My Purchases

Refer a Friend

Settings

Updates

Accomplishments

Help Center

Top of Form

Log Out

Bottom of Form

Very informative course. Dr VerNell King

автор: Jamil A K

20 мая 2020 г.

I have a Ph. D. and an MBA in Finance with focus on Public Health. I believe learning is an eternal process and a journey with many stops! As part of the process, one acquires knowledge that makes ones life a very healthy, productive, rewarding and self-fulfilling! By learning, our mental capacity continues to increase by generating new neuron clusters in our brains. So, when I saw that University of Johns Hopkins is offering a course on a very timely topic of the COVID-19 pandemics, I was motivated right away to enrolling myself into. The ENTIRE course, I found to be very informative, very nicely structured and explained for soft learning. Dr. Emily Gurley is a great teacher with natural ability in explaining complex subjects into simple and easy to understand by anyone with any level of education and background! In true sense, she is an amazing faculty and a great asset to the University. She and her colleagues have done an extraordinary job in explaining the COVID-19 and how to control its spread into the society. Dr. Gurley, thank you for creating a very timely course with great material while keeping it easy to understand for every level and background of the course takers.

автор: Elizabeth W

6 июня 2020 г.

Besides sheltering in place and washing my hands, I wanted to do something more to help out during this pandemic. This is one great way to make a contribution. The course is moderated beautifully by professionals who know their stuff!! The course is a well-organized approach to learning; well-paced to optimize retention; and has a clarity of purpose. I loved how you could read along, or just watch the video presentation, or do both, or just listen...depending on your learning style. Me? I liked listening AND reading along, and seeing the video in the lower right hand corner of my computer screen. I really liked the great section on how to create rapport with people; with a focus on empathy through great listening and conversation skills. These skills will help out in any conversation you ever have in life! How to ask open-ended questions or probing questions, how to let someone know they are being heard. The best are the video demonstrations that illustrate best practice (along with clear examples of less effective practices) while on a phone call. I feel ready (and excited) to do my part. Highly recommend this course!

автор: Sam D

24 февр. 2021 г.

Great course. Extremely well developed and a curriculum creatively written and comprehensive to prepare for a variety of scenarios one might encounter in this line of work. The example scenarios of possible real life situations that may be faced on a call was very helpful and informative and assisted with developing problem solving type thinking for potential roadblocks occurring during a call. My one issue with the course is with a question in the final exam:

Question 38

Which of the following statements might build rapport with a case or contact?

Select all that apply

Since only one statement was in fact correct the question could have been phrased : Which of the following statement(s) that are listed might build rapport with a case or contact? The use of the plural form of statement without the (s) indicated there was in fact more than one answer and that choosing only one was certainly incorrect. The grammar used for the question could be altered to allow for the right answer to be provided.

Thank you for the opportunity to take the course. I learned a great deal about contact tracing and its use and importance.

автор: Garum

19 июля 2020 г.

I would highly recommend this course for anyone wanting information about the COVID-19 pandemic, even if they may not become a contact tracer. The course is invaluable for its clear summary of the origins and spread of the disease. Even more important, as society's tensions rise during this pandemic, the course will give a deep understanding of the enormous amounts of time, human commitment, and the numbers of people involved in JUST keeping track of who has / may have COVID- 19. There is a vast, invisible layer of public health that the "public" has taken for granted; this course will open your eyes, as we (all) work to protect ourselves, those closest to us, and our communities.

Information is presented in digestible quantities, with enough quizzes along the way to give the learner confidence that they have absorbed the necessary concepts. Language is generally approachable by the non-scientist / potential (volunteer or paid) tracer who may have little of no previous experience, but it is never condescending. I especially appreciated the extensive module on ethics, and the very practical look a "complexities".

автор: Sirena C

5 июля 2020 г.

I'll strive for brevity here, because if I don't, I'll go on for paragraphs. This course was incredible. Not only was it easy to follow, the instructor communicated each lesson clearly and simply while still getting their import across. I am blind, and have, in the past, had a lot of trouble with schooling, because nothing was accessible. Not only was this course accessible to my screen reader, but Ms. Gurley ensured that, whenever a visual aspect like a chart or a slide was referred to, she explained the information others were visually seeing in clear and concise terms that I, too, could follow. I cannot even begin to express how much that meant to me, both the accessibility of the course itself, with clearly labeled elements, and the ability and willingness of the instructor to describe those few more visual aspects. If you wish to learn how to be a contact tracer, take this course. It will not let you down. And if you, too, are blind or visually impaired and you use a screen reader, don't be nervous. The information is clearly communicated, and you may just have an amazing experience learning. Just as I did.

автор: Sharyn D

10 июня 2020 г.

This course was phenomenal...The quantity and quality of the information shared and its practical integration into our current pandemic is well worth the time needed to complete this course. My favorite parts included the real people examples contrasting the positive strategies versus the possible blocking comments. Dr. Gurley explains even the most technical terms in a simplified manner and their use in everyday operations. She also has a very pleasant listening voice and a thorough knowledge of the content shared. She has integrated effective adult learning strategies into this course, i.e. chunking material content, examples relevant to everyday life, etc.

The course itself is very simple to follow....Each module is broken into sections and each section provides information and then a brief quiz checking your knowledge on the content you just reviewed. Even the final assessment was a compilation of similar important content covered in each quiz.

I also completed our local county training for Contact Tracing and this course took that initial training even further. Thank you for sharing this opportunity.

автор: ROSEANN E

13 дек. 2020 г.

The COVID-19 crisis has created an unprecedented need for contact tracing across the country, requiring thousands of people to learn key skills quickly. The job qualifications for contact tracing positions differ throughout the country and the world, with some new positions open to individuals with a high school diploma or equivalent.

In this introductory course, students will learn about the science of SARS-CoV-2 , including the infectious period, the clinical presentation of COVID-19, and the evidence for how SARS-CoV-2 is transmitted from person-to-person and why contact tracing can be such an effective public health intervention. Students will learn about how contact tracing is done, including how to build rapport with cases, identify their contacts, and support both cases and their contacts to stop transmission in their communities. The course will also cover several important ethical considerations around contact tracing, isolation, and quarantine. Finally, the course will identify some of the most common barriers to contact tracing efforts -- along with strategies to overcome them

автор: Adelola O

15 мая 2020 г.

This is a very great and appropriate course to take in this current pandemic. The presentation was so well articulated in very easy clear language that one can follow and understand. The accompanying test questions and scenarios make one feel ready to be on the field doing the work, yet helping one to know that nothing is set out in straight answers all of the time. I mostly enjoy the later part of the course on the guide to establish rapport. Apart from being informed about the SARS-COV2 infection, I am also challenged to know that it is a continuing learning process as the pandemic is ongoing. Thank you for this timely course. I only wonder why there was no additional emphasis on contact tracing as much as I heard about testing right from the beginning. Probably if the country had more contact tracers as we had lots of testing done, we could probably have avoided the breakdown of our health system, as the Contact tracing could have helped to mitigate against the spread of the infection, hopefully. Again, thank you for the course.

автор: MS. C L W

2 июня 2020 г.

This course has information that is of use to make anyone on Earth cognitive & aware of the COVID-19 it’s history, epidemiology , impact on the human race , how to diminish its ability to exponentially replicate, how to help by becoming a tracer, how to speak to and treat people who have been exposed, and or have the virus at any stage, what technology is available & used in the USA; et. al.. most importantly this course shines illuminated light On a natural God bestowed attribute on how to speak to listen to and have compassion for our fellow human being. I am thankful for having the opportunity to take the course that gave me more information & set my detailed spirit to learn as much as I may continue to learn more and share the existence of this course to all the people I know .

Again , thank you for what you do , I pray the 91 St PSALM FOR YOU & OUR GLOBAL Family at large. Let us Kneel down & PRAY FOR PEACE& LOVE which equals TRUTH

RESPECTFULLY,

Always

MS. CHERYL LOUISE WILLIAMS-MURRAY

Tuesday, JUNE 2, 2020

автор: Michael L

28 мая 2020 г.

Excellent class and enlightening class, considering the current state of affairs. In my professional opinion, this is one of the best online learning classes I have experienced. Why? Answer: Dr. Gurley.

Again, in my professional opinion, it is very rare for a professor to have both positive and unique talents, such as Dr. Gurley, where she effortlessly teaches, engages, articulates, and parlays her rich knowledge and wisdom to every individual, enrolled in the, "COVID-19 Contact Tracing", online class.

Dr. Gurley is an epidemiologist and professor, par excellence. Equally important, genuine kudos and genuine respect to not only Dr. Gurley, but her exceptional team from Johns Hopkins University, Bloomberg School of Public Health, in effecting this top-notch online learning class. Thank you again to Dr. Gurley and her "A-Team" from Johns Hopkins University.

Quid pro quo, my partner and I intend to, wholeheartedly, contribute to society and "make this world a better place", now, more than ever.

автор: nancy t

20 окт. 2020 г.

Very informative, clearly stated, well organized and interesting. I have only one "comment" - we were often asked "how much time did you spend on this module?" I never really understood what constituted a full module - was it after every single quiz? after a group of quizzes? It didn't seem to happen after every quiz, but I was never sure how many videos I had watched and/or quizzes I had taken between "time checks." But I think I can say that the entire course took me maybe 5-6 hours total time. Also, when I was just about to take the final exam, there was a reference to "different standards" for NY State and NY City, but there was no link to find out the necessary information. (I am in New York State.) It seemed to apply only to the number of times the final test could be taken and/or the frequency of attempting further tries. So I just went ahead and took the test and hoped whatever I did complied with the "rules." Thanks, and I look forward to mov ahead as a contact tracer.

автор: Joel J

27 мая 2020 г.

I found this course to be very well presented and very effective. The role play scenarios were very realistic and well acted out. (were these professional actors?) The female was especially pleasant to listen to in voice, manner and style.

I have a one observation that should be addressed. I entered this in a comment at the end of the particular module but i don't think it was transmitted. In the module titled "Balancing Public Good ....." in the section referring to undocumented workers, the following was suggested as a response. "Telling the undocumented worker that there is a "HIGH RISK OF DEATH". This is an exaggeration in general unless you're referring to specific age group or at-risk population. The term "high risk" is subjective, but I don't think any health professional would agree that a risk of death of up to 5% for the general population is "high risk". This seemed like a scare tactic that should not be used, especially with an undocumented worker.

автор: Peter G

9 авг. 2020 г.

The course was very well assembled, for any kind of virtual learning commonly available.

The playback speed(s) with closed captioning, combined with on-screen voice-over and phrase highlighting, was extremely useful; they are tools that play the strengths of many kinds of presentation and review.

The scientific information and calculation algorithms (e.g. calculate infectious periods) were excellent; I may be in the minority but I wish these were footnoted were "further reading", since the Pandemic is a dynamic situation.

I very much appreciated the explanation of "human tools" such as types of listening, how to handle difficult situations, and troubleshooting. The framework for communication and repeated emphasis on rapport was long but appropriately long, and I think ultimately many types of people will be able to relate to what was taught and indicated.

Despite my minor criticisms, this remains an excellent, clear tool to introduce and train contact tracers.

THANK YOU!

автор: A'ja T

17 мая 2020 г.

The information was clear and easily digestable. The visual components made it simple to

see how to properly determine the period person with COVID-19 is contagious and figure out how long a contact should quarantine. The simulated interviews provided a way to think about how to utilize the tools learned, to see how to properly build a rapport with people to ascertain the most accurate and complete information, and to provide the necessarysupport and resources to those who need them as they isolate or quarantine. The portions on communication should be part of grade school cirriculum people would have far better outcomes from conversations if they used the skills and techniques that were covered. Having this knowledge not only makes me feel prepared to embark into the world of contact traing but it also has eased some stress. Being informed is helpful to avoid anxiety due to uncertainty. I'm so grateful to have taken this course. Thank you!

автор: Jason F

30 июня 2020 г.

This was such an amazing class! Thank you so much Dr. Emily Gurley for your amazing classes and to he people that were apart of creating this! Dr. Gurley did an amazing job at explaining what COVID-19 was and what to do as a contact tracer with cases and contacts! I learned so much more than what I anticipated and I just want to say that if you're thinking of taking this class DO IT! There is so much that you learn. The material is very easy and understandable, this is coming from someone with a learning disability and got a pretty good score on the final! I felt comfortable and there was no way of getting board in this class! There are lots of visuals, live demos and fun little tests in between each module. Thank you again Dr. Gurley for this amazing learning experience! I really appreciate it! This is important information for what's happening right now so I'm glad that you were able to provide something so fun to learn! TAKE THIS C

автор: Beth B

25 июня 2020 г.

I have been extremely interested in helping our society by becoming a contact tracer. About 5 weeks into the COVID health crisis I realize that contact tracing existed and felt that my excellent communication skills, the fact that I speak English as my native language and Spanish as my second language combined with the strong organizational skills that I have would make me an effective contact tracer. This course was set up in a very approachable manner - various modules with good learning check-in points. Emily's tone of voice and knowledge made the student feel that they were part of something bigger than we are and learning from some of the best. Very succinct, very informative, and even if I do not become a contact tracer because our state does not seem to value this as much as other states I feel very informed to help my fellow citizens understand the need for isolation and quarantine, the difference between the two, and more.

автор: Carol L T

29 мая 2020 г.

I found the course to be very informative and an excellent overview/introduction for a person seeking to be employed as a contact tracer, which I plan to do in the near future. As a former medical lab technologist and retired biology teacher, I found it to be a very well constructed course. The course objectives and resources were clearly stated. The lectures were very clear and easily understandable, even for people without a background in health care and/or science. I was able to print all the information to keep for future reference, which will be very helpful in the future. Thank you for providing a great course to help people who want to pursue this extremely important work. I've wanted to do something to help during this pandemic to help people stay healthy and to help in saving lives. This course is the ticket! I will definitely recommend it to people I meet who are interested in doing this important work. Again, Thank You!

автор: Lauren B

2 сент. 2020 г.

Overall, it is a great course! I would like an explanation here for all Contact Tracers, Contact Investigators, and their supervisors based on the Dept. of Health and Human Services as it related to PII, and what forms of information can be used to verify a Contact's identity. There's a big problem with that here. I see a lot of people don't understand it, including myself. In these examples, also, I see sometimes only the DOB is used and other times a DOB and Address were requested/confirmed. We do need solid examples and scenarios in order to properly maintain HIPAA rules and not get into trouble ourselves. We are currently using DOB and Address. If these are not available, we cannot make the call, even though we may also have linkable information along with linked information. It's better to be safe than sorry, but at what cost, if we can also verify by other PII means if some forms of PII are not available? Thank you

автор: Joseph J R G

18 сент. 2020 г.

This course helps me a lot to learn and more about COVID-19 Contact Tracing. To learn about the history of the coronavirus disease, its causes, how its transmission fast in one person to another, how to trace people who were infected by the disease, how to handle people who were in the same scenario experiencing mild to severe symptoms of the COVID-19 virus, how to handle on investigating cases and how to handle the proper etiquette on dealing people who were infected with the disease. In this short course also, I've learned a lot about it and it's truly a great help not just for myself but also for those hopefuls who are aiming to become a COVID-19 Contact Tracer someday. My sincere thanks to Dr. Emily S. Gurley and to the John Hopkins University for this once in a lifetime opportunity to take this kind of course virtually. I'm really appreciated all of your hard work and effort to share your knowledge with us.

автор: Vicki D

3 июня 2020 г.

This was a great course! Very informative and precise course content. I enjoyed the videos providing examples of what to do and what not to do. I really feel more educated on COVID-19 and can be a better help to my family, friends and community with the knowledge I have gained. I feel very bad for making a mistake on my test involving asking a case if they have diabetes, because I know they are at very high risk. Normally I would go back and retake the test, but I am trying to allow myself to make a mistake so I chose to submit and accept that I am imperfect. I do appreciate the opportunities to retake the tests though. I really loved the instructor, her inflections, tone and rate of speaking really made it easy to digest the information. Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to gain knowledge on COVID-19 and hopefully have the opportunity to slow the spread and maybe even save a life!

автор: Leslie M B

16 июля 2020 г.

Dr Gurley was World Class! Definitely 10 star course versus 5 stars! It truly exemplifies why John Hopkins University's Public Health program is so highly respected and revered! The COVID-19 Contract Tracing Course was excellent! Very insightful, very interesting, well written and lectured! Really appreciated all the clear cut explanations, great examples, scenarios calculating isolation and quarantine times and understanding incubation and infectious periods and actual scenarios played out to demonstrate developing better communication skills. Appreciated being shown World Health Organization and Center for Disease Control and Prevention protocols for COVID-19 and linked to John Hopkins Newsletter on COVID-19 and other resources. A really terrific course and kudos to Dr Gurley for such excellence during such a stressful time and pandemic and all her expertise needed in the real world!