Chevron Left
Вернуться к Эра Джефферсона

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Эра Джефферсона от партнера Виргинский университет

4.6
Оценки: 286
Рецензии: 89

О курсе

This course provides an overview of Thomas Jefferson's work and perspectives presented by the University of Virginia in partnership with Thomas Jefferson’s Monticello. Together, UVA and Monticello are recognized internationally as a UNESCO World Heritage Site....

Лучшие рецензии

HM

Jul 25, 2016

Fantastic course by Dr. Onuf! I learned much and he helped correct misconceptions I harbored regarding Thomas Jefferson. Great videos and selected readings. The quizzes were relatively challenging.

PL

Oct 13, 2017

Great lessons in the history of UVA and its architect/founder Thomas Jefferson. The professor was clearly excited about the subject matter and conveyed the history with enthusiasm and vigor.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 87 отзывов о курсе Эра Джефферсона

автор: MengNan

Dec 03, 2015

good

автор: Kristopher K

Jan 11, 2016

great!

автор: Amanda

Aug 27, 2017

Absolutely LOVED this class. Professor Onuf is passionate, realistic and on the money in terms of explaining to the masses who Jefferson was and what shaped his thought process through and post-revolution. HIGHLY enjoyed this class

автор: Becky E

Dec 29, 2016

Excellent class! This is an overview of who Jefferson was, what he really thought and believed in, what his contradictions were and why they existed, and how the perception of him has changed through different historical periods. I thought I knew a reasonable amount of information about Jefferson and the revolutionary period, but I learned so much about the historical and cultural context of the time and how it shaped Jefferson's thoughts!

Given our current judicial system's split over whether the constitution should be regarded according to the 'originalist' intention or whether it is a living document, I was surprised to find that Jefferson himself saw it as a living document, to be reshaped by each generation. Understanding why he thought that is really essential to understanding how to think about the problem today. So this isn't just history, it's current events!

I was concerned that the course seemed to be all lecture, but by the second week I was hooked. Dr Onuf is a compelling speaker, and tries to convey who Jefferson was, the world he existed in, and get you to think about Jefferson in all his complexity. The reading material is all pertinent, and (thank you!) not overwhelming. This course is "right-sized" for an online forum. I think you could spend about an our or maybe two per week on the lectures and reading material, and do fine. You would do yourself a favor to view each lecture twice though, as there is a lot of material in each one.

I would consider retaking the course for review, and would definitely take another course from Dr. Onuf. This was terrific, and I don't say that lightly.

автор: Jomals M J

Feb 28, 2016

Great course

автор: Dana C

Jun 21, 2017

One of the most thought provoking classes I have ever taken. Professor is very interesting and promotes looking at Jefferson with new eyes. I was challenged and I really enthralled by the class and it helped me to contrast Jefferson and Hamilton better to understand the conflict between them. Bravo!! I would take the class again anytime.

автор: Kelly

Nov 28, 2015

Exceptional course! I would have enjoyed several more weeks. Dr. Onuf's style and methods in presenting the material made it possible to understand Jefferson in a way I have not understood him before. Wonderful teacher. Thank you.

автор: Robyn J

Oct 08, 2017

Mr. Onuf's knowledgeable, impassioned presentation, together with the readings provided me with so much. At age 57, this was my first look at the Declaration of Independence and other important historical events. The material both challenged and encouraged me and I highly recommend this course. It's sad that we are not learning this as part of our primary education, which is where it should begin in earnest. I am looking forward to more courses on Jefferson and other history courses and would love very much to a student of Mr. Onuf's again. I am looking forward to receiving more information on the courses offered at UVA.

автор: Michael A

Sep 05, 2017

Nice dive into some of Thomas Jefferson's life and writings. Well put together between the texts to read and the lectures.

автор: Jenny l

May 06, 2017

I really enjoyed it. It was great to dive into the mind of Thomas Jefferson

автор: ella e o

Nov 29, 2017

He's a well educated man, lively; a good speaker

автор: Doug F

Feb 11, 2018

I enjoyed the course. Jefferson was a true revolutionary; this course details his leadership in bringing about many of the liberties we take for granted today.

автор: Denise B

Nov 02, 2017

Thank you, I enjoyed learning more about Thomas Jefferson.

автор: Lori L

May 02, 2016

I already love this and not just because Jefferson is my life long love affair, nice.

автор: Marianne B

May 25, 2018

The professor and material were really great

автор: Gary E

Sep 01, 2018

Excellent professor.

автор: Jennifer E

Nov 10, 2018

Excellent course! The videos and materials were most interesting!

автор: Arna G S

Aug 05, 2019

The best course I've taken to date.

автор: James B

Oct 05, 2019

Mr. Onuf is amazingly engaging in his lectures. His passion makes it very riveting.

автор: Nancy W O

Nov 01, 2019

I enjoyed this course very much. I wanted to learn more about Jefferson and how his beliefs relate to and influence today's democracy.

автор: j. s

Nov 02, 2019

I knew little of Jefferson and his role in the founding of this country and the principles he set forth.

This was an excellent course that I would recommend to anyone.

The tours of the campus were a nice interjection.

автор: Kent L

Aug 04, 2017

Good course learnt alot.

автор: Mohd N K

Oct 24, 2015

Awesome.

автор: Dimitri P

Oct 17, 2015

A very enjoyable course, albeit with a few instances of leftward political leaning.

автор: Jim C

Nov 29, 2016

My only recommendation would be to add more photos, maps, illustrations, etc to the lectures, instead of twenty minutes of the camera pointed at the professor. It would help keep the attention of the viewer, in my opinion.