Chevron Left
Вернуться к After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure

Отзывы учащихся о курсе After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure от партнера Копенгагенский университет

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 481
Рецензии: 135

О курсе

Learn why the hope and excitement of the Arab Spring is gone, why so many Arab states are falling apart, why the youth are so frustrated, why there are so many refugees, and what can be done about it. The so-called Arab Spring appeared to end decades of exceptionalism and bring the Arab world back into the mainstream of global developments. The rebellions promised the return of politics and the reassertion of popular sovereignty against their corrupt and geriatric leaders. Much hope and flowery language greeted the young men and women who deposed their leaders and tried to build new, better societies. Today, the Arab world is in deep crisis. Of the 22 member states of the Arab League, at least five have essentially collapsed: Iraq, Libya, Yemen, Somalia and Syria exist only in name today, as their territories have fallen to competing, murderous armed groups. In the remaining countries, the old autocracies have reasserted themselves. The repression at home is now worsened by regional conflict on an unprecedented scale, and the resulting frustration has led to the biggest refugee flows in recent memory. What went wrong? This course offers an overview of the structural shortcomings of Arab states and societies, which help us understand why the democratic awakening did not happen but instead “has given way to civil wars, ethnic, sectarian and regional divisions and the reassertion of absolutism.” This raises the obvious and renewed question whether there is something inherent in the Arab, and by analogy Muslim, condition that makes them special. Does this condition make this part of the world impervious to generally observable trends towards greater accountability, popular participation in political decision-making, greater generation and fairer division of economic wealth? Join this course to find out!...

Лучшие рецензии

JY

14 апр. 2020 г.

Provides a fascinating and important approach to studying this topic. The professor's framework and intellectual depth enriched my understanding of this important and enduring problem.

LK

12 окт. 2018 г.

An eye opening experience. I really hope this becomes a mandated course among anyone participating in any diplomatic initiatives in the Middle East and the Arabic world.

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 136 отзывов о курсе After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure

автор: Amr A W

11 окт. 2017 г.

Excellent course. Greetings from Egypt. ;)

автор: CHRISTINE M

28 сент. 2017 г.

Very interested this course. Thank you.

автор: Maria A V

2 янв. 2018 г.

Excellent course, excellent professor.

автор: Ruben B P

31 авг. 2017 г.

Extremely good class from Dr. Afsah!

автор: Ahmer J K

18 нояб. 2017 г.

Excellent, though provoking course!

автор: Saad A W B

29 окт. 2019 г.

Many thanks...Very fruitful course

автор: Virgil H

3 мая 2020 г.

Incredibly interesting lectures.

автор: JOHN Q

20 сент. 2017 г.

fun and interesting course.

автор: Andrea E

19 июня 2020 г.

Excellent and brilliant!

автор: Sujata A

27 февр. 2019 г.

Lucid and informative.

автор: Katharina W

26 февр. 2019 г.

I gained enormous ins

автор: Glenn H

7 мая 2020 г.

Interesting course.

автор: RAID A R S

28 мая 2020 г.

Excellent course

автор: Abdulaziz S B

26 янв. 2020 г.

Excellent .

автор: Ali M H

6 янв. 2022 г.

very good

автор: Mahmoud E

15 апр. 2019 г.

very good

автор: Mona A A

7 июля 2020 г.

good

автор: Antoine C

20 янв. 2018 г.

Aw

автор: VARUN P

8 июня 2020 г.

The course seemed to be interesting in the starting and end but was quite boring for some time in the middle. I myself found some terms used in the course difficult as being a student from a science background. All the topics and aspects were fully covered with an unbiased approach. I would be glad to learn more from you in the future.

автор: Aude P

28 дек. 2017 г.

It would be better to add more illustrations, and when pictures are shown, to comment them. As it is, it is hard to read the picture caption, and listen to the speaker (even harder when one has to read the transcript)

There are some mistakes in the english transcript

автор: Sara A M

29 мар. 2018 г.

the course is very good,I learned a lot of information I didn't know before .

although sometimes I felt that there is generalizations, and sometimes the instructor was biased.

I think they also should add the model answer and the justification

автор: Ana S

29 сент. 2017 г.

The course is very interesting. It's important to understand the world we live in and it's important to understand the reasons of its current state. It's a light course, but it provides an interesting overview of the Arab exception.

автор: Claire B

18 янв. 2022 г.

The content of the class was very interesting ! I thought it would rely more on historical events, maybe remind more the arab Spring events. But that is my personal expectation !

Thank you for your work, Professor

автор: Christine J

30 июня 2020 г.

I found the course very interesting and appreciated the references to Arab, European and American authors and scholars. However, the course does not at all emphasize the differences between Arab countries.

автор: Tatjana G

28 авг. 2017 г.

The course is very interesting and helpful to understand the big picture. But sometimes I lost the overview at which point of the review/ discussion we actually are. Anyway, I recommend the course.