Chevron Left
Вернуться к Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest от партнера Доверительный образовательный фонд Британского содружества наций

4.7
звезд
Оценки: 1,121
Рецензии: 467

О курсе

This course is for curious students and aspiring authors with a passion for writing for young readers. Participate in a dynamic online community of writers as you experiment with your own writing and develop your voice. This course will guide you with a combination of video lectures, online readings, peer reviews, and guest appearances from world-renowned children’s authors. As you work through the writing exercises, you will give and receive feedback from your peers and gain tools and techniques for improving your writing. During this course you will identify stories that matter to you, explore cultural significance and boundaries, and shape your identity as a writer; become familiar with standard elements of narrative (character, setting, plot, theme, language, dialogue, point of view); reflect on your own work and practice essential self-editing skills; see the different ways in which words and art interact, and the possibilities of longer narrative forms; come away with practical insights into publishing options; and create a plan for pursuing your enthusiasm for writing. By the end of the course, you will have ten to twelve extracts of writing that you can develop into a portfolio. Join a dynamic community of many voices from around the world. Find inspiration in your own voice, heart, and place so that you can tell the stories for young readers you’ve always wanted to tell....

Лучшие рецензии

DB
6 февр. 2016 г.

I am a beginner wantabee author and publisher, first steps are elementary, as I need. Self paced, life can get in the way. Instructors are wonderful, as are the guest speakers and interviewees Thanks.

FO
16 июля 2017 г.

This course introduces writing in an easy to understand way. The interviews with published authors are very insightful as well. The exercises are a great avenue to practice what the Mooc instruct

Фильтр по:

101–125 из 459 отзывов о курсе Writing for Young Readers: Opening the Treasure Chest

автор: Heena J

25 июня 2016 г.

Learning never should be assumed by the source. Online sources too can outshine other platforms. This course is doing wonders to me and is definitely making me a better writer.

автор: Ciera M

19 авг. 2015 г.

I really enjoyed this course! It has a very fun approach to writing for beginners, as well as having some interesting insights (I think) for those who are already experienced.

автор: Karoline v d B

22 мар. 2016 г.

Great course to actually get started writing, instead of just having the idea! I got some great tips and a bunch of first drafts that I'll come back to. Thank you so much!

автор: Gil J

21 сент. 2015 г.

Excellent. Encouraging and informative. Interviews perhaps a little too long, could be edited down 25%, but not a big deal. Read some great stories as part of peer review.

автор: Miriam U

21 февр. 2021 г.

Excellent and informative course. Apart from the great information and breakdown of the writing/creative process, the interviews of other writers/authors were fantastic.

автор: Sergio A L

27 мая 2016 г.

what I loved better was the possibility of rescheduling the deadlines :-) I work in the peruvian rainforest and sometimes there is no access to internet for a good while

автор: Angel S

10 мая 2021 г.

A wonderful and very helpful writing course covering all necessary topics in writing, revising and publishing works for young readers. I heartily thank the instructors.

автор: Daffodil d J

1 сент. 2020 г.

This was an excellent course. I found David Hill's lessons fun and entertaining, and I eagerly looked forward to my peer reviews and reading other people's submissions.

автор: Precious M

4 мая 2020 г.

This was one of the most interesting course's I have ever taken. I have learnt a lot about writing for children and i'm most likely to write a book about children soon.

автор: Vidhisha K

2 дек. 2016 г.

It was a good learning experience. This course certainly helped me to know as to know to bring out creativity in a structured way. The guest lectures were very informa

автор: Neethika

28 апр. 2020 г.

The course curriculum served as an opportunity to identify the writer in me, especially the Peer-reviewed assignments that motivated me to do much better every time.

автор: Virginia C

22 авг. 2015 г.

This course is excellent, the content is rich, the videos are amusing and helpful, the interviews are just great. Thank you so much for such a high quality course!

автор: Biba O

21 нояб. 2016 г.

Muy interesante y útil. Ameno y motivador. Los tutores y el equipo del curso siempre están disponibles para lo que haga falta. Mil gracias por esta oportunidad.<3

автор: Stephanie Y G

7 янв. 2016 г.

I really enjoy the course and appreciate the feedbacks of all peers. For a full-time employee and mum of a toddler, the flexibility of the course helps a lot.

автор: Richard V

22 авг. 2015 г.

Whether you are new to writing or looking for a new way to approach writing, take this course. The short writing exercises work so well with the video lectures.

автор: Howard D P

24 июня 2018 г.

Had access to incredibly talented and experienced writing mentors. Loved the fun interaction with other new writers honing their writing skills. Learned a lot.

автор: Ravish

29 мая 2016 г.

David Hill is simply superb with clarity and focus on small small things that matter for young writers and readers alike. Blessed to have attended this course.

автор: Steven V

28 авг. 2015 г.

I simply love this course! There should be more writing courses on Coursera because this one has been very helpful and insightful for aspiring writers like me!

автор: Shivalika

26 дек. 2015 г.

Very detailed, descriptive and knowledgeable videos. The two resource persons are excellent at their jobs. Thank you for improving my knowledge on writing.

автор: Harshita

22 янв. 2018 г.

The course was easy to follow and helped me apply what I learnt in each module. The videos were very informative and I would highly recommend this course.

автор: Juliana B

28 сент. 2015 г.

Very enriching. I learned very useful things about writing. I enjoyed the interviews as well! The thing I liked the most, that it made me write weekly!

автор: Luis R L

8 сент. 2015 г.

I learned and enjoyed this course, I feel confident in my future writing and with the knowledge on how to continue. I am thankful for this opportunity

автор: Laura T

24 авг. 2015 г.

Very good course I learned so many helpful things. The teachers did their best to make the course entertaining and helpful. Thank you Maria and David!

автор: Paula O P

27 мар. 2017 г.

I loved it. The best course I've done in Coursera so far. It gave me the energy, tools and encouragement to write again. Would totally recommend it!

автор: Zillah K

28 авг. 2015 г.

The most fun a MOOC could possibly be. In addition to getting motivated to write, I've also found stuff to read by authors previously unknown to me.