Chevron Left
Вернуться к Как изменить мир

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Как изменить мир от партнера Уэслианский университет

4.7
Оценки: 114
Рецензии: 35

О курсе

How can we use the things we share in common to address some of the most challenging problems facing the world? This course examines issues concerning poverty, the environment, technology, health care, gender, education and activism to help us understand better how to initiate positive change....

Лучшие рецензии

YC

Sep 07, 2017

Great experience that has changed my perspective of the world and my role in it. I would like to take this opportunity to thank professor Roth for taking on this course and offering it to everyone.

VP

Sep 07, 2017

Honestly, my knowledge has broadened quite a lot on social issues face by various individuals today. I loved doing this course because its a real eye-opener.

Фильтр по:

1–25 из 34 отзывов о курсе Как изменить мир

автор: Frederik O

Dec 21, 2017

Very sympathetic delivery. Michael Roth is generally quite captivating, and the contecnt overall id good and interesting.

However, I feel the videos are at times very unnecessarily dragging. Also, it is very scientific, and has a rather conservative approach towards the global issues. Nobody is addressing radical or very innovative initiatives, and the "what can I do" parts are usually the shortest with not very helpful actions. Taboo topics such as animal agriculture (which is the main driver for climate change) are not addressed at all.

Lastly, I would have loved some presence of representatives of for-profit companies in order to learn about their perspective- As, again, the participants are all form the non-profit or academic sectors- And I'm sure everybody agrees if you don't get the for-profits on-board- Any change is pretty hopeless.

I found the first lesson by far the best, and the Environmental one the weakest, as the one lady only talks about her soil.

автор: Miguel R C

Dec 21, 2016

How to Change the World is a good introductory course to create awareness about some of the most important issues of our world nowadays. The lectures, leaded by Prof. Michael Roth, showcase interesting conversations with other experts about their attempts to make positive change in the world, and the weekly assignments are a good way for students to synthesise the learning of each week.

As a downside, I found very little participation in the discussion forums. I would have liked to discuss more about the different topics of each week. Also, the lectures, while interesting, were sometimes a bit long-winded, and I did not like the fact that some conversations were divided over several videos.

In general, I have enjoyed the course and doing the assignments, and also reading and reviewing my peers' work. I would suggest re-editing the video lectures in a bit more synthesised and self-contained pieces, and perhaps to spice up the discussion forums with some initial threads by the moderators.

Finally, I would like to say thanks to Prof. Michael Roth for its incredible effort in bringing together all the guest speakers and for making available this course for everyone in the world.

Miguel R. C.

автор: Laurie S

Feb 01, 2018

It is a very broad topic, but I did enjoy the discussion about the topics I personally cared about. I found this to be more of a conversational cocktail party than an actual class. It's certainly not lecture based. The assignments are pretty intense, asking quite a bit. It seems I even failed the class because on the 6th assignment I didn't give it my all, despite getting good marks on all the other assignments.

автор: Adrian Z

Feb 21, 2019

Very well presented. Excellent content. Practical. I learned a lot.

автор: Soleymani R

Dec 23, 2018

I have been acquainted with most of terminologies and area of studies provided in this course because of my career and working in different development projects and organization but this course provided me to view them in package and in a more holistic picture. I am sure passing this course is good for practitioners who are involved in development projects.

автор: Elizabeth W

Aug 22, 2017

Great, thought-provoking course. This is aimed a little more toward doing and being than a standard college course - which in this case fits very well with the theme! The professor covers a lot of relevant and interesting information and gives you concrete steps to take. You can also sign up to follow the class on facebook/twitter and get further updates even after its over!

автор: Senga69

Dec 28, 2016

Very motivating

автор: Roberto C

Mar 20, 2017

It's great to know that halfway across the world other people think just like you and are trying to change the world for the best. Thank you for providing this opportunity =)

автор: Winnifred R L

Feb 12, 2018

A very interesting analysis of system- or macro-level social change, primarily through the eyes of economists and international aid workers. Reviews change in health, poverty, gender discrimination, etc. by interviewing experts from academia as well as institutions like the World Bank and the UN. I learned heaps, and I am sure that most others would have the same experience.

автор: JOHN Q

Jun 04, 2017

Great Course. Thanks.

автор: Sam N

Mar 08, 2017

Great professor, great class!

автор: Everardo G

Jun 28, 2016

Michael Roth is an extraordinary profesor.

автор: Alexandra D S

Sep 14, 2017

t

автор: Ngo D

Aug 15, 2016

An inspiring course. It brings me a view from social engagement point for building a better society :))

автор: Margaret F

Sep 17, 2016

This was a fascinating and thought-provoking course. Could there be a further one?

автор: Yasin C

Sep 07, 2017

Great experience that has changed my perspective of the world and my role in it. I would like to take this opportunity to thank professor Roth for taking on this course and offering it to everyone.

автор: Hassan I K

Sep 19, 2017

Nice instructions

автор: Francisco J G M

Oct 31, 2017

A very human course, where the world problems are presented (in various fields of interest) and useful opinions and advice are provided to resanr our living conditions in order to improve our world, now so deteriorated.

автор: Linda M

Jul 31, 2017

This is a very insightful course.

автор: Rohail A

Jan 06, 2017

Pretty amazing. Highly recommendable. If your aim is to gain some insight about many diverse sciences (although many related to social sciences and humanities) you should take this course. The instructors are pretty amazing too, highly eloquent and experts of their respective fields. Happy learning. :)

автор: Adab A A

Oct 23, 2016

Amazing course

автор: Pia D

Oct 18, 2017

I liked the course although it only gives a brief overview of the issues. I would have wished for some more solutions or some more advice of what we can actually do. In general I think, that courses as this one are very important for the global community and I am very happy that people take the effort and time to contribute to global learning in this way.

автор: Varisha A P

Sep 07, 2017

Honestly, my knowledge has broadened quite a lot on social issues face by various individuals today. I loved doing this course because its a real eye-opener.

автор: Mohamed A G

May 09, 2017

This course is a broad and understanding of the world

автор: Sara B M

Oct 23, 2017

I have really enjoyed doing this course. It has opened my eyes to some many things happening in the world that I was not aware of. It also gives you the tools to start making the world a better place. I encourage everybody to do it, you will not regret it.