Chevron Left
Вернуться к Wonders of Ancient Egypt

Отзывы учащихся о курсе Wonders of Ancient Egypt от партнера Пенсильванский университет

4.8
звезд
Оценки: 538
Рецензии: 166

О курсе

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture. This course focused on five key areas in the study of Ancient Egypt: 1) Principles of Egyptian Art, 2) The Basics of the Language of Ancient Egypt: Hieroglyphs, 3) Egyptian Magic, 4) Akhenaten, Tutankhamun, and the Religion of the Aten, and 5) The Burial of Tutankhamun and the Search for his Tomb. This course is intended to accompany, and ideally to follow, Introduction to Ancient Egypt (also available on Coursera)....

Лучшие рецензии

JT

Apr 08, 2018

This course focuses more on architect, art and language of Egypt, which are all rarely mentioned in other Egypt introducing class. Egypt culture and history is really fascinating!

MC

Mar 21, 2020

I took these 2 courses after visiting the Penn Museum. It certainly makes me want to revisit that museum again and again! This is a great course to learn about Ancient Egypt.

Фильтр по:

51–75 из 167 отзывов о курсе Wonders of Ancient Egypt

автор: Amanda O

Jan 17, 2018

I learned so much during this course! It kept my interest and I loved logging on and learning more every week!

автор: Luís M G d S A

Jun 15, 2020

A very useful course. Deepen knowledge of Ancient Egypt.

N.B.: I also like to see a course on Ancient Nubia,

автор: Paolo A

May 18, 2020

A fascinating insight into Egyptian life, magic, art, and writings. Delivered in a clear and concise manner.

автор: Katie H

Jan 03, 2020

I learned a lot in this course. Egypt has lots of interesting things to study. Highly recommend this course.

автор: Vojtěch K

Jun 12, 2019

Very good course about Ancient Egypt and a nice follow-up on the Introduction course with Mr. Silverman!

автор: Atoosa

Dec 18, 2019

Great course.

Did not disappoint!

Loved the numerous museum pictures with detailed explanation.

Thank you

автор: Ellie

Nov 11, 2019

It was a fun course to experience and it showed me a different view on the ancient egyptian culture

автор: Manal K

Jan 01, 2020

Clear , concise and loaded with information yet not dull at all.

Thank you , enjoyed every minute.

автор: Sven S

Dec 29, 2017

This is really a great course. Very interesting topics and beautiful materials. I learned a lot.

автор: Dararat K

Dec 03, 2017

Thank you so much for this wonderful course. I'm looking forward to next chapter of Egyptology.

автор: Carrie L M

Jan 28, 2018

Great course! So informative and I love the presentation of the material. Thank you so much!!!

автор: Aaman L

Nov 02, 2018

A masterful exposition of art, culture, writing, magic and the complexity of the 18th dynasty

автор: Daisy N

May 18, 2020

A really interesting course, well presented and informative. I recommend taking this course.

автор: Kiara M M R

Jan 19, 2019

Me encanta. Estoy aprendiendo mucho sobre la escritura en el Antiguo Egipto. Lo recomiendo.

автор: PhantomDuck1980

Nov 07, 2017

An exellent learnig experiece. I definately recomment it to everyone who adores Egyptology!

автор: Nelly M C C

Mar 18, 2018

A fascinating course. It was a fine sequel to the previous course. I highly recommend it.

автор: STELLA M F B

Nov 03, 2018

es un curso exelente pues a pesar de ser en ingles me fue facil comprender y aprender

автор: Bruna F P

May 29, 2020

Great course! It was truly great to be able to join in it! Thanks to all involved!

автор: Therese M M

Aug 16, 2019

I want more courses of ancient Egypt and other ancient civilizations!!!! Please!!!

автор: Monica G

Mar 21, 2020

I absolutely loved this course. Well explained and really easy to understand!!!

автор: Lora H

Apr 04, 2020

Learned something new about Egypt and that's good enough for 5 stars for me.

автор: Sam R

Apr 18, 2020

a wonderful class, lad by an inspiring and captivating teacher and scholar.

автор: Thuy P

May 22, 2019

I can learn more exciting knowledge about Ancient Egypt. I Love this course

автор: Guilherme I D

Jan 10, 2018

A really nice course! I was very happy to learn more about ancient egypt.